Playing my favorite educative/fun manual game with my students

in Home Edders2 years ago (edited)

PhotoCollage_1660518981447.png

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

Good day lovely hivers, I hope you all are doing well.
I am a home educator and I am so glad to participate in this wonderful contest organised by @homeedders,@crossculture and @holoslotus.
I find this Contest very interesting, important and necessary at this time because many children these days are so engrossed and obsessed with their technological devices like ipads , tablets, phones, laptop etc and they miss out on the fun and many benefits that comes from playing some traditional, manual games.

Although these electronic devices and games have done a great good and have been really helpful in many ways, they still have some disadvantages and limitations.

One of the disadvantages of using these devices is that in the long run, they damage the eyes, the lead to some mental disorders like depression, anxiety, mental disorders, poor academic or work performance, relationship conflicts etc. while the manual and native games which are most times played with friends and family creates bond between friends and family, they help with retention, they teach us quite a lot of new things.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

Today, I want to share with you one of the manual games I used to play when I was much younger. It's a simple game, It was one of my favorites. It's educative, fun and it helps exercise the brain and teach strategy.


IMG_20220814_190413_193.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

I had almost forgotten this game but thanks to this community and the organizers of this contest as they have now helped me remember these fun games I used to play.

Over here in Nigeria, we call the game Tick-tick 1. I grew up to hear them call it this but I think it is as a result of the fact that at some point in the game, we are required to count from 1 to 10 by saying *Tick-tick 1, Tick-tick 2, Tick-tick 3 .. till we get to 10.

The game can be played by as many persons as possible and it is suitable for people between the ages of 8 and above. Because of this contest, I was reminded of the fact that it is important that the children which I teach at home are thought some fun and educative games like this and not allowed to just spend all their time with their electronic devices.

I thought this game and we played it together.

The game is really easy and simple to make. It only requires a pen and a paper.


IMG_20220814_184515_951.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

This game is not only fun but also educational as it teaches the children some NOUNS that they may have never heard of. I remember the first time I heard about an animal called IMPALA was when I first played this game.

To play this game, we get a sheet of paper and divide it into about seven columns. And the headings of these columns would have NOUN titles like ;

  • NAME
  • COUNTRY
  • ANIMAL
    *FOOD