Folly Says Near, Wisdom Says Distant

in Scholar and Scribe2 years ago (edited)

Dreem-wotw: Distant

I have been on this road for quite some time now, and right now I can see no one around. All I have to keep me going is the hope of drinking from the pool I see in the distance... and returning with gold.

The sun was blazing hot as I looked at the road stretching far away from me. Yes, I can see it from here. I know that all I need to do is to pick up courage and keep moving until I get to the pool.

I tried to find a shelter to rest for a while but could only see a lone tree a few feet away. I managed to trudge towards it, and as soon as I got there, I pulled out my water bottle. I had just very little water left in it. I could finish it in one gulp, but on second thought I decided to sip just a little. Well, that's because I suddenly remembered my last experience.

You see, last time, I set out on a mission to get to the horizon. For a long time I prepared to visit the place where the heaven touches the earth. I thought I had it all figured out before setting out. Alas, the closer I thought I was getting to my 'destination', the further it moved away from me. Thank God that Wisdom found me on time, I would have been long dead on that mission.

So why did I start this mission after my last experience? It seems I have been spending so much time playing with Folly. Yes, it was Folly that showed me this pool of water in the distance. I should not have trusted him again after last time, but I changed my mind because he said there is plenty of gold in that pool. Why else would I have come this far if not for the thought of getting all the gold?

The gold... I quickly corked the water bottle and got up. Before I could take the first step, all I saw was darkness.

"No! This can't be happening again!" That was my last thought for some time. Then I heard a voice. It was the voice of Wisdom. "How did you find me?" I wanted to ask, but couldn't. Yet Wisdom seemed to hear my silent question, for he responded and I will forever keep his words in my heart.

"Do not be deceived by Folly any longer. The pool you see so close yet so distant does not exist. It is only a mirage and will continue to be distant from you no matter how close you try to get to it. This is the same thing that happened when you tried to reach the place where the heavens touch the earth".

I have decided to stop playing with Folly and make friends with Wisdom.

Thanks for reading. I @ngwinndave, authored this post. The picture in this post is mine.

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ngwinndave.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much @ecency

Great analogy! It is the same thing that many people confuse today with thinking the earth touches the sky in the distance, it is just our perspective!

That's right, @mypathtofire! It is understandable in the case of children. But in the case of adults, one should not continue in ignorance. Thanks for engaging.

Those are wise words that I do not hear very often!

Congratulations @ngwinndave! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022
Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Thank you so much, @hivebuzz! I appreciate you.

Ah the wotw finds itself in a lesson in your story, which was a breeze to read! I really like how you draw these parallels in a way that (probably) everyone can relate to! Great descriptions and message, thank you for sharing :)

Thanks so much for your comment, @grindan! Great writers like you inspire me to strive to improve 😊

Wisdom guides and never disappoints. What does Folly has to offer than making mockery of you and wasting all your whole time but with wisdom, you know the right thing and way.
I came through Dreemport 🤗

You nailed it, dreemer! Folly has nothing good to offer anyone. Thanks for visiting.

Folly is something that we all see around us and some are just so foolish to think that it is something of value.

I love your approach to the the Dreem-wotw, it's indeed spectacular.

Thank you so much, @hopestylist

You're welcome dear ❤️

Wise words.... one needs to experience failure to know where to apply wisdom... wisdom will always lead an individual after he must have encountered his counter... I came in from dreemport.

You nailed it, @cescajove! Thanks for visiting, fellow dreemer.