Improving my Son's Spelling Skills Through Word Puzzle Games

in Home Edders2 years ago

Greetings great minds on Home Edders community and how has your homeschooling journey been. It's your friend @inspiredbyhive saying hello from this part of the world.

IMG_20220224_164809_450.jpg

Today I'll be looking at enhancing my son's spelling abilities through games or puzzles. We all know that the best way to teach a child is through games and storytelling.

IMG_20220224_164727_842.jpg

IMG_20220224_164753_987.jpg

One game that I see as fascinating even as an adult that has helped me in building new vocabularies is the scrabble game or word puzzle. Today I decided to create a similar game to help my son's improvement in the area of words combination and pronunciation.

IMG_20220224_154636_270.jpg

The game or word puzzle game is actually between two people whether kids or teenagers. Like the scrabble dictionary games, one is to select some words randomly from a bag and form words that has dictionary meaning, but in our homeschooling word puzzle game one is to find words that are from two-letters to six-letters fill in the box on the game chart.

IMG_20220224_154105_129.jpg

One of the things that interests me in this game is the availability of a score sheet to indicate the progress between the players. The player or team that gets the first correct words complete will get a certain score and at the end the winner is determined by the first to complete the puzzle.

Items Used in Making Our Homeschool Word Puzzle Game
The items used in preparing our word puzzle are very familiar and can be easily gotten from stationary shops. The items include:

  • Cardboard papers
  • Maker pen(s)
  • Mitre rule
  • Scissors for cutting
  • Pen or pencil for drawing lines
  • you can include colors for painting.

IMG_20220224_154904_076.jpg

How to Make the Word Puzzle Game

  • Get different shades of cardboard papers and cut them into little chunks that you'll be able to write the letters of the alphabet. Since we have 26 letters of the alphabet, you may cut them into 3 sets.
  • Write the letters A-Z on each of the square cardboard paper.
  • Cut another set of little square cardboard papers of about 15 in number and write on them the 5 letters that makes up the vowel sounds; a, e, i, o, u on the second square cardboard papers. This is because you'll have more words combination from these vowel sounds and if this is not done, you might get stocked on the way.
  • Get a separate cardboard paper to design your game like the one below.

IMG_20220224_161910_914.jpg

Once you've done that, then the game is set for play. The game can be played between one to two players. The essence is to identify and combine letters of the alphabet to get a word.

The Game Time Between Myself and My Son
The game time was very practical and I took the Team A and my son took Team B. The game began each of us getting 10 words randomly and we arranged it on the platform. I started the placing of the words and my son follow suit. This was after I've explained how the game is played to him.

IMG_20220224_182444_641.jpg

IMG_20220224_181349_335.jpg

IMG_20220224_181439_917.jpg

To my greatest surprise my son won the first round and was asking me to play again. I was so excited that he could play the game and the excitement was completed when he won me. Remember, their happiness is very important in learning, because when they're happy, they tend to learn and absorb what they've learnt faster.

Finally, with this game my son have learnt how to spell different words ranging from two letters to six letter words and he is getting familiar with new words on a daily basis as we engage in the word puzzle game in our homeschool.

Thanks for stopping by my post and hope you had a nice time here.

IMG_20220224_182306_301.jpg

IMG_20220224_161910_914.jpg

IMG_20220224_161044_101.jpg

Sort:  

Very good alternative for entertainment and at the same time educational. Thanks for sharing. Greetings from Venezuela

You're welcome. I'm glad you love the game.

Really ingenious. And the kids can match the letters according to the words they want to form that helps them learn the way they are spelled and formed.

Very ingenious!

Thank you dear friend. I appreciate

I love this puzzle game. I am going to do this activity using tiles from an old scrabble game.

Thanks, I'm glad you love the game. When you're done with yours please I'll like to see it.

You're welcome (^_^)