Learning to Make Pizza Dough in Homeschool Coop

in Home Edders11 months ago

Homeschool coop is such a fun time for us! We love our community and the people in it. We did a recent meetup where I taught everyone how to make a simple pizza dough so they could go home and have homemade pizza.

The first thing I did was check my recipe. It makes 2 large pizzas and I wanted each kid to take home a personal size pizza instead of a huge ball of dough. It also called for 4 cups of flour and I wasn't going to supply that for 7 families. Ha!

I ended up doing a little math and getting it down to a smaller size which I figured would work great as a personal pizza. Good thing is, it did!

On the morning of, I showed the kids how to measure all the ingredients out. We mixed it in the bowl and then kneaded it just a little bit in our hands. I showed them how it could be smashed out or rolled if they have a rolling pin at home.

Then it was time to begin the process. Each child was supposed to bring their own bowl. I supplied the spatula to mix it all up with as well as all the ingredients. Then I gave each mom an assignment - one added flour, one water, one oil, one salt, one seasonings. We did a little assembly line and then each kid went to the table to stir it all together.

Some had to return to add more water, so that's the only measurement that seemed off. Better to have too little water than too much on this project though!

Every member of all the families were able to make a personal size pizza. Even the smallest members of the group could do it with a little help. Then the dough balls were covered and taken home to be enjoyed for lunch.

My kids rolled them out as soon as everyone left and started making their pizzas. I had picked up some cheese just for the occasion and we had some pepperonis in the freezer. They went into the oven and the kids were eagerly awaiting their finished pizzas.

When they came out, everyone said they were so yummy. Some said theirs were too thick or they should have rolled it out a little more. I probably should have finished them off on the rack instead of on the cookie sheet so they got a little more crisp, but, all in all, it turned out well and I didn't have to do anything for lunch!

If you're looking for something easy to make that doesn't require rising time, check out the recipe! It's easy and tastes good.

Sort:  

Sounds fun and hands on learning too with all thosr measurement instrucions and the whole process of making pizza.

Great idea to connect the kids one with each other and learn practical skills as making pizza and measure food ingredients in the kitchen.

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

I like !!!

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Excelente actividad, gran idea.