The Workaholic

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Photo by Hunters Race from Unsplash


Tony nearly leaped from his bed at the loud shriek of a bird. It was a horrible sound to hear in the morning, but the only sound that was strong enough to wake him up. He switched off the alarm and took a good look at the time, to be sure it was actually 7 o'clock.

"ugh, do all successful people really have to wake up early?" He said to no one in particular.

Tony didn't need to wake up so early, he'd done it all. Straight-A student in high school, entered college on a scholarship, worked a job while maintaining a first-class, discovered a new energy source, and got hired by arguably the biggest company in the energy industry, he then worked his way up and after acquiring enough knowledge, quit to create his own company, Equinox industries, which went on to surpass his old company.

Despite all of this Tony didn't consider himself a smart, talented, or gifted person, he felt he was simply just hardworking. His hardworking trait was what had brought him this far and was what would keep him at the top.

He came out from underneath the covers, got undressed, and headed into the bathroom.

image.png

Moments later he was in the kitchen frying some eggs and bacon for breakfast. Other than the security personnel outside, Tony lived alone. He chose not to have any maids or helpers, and he was so busy working all the time that he didn't have time to meet people outside of work.

Once his meal was ready, he dished it out onto the only plate that he made use of in the cupboard and sat down to eat while reading the news on his mobile phone. It was nearly 8 o'clock so he picked up the pace so as not to be late.

After eating he washed all the utensils he made use of, dried his hands, and left for work.

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

Outside the house was his driver Ivan who looked like he'd been waiting a while.

"Good morning Sir"

"Morning Ivan, how are you today?"

"I am fine sir" Ivan replied

He stepped into his Rolls Royce and Ivan drove off.

RNFetchBlobTmp_n38sr6mwsvcmmpq6v4om6i.jpg

From the moment Tony stepped into the office it was all work, meeting upon meeting, signing documents, and approving deals to improve the company and make him more profit.

By around 4 o'clock in the evening his assistant, Marcus had crossed off everything he had to do on his daily schedule.

"That's everything, sir, you're free for the rest of the day"

"Hmm, are you sure? what about...?" Tony looked up trying to think of something he hadn't done.

It's been so long since he completed his daily schedule ahead of time. Usually, he finished his work day at around 6 or 7 and goes home to prepare for the next day.

"Perhaps you could go out for a relaxing trip to the spa sir, or you could go home to rest." Marcus suggested.

Tony spun around in his chair and let out a big sigh.

"I'm not feeling like resting at the moment."

He didn't want to admit it, but he was a workaholic. He didn't feel comfortable not working.

"Let me see what I have lined up for tomorrow, perhaps I could get a head start on those"

"Sorry sir, they are all exclusive for tomorrow" Marcus replied

"Oh ok. You can go."

Tony said as he pulled out his mobile phone from his pocket, but Marcus did not leave. He hesitated at first but finally spoke

"Sir, I've always been meaning to ask you a question. It's ok if you choose not to reply"

Now he had Tony's attention. He gestured to him to go on.

"Sir, we at the company really appreciate the work you put into the company, It's yours after all, but as your P.A. which I'm very grateful to be, I see you run yourself to the ground, and you rarely take breaks and I've never seen you take a holiday. Not that I'm asking you to take a holiday..., Oh my, I'm rambling. What I'm trying to say sir is that I care about you and that you should rest once in a while."

Tony didn't say a word, but rather just stared at him. Marcus felt uneasy and was unsure whether to stay or leave.

Finally Tony broke the silence

"Marcus, do you know why I work so hard?"

"No sir" Marcus replied

"You see, I don't say this, but I'm sure many know I wasn't born with a silver spoon. I had to struggle each day for my daily meal. And usually, It's those that work the hardest that get the daily meal. My parents struggled to send me to school so I had to be hardworking so I could get the scholarship and ease their stress. Hard work is all I have. At times I think to relax a bit, but then I remember where I started from. I'm not looking to return there, I never want to experience such again."

He lowered his head and ran his hands through his hair.

"Do you think I need to see a therapist?"

"Yes sir." Marcus replied

image.png

Marcus arranged for Toney to meet DR Linda, one of the best Therapists in the country. It was a slow and steady process, but in about a year Tony noticed increased output in his company, he also started seeing a beautiful lady called Rose. He realized in the end that hard work was great but smart work was better.

~THANKS FOR READING~

image.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @vickoly ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @b0s! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners