A Blessing From the Devil

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago (edited)


This image is made and designed by the author using Visme

Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction. The names, events, places, and incidents are product of author's imagination. Any resemblance to persons, living or dead, is purely coincidence. Bold statements represent as the dialogue of the characters.
Hive divider from TheTerminal.png
I woke up when I felt the sunlight on my face that came from the window. My vintage clock cabinet greets me when I open my eyes. It’s already 6:00 in the morning.

I grabbed my eyeglasses from my desk. The book is still here.

The bed was calling me yesterday and I forgot to put this book on my shelf. Well, I am currently reading it so it is fine.

It is a horror book, the description says that it is based on a real story but I don’t believe in it. I feel that it is just part of their marketing.

But I love it. The paranormal scenes are scary. I love reading and watching horror. I also love antique household stuff. Weird isn’t it? My friends are telling me that my house looks haunted. But who cares? I am not afraid.

I am thankful that I met Ben. He supports my hobby of collecting antique and horror books. In fact, the vintage clock cabinet and the book that I am currently reading are from him.

It’s Friday. I think I can finish the book that he gave yesterday since Friday means no work at all.

I decided to finish the stuff that I need to do in my house so I can continue reading the book for the whole day.

Chapter 36: Today, my love, gave me a wristwatch. It is the best gift that I received from him. I want to celebrate with him but my mother called me yesterday saying that my Aunt Jeen died in the accident. It is heartbreaking because of the closeness that formed between us.”

— Loving You, Devil

The story touched my heart after reading it. I am still on chapter 36 of the book so maybe that’s why there is not much suspense and thrill in the story. Well, it has 100+ chapters.

I continued to read it when I heard footsteps in the corridor. I can see the shadows from the curtain, it looks like a huge person.

It is walking slowly.

I approached the window carefully. I am living in this house for over 10 years but for some reason, this is the first time that I feel goosebumps and scared.

What's with the shadow?

I was about to open the door when the clock cabinet made a loud noise.

The door automatically opened. And there, I saw a guy smiling widely while looking at me.

It's Ben.

I punched him hard on his arm.

"I thought it was someone. What are you doing here!? You are scaring me."

He just laughed and held my face.

"Wooh that's weird. Is it your first time?"

"First time what?"

"To be scared" he grinned.

"Whatever"

I walked toward the clock cabinet and turned off the sound. This clock shocked me. I wasn't even aware that it was already 6:00 pm. It seems that I was reading a lot.

"So what are you doing here?" I asked.

"Just checking you. I have a duty on the other street near your house." He smiled.

"Okay"

I prepared food for dinner and we decided to eat together.

He didn't stay long after we ate. It seems that he will be busy. But we had a lot of conversations before he left.

Again, this weird thought came to my mind. I fell in love with him. I really hated him before, but he is consistent. He took my heart.

"Bye, Mary"

"Bye"

He left my house and I decided to continue reading the book.

Chapter 67: "...I can hear the voice of the burning person near my house. The firetruck came. The ambulance. The police. I went outside the house. Afraid of what might happen. There was an explosion in the middle of the night. And now, the people are in a stampede. I saw an old woman in her wheelchair. Asking for help. But it's too late."

—Loving You, Devil

It was the last chapter that I read.

It seems that the story is giving me chills. The mystery is starting.

I looked at the clock cabinet. It's already 11:00 pm. It's time to sleep. I put the book on my desk and turned off my lamp shade.

I was in the bed for about 1 hour but I couldn't sleep until I heard a loud noise from outside.

It sounds like an explosion. I saw the light from my window. It's a fire.

I panicked.

I wore my slippers and went outside.

I saw a burning truck. But my mind became blank when I realized something.

It's my aunt's house. The truck hit my aunt's house.

It's now burning. Everything is burning. You will hear the siren of the police and fire trucks.

I can't explain my feelings. I'm nervous that something happened to my aunt.

Ben, who's on his duty near my place, approached and hugged me.

I looked at him. But he sighed. He shooked his head.

I hugged him. I cried on his chest.

My Aunt is close to me. To the point that I decided to build my house in front of hers. And now she's gone.

"The fire spread quickly. No one survives in her house." He explained.

"The driver of the truck looks drunk. The camera on the street says it all. He drives weirdly." He continued.

