Organic Shape Learning: Learning, Recognizing, and Memorizing Animal Shapes Using "Phonetic Learning tool"

in Home Edders3 years ago

Greetings!

Welcome to another edition of my son's homeschooling. Today's topic is organic shapes. In visual arts, organic shapes typically fall into the irregular shape category.

Since my son is already familiar with geometric shapes I elected to introduce him the organic shapes. Organic shapes are shapes with a natural look or appearance and they are commonly associated with things from the natural world. The shape of the animals, plants, and trees is considered organic since they are from the natural world.

In this lesson, we also use a Phonetic Learning Tool that comes with a green pen. The green pen will produce spoken words such are "not that one", "well done", "try again", "almost", "close", "you are right", and "good answer" according to the action detected.

Also, the challenge of this lesson is identifying the corresponding shape of the animal which he can choose from a group of choices (in brown color). This lesson also enhances his memorization and recognition since he is tasked to remember and recognize the shape of the animal given.

Before we started the lesson I first introduced to him the animals that are part of his lesson namely Rabbit, Duckling, Cat, and Dog.

I told him that we are going to learn the shape of animals. And he needs to recognize and remember/memorize the animal's shape on the left side (the colored one) then he needs to pinpoint the similar shape of the animal from three choices on the right (brown in color).

Learning the Shape of a Rabbit

First is the shape of the rabbit (I let him choose what he wants). And he chose the rabbit (maybe because the rabbit is the cutest in this lesson). But before I let him choose the correct answer I first asked what the animal is called, and he replied "Rabbit". He easily chose the correct answer and the pen uttered the word "good answer", which makes him smile a little bit.

20210829_091956.jpg

Learning the Shape of a Duckling

Next, he chose the duckling. Before he chose the answer on this one I immediately stopped him and I taught him a little bit about the duckling. I told him that the duckling is a "baby duck", a baby duck will eventually grow up and became an adult duck. He also easily nailed the correct answer to this one.

20210829_092011.jpg

Learning the Shape of a Cat

Next, is the shape of the cat. Before we started this lesson I thought he is going to chose the dog or the cat when I let him choose to begin his lesson. But I was wrong, maybe because he is not a fan of cats or dogs, or maybe because he sees them every day (we do have 6 dogs and a cat in our house). This should be the easiest on this lesson and he chose the correct answer almost immediately.

20210829_092028.jpg

Learning the Shape of a Dog

Lastly, it's the dog's shape. I wonder why he chose the dog last in this lesson. Again, maybe because he is all too familiar because we do have six dogs in our house (two of home are cute puppies).

Just like the shape of the cat he chose the correct answer on this one almost immediately because it is all too familiar to him.

20210829_091948.jpg

And that's how his homeschooling for today goes. But before we ended the lesson I asked him to do it one more time then I asked him what the animals are called one by one. I am glad he again chose all the correct answers and guessed what the animals are called.



I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Sort:  

Hello, it is incredible the beautiful things you do with your little one, I congratulate you, I love it, thank you for sharing. God bless you

Thank you very much, I really appreciate it.

hi baby. keep learning..

Hi, thank you (^_^) have a nice day.

Looks like a nice homeschooling curriculum! He looks happy with cool materials!

Yes he is, the materials make him very eager to study.

keep learning.. keep loving your parents son

Thank you (^_^), I will raise him to be a good and generous man.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.