The Adventures of Mira - New Moon Resort (Part 3)

image.png

Source: Unsplash

I found myself inside a cave. I could smell the ocean from the small pool that was being reflected by a sliver of light. But I was not alone. Inside the cave were seven robed individuals, each with torches. On what seemed to be like an altar were fruits, vegetables, fishes and fresh animal carcasses. Those with robes were chanting something but I couldn’t tell what it was. All of a sudden, the torches blazed even brighter, and a screech could be heard all throughout the cave.

But then I woke up.

‘Just a dream. It was just a dream… but my dreams were never just regular dreams.’

I was panting and beads of sweat were falling down my face from my forehead despite the air-conditioning in the room.

‘A demigod dream?’

Demigod dreams were not to scoff at. They could hold clues to something from the past, the present and even the future. I’ve had my fair share of demigod dreams throughout the years and to be honest, I’d rather have regular boring dreams than demigod dreams.

“What was that about?” I mumbled to myself.

I flipped the curtains and stared out the window. I noticed that the coconut trees were swaying with what seemed to be harsh winds and the waves were crashing into the beach rather harshly. The sky was dark with the stars and moon nowhere in sight. I was pretty sure there were no storms or something in the news. Not to mention dad had been in a good mood the past few days, so I was confused as to why there was what seemed to be a storm outside.

I was suddenly cut off from my thoughts when I heard a knock in the door. The knocks were loud and fast, as if the one on the other side of the door was impatient. Very impatient.

I looked at the bed (I was sleeping on the couch) and saw that my mom, stepdad and siblings were still asleep, like there was no loud knocks in the door. I immediately headed to the door and checked who was on the other side via the peephole. Imagine my surprise when I saw nothing but a distorted black figure. It was just there, as if waiting for the door to open.

‘That’s strange. I’m pretty sure I’ve never seen any spirits like this one in the resort.’ I wondered.

All of a sudden there was a scream. The black figure shifted towards the direction of the voice and vanished from our door.

“Mira?” I heard Jade call. Jade was seven and she was my mom’s youngest daughter with Uncle George. “Mommy and daddy aren’t waking up. Amber and Emerald too.”

Jade started crying and I couldn’t help but feel sorry for my sister. I immediately hugged her, in the hopes of soothing her down. “It’s going to be okay Jade.”

There was yet another scream outside, this time it was louder and more urgent. “Jade, I have to go outside and see what’s going on, okay?”

“But-“

“Stay here. And no matter what happens, lock the door and don’t open it. I will open it myself when I come back, do you understand?”

Jade gave me a nod. “Make sure she does just that, do you understand?” I turned to the side and came face to face with my sister’s ghost friend.

“Understood Miss Mira.” said the little ghost nervously.

I immediately fished out my chosen weapons; a pair of daggers attached to wires. I had been using wires as my main weapon all these years, and the dagger was a recent addition. I’m proud to say I’m adept at using them. Of course, they were not just regular daggers and wires. Both were reinforced and enchanted so I could wield then efficiently.

Anyway…

I immediately headed outside, grabbing the keys and locking the door on the way. I looked around the surroundings and immediately took notice of the lone person getting mobbed by a bunch of the black figure I saw a while ago.

“Help!”

On instinct I jumped from the hall of the room I where I was staying and immediately sent my daggers flying towards the assailants. Both my wires and daggers were enchanted so it could hit, hurt and if things come to worst, kill anything.

My daggers landed on the black figures which immediately dissipated upon contact. The daggers landed on the ground, and I manipulated the wires so they would fly around, hitting the rest of the black figures. Once the black figures were all gone, I immediately headed to the one who shouted help.

‘Isn’t he the guy who welcomed us yesterday?’ I thought once I got a look of his face.

“You’re awake? And still alive!” he exclaimed, his finger pointed at me.

I couldn’t help but raise an eyebrow. “You… you know what’s going on, don’t you?”

I picked him up using the collar of his shirt and slammed him to the tree not that far from us.

“You know what’s going on, don’t you?” I repeated. “You better tell me, or those black figures will be the least of your problems.”

“I promise I will! But first we have to gather everyone in one room!” he said with a look of fear on his face.

“What do you mean?”

“Anyone who is awake is in danger! I don’t know how or why it happened but most of your cousins are awake right now!”

‘Ugh! You have got to be kidding me!’

-To be continued...

Sort:  

What a thrilling and beautiful story you had written, my friend, most, especially when emotions go with being awake and still alive. I wonder how I would respond to it when somebody told me like this in Reality, and something stranger happened. Probably I would faint.

Thank you for your words @pinkchic . I suppose if we're in their shoes we can only grit our teeth and accept it.