We went inside my house.

I'm staring at the void when a thought came to my mind. I am not sure about it, but everything seems connected.

The aunt died.

The explosion.

The burning house.

It all happened in the book.

Then I looked at Ben. I looked at him with confused eyes.

"Tell me, Ben" I said to him.

"What?" He replied. He looks shocked.

"Where did you get that book?"

The silence stayed in the room. He is not answering my question.

"Again. Where did you get that book!?" I shouted.

"From an old guy. Near the church" his face looks confused.

"Including the clock cabinet?"

"Yes, then…"

"Then what!?" I didn't let him finish his words.

He became silent again. But this time, his silence is weird. He is just staring at me.

I swallowed the lump in my throat.

Am I being crazy!?

I grabbed the book from the desk. I checked the last paragraph of the last chapter.

Chapter 150: "...he grabbed me with his eyes full of anger. And there, he said the last sentence that I would hear. I sold my soul so you will reciprocate my love.

—Loving You, Devil

I dropped the book. I can feel my heartbeat rising.

I slowly looked at Ben.

I can't believe what I am seeing.

I saw his mad eyes while smiling at me. He is creepy.

He stood and approached me slowly.

He laughed like a devil then he grabbed me.

He dropped my weak body to the floor.

Before I release my last breath, I saw what was written on the last page of the book that he gave.

Whoever gets this clock will receive a blessing every 6:00 pm. A blessing from the devil.

—Loving You, Devil

Hive divider from TheTerminal.png

About the author

Mark Laurence Oabel avatar.png

Mark Laurence, also known as Laurenceuuu and anonymous02 is a student who is currently taking a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering. He is expanding his knowledge and skills by blogging where he mostly writes about self-development, cryptocurrency, making money online, and how-to articles.

Hive divider from TheTerminal.png
Hello, everyone! Thank you for reading my content. As a simple appreciation, you can get my 5 FREE Minimalist and Aesthetic Wallpapers

📖 Get my e-book: How to: Write and Earn on Hive (Beginner’s Guide)

☕ Become part of my goal by buying a coffee from my Ko-fi shop

🗒️Help me to reach 100 followers on my newsletter and receive a weekly email from me!

Expected email content(s): Weekly writing prompts + short blogs.
Hive divider from TheTerminal.pngPage dividers are from TheTerminal

Sort:  

Galing nyo talaga sa mga ganito. Kakaiba Yung mga imagination nyo. Ang gandà

Hehe Its like bromance knowing that ben and the author is a guys charr, but yeah creepy yet exciting as I also loved reading books and wondered what if thing written comes in real life charr, nice one bro.

It's Mary's point of view haha.

Thanks!

Ang galing talaga ng story. Grabe yung suspense.

Hehehe salamat:)

OMG oi oi, this is scary 😱. I mean, it's like the devil did a favor for the guy but now the effect on the girl was broken. And in the end nadedz din sya. Omg haha what am I thinking tama ba 😱

Bale the main plot is she realized that what's written in the book is happening to her.

Then after reading the ending of the book, the character died so she also died.

But Ben, the guy in the story really sold his soul for her love.

It gave me the chills! It's like opening the book is signing a contract with the devil.
And the reveal at the end... I was speechless!

Did you like it? Thank you for reading.

Hehehe that book is really like a contract.

Lesson: Read the last part of the book before reading the whole book😂

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @anonymous02.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wala continuation? Kakakilabot if may ganito na pangyayari... Naalala ko tuloy yung short story na sinulg ko about aa diary book..nagkatotoo yung wish nya dun haha..nabuhay yung character..

Wala e. One shot story lang to

D mo sinali dun sa 3 series .. Mganda sana

It was a good story, I feel I am watching it from the big screen and I was hooked ever part of it.

Ooh thank you!

Wooooooo,

Arrrghhh, goosebumps came up as I did enjoy the story, seems whatever is written in the book happens.. Such horror of life.. Hehe he.

Hello dear horror writer, dreemport loves you as I through this writing through them. Have a good day ahead and don't forget to stay away from the cabinet👹👹

Do you like it? Be careful of receiving gifts hahahaha just kidding.

Hey there fellow dreemer✨

I will be very careful hehehe.. I am right here dreemer

Hahahaha nice! You are safe lol😂

Yay😁😁😁