Using Colorful Rectangular Blocks to Help Develop my Son's Motor Skills, Building Skills, Creativity, Imagination, and Patience

in Home Edders3 years ago

20210504_202300.jpg

Greetings!

When it comes to raising a child I always hear the phrase "Terrible Two-Years Old" from elderly people. Those that are saying the phrase is pertaining to the age of a child beginning from two years old where they are very very active they will do whatever they want be it climbing anything or any places they want to, bite something, and even throwing tantrums.

To me beginning at two years old is the age where they are very very active in exploring that begins when they started to learn to walk by themselves.

Today, my son is already 4 years old and soon he will be five years old. I too have seen his terrible years where he always climbs anywhere that he wants in the house. But he is now more into exploring without being terrible. He is now able to mimic things on his own.

So, to help him in developing his motor skill, building skill, creativity, imagination, and also his patience I borrowed multi-colored rectangular wooden blocks from his auntie and right after I got the rectangular blocks I just gave it to him and I carefully watch him day by day if what he is going to do with the blocks.

He Began to Create Things By Mimicking What He Saw

He began to mimic a bridge that he watched on the internet particularly the Golden Gate Bridge. As I was observing he was very patient at building the bridge. Sometimes he got angry because some blocks are tumbling down if he hits them unintentionally. He would seek my help if he is out of patience. But before I help him out I make sure that I mention to him why his blocks are tumbling down.

20210506_115900.jpg

Another day had passed and he is very persistent in mimicking a bridge where the vehicles are crossing. As you can see in the photo below he is watching a video of the Golden Gate Bridge then he is mimicking it using the multi-colored blocks.

I never had a memory of this kind of activity in my childhood mimicking a structure using blocks. Children of today are really really more intelligent than in recent years.

20210504_083608.jpg

While he was working on his building I am happy because the blocks are helping in his motor and building skills. The blocks also help his creativity by mimicking a bridge by using just small blocks.

As you can see in the photo he is almost done on his bridge building. At this moment I can see him smiling because he is close to finishing his work.

20210503_194101.jpg

And when he finished building the bridge I am surprised when he asks me about his black Bat Mobile. I searched for the Bat Mobile, gave it to him, and he put it on the bridge as if the Bat Mobile will cross the bridge just like what he saw in the video that he is watching.

20210504_094347.jpg

Few days have passed and he keeps on building a bridge also by watching a video on a mobile device. This time he is building on top of a table where the foundation is very shaky.

Building a bridge on top of a table took him more time than building on the ground because the foundation of the table is very shaky. But he is persistent to do the job on his own without asking for my help. He may have remembered the things that I said to him when he first seeks help from me why his blocks keep tumbling down.

20210506_205828.jpg

Building on top of the table really giving him a hard time because of the table's shaky foundation but he is very patient with this time. As you can see on the photo above there were blocks on top, but on the photo below they are gone now because he unintentionally hits them and they all tumbled down.

20210506_203753.jpg

Few minutes have passed and he revised his first design, instead of going for three gates on top he just made two, and his work is done. He may have trouble doing three gates on top that is why he opted to just create two gates, good job for him by using his imagination and creativity.

20210506_204601.jpg

A few days ago, I noticed that he stopped building a bridge. I noticed that he is arranging the blocks in an iPad box. I am just observing him on what he is doing and I noticed that he keeps on revising the arrangement of the blocks until he got them to be uniformly aligned together on the box. He first laid them flat then he laid them on their side. As you can see in the photo he is laying the blocks flat.

20210511_230834.jpg

After he laid flat all the blocks he then removed them again from the box then started laying them on their side just like in the photo below.

20210511_230607.jpg

How the Blocks Help in Developing His Motor Skills, Building Skills, Creativity, Imagination, and Patience

By building something his motor skill (eye, hand, and fingers coordination) is being developed since he uses them more in building a bridge and arranging the blocks on a box.

By Building a bridge his creativity and imagination are being developed by creating his own image of a bridge just by using small blocks.

By building a bridge using blocks that keep on tumbling down his patience is being developed since he just keeps on patiently building until he is done.




I am an I.T. professional (Computer Engineer) working in a private company, a blogger, a father, and a husband.


Sort:  

It is a job that requires a lot of concentration and mental dexterity that your child does with the colored cubes, certainly with these strategies he is able to develop his ability and spatial capacity and imagination. It must have been a challenge for him to control himself when he saw that everything on the table was wobbling. It is a beautiful experience

Very challenging indeed, he gets angry when they tumble down, but I am always teaching him what he should do whenever they do fall down. At this time he gets less angry.

I think your son has inherited from you that side of logic, imagination and the distribution of objects in the space he has for it which will surely make him a great engineer or architect. I'm glad you are able to control your temperament when you build on the table, it is not easy to be patient when our building wobbles or falls down. Congratulations beautiful experience

Thank you, and I hope that someday he'll be a successful professional, an architect, or an engineer like me. Yes, it is not easy to build on a wobbly table, but he keeps on building until he is done.

That's a great way to raise a child. Keep on stimulating their minds to become creative. I think he will turn out to be a bright boy. Keep safe always po!

Thank you. Keep safe.

Awww, I love how you really spend time with your kid. Though kids now are smarter than the generation before them, I think that nothing will ever replace the time we spend on playing with our children.

Thank you. You are right nothing will replace the time we spend with our children.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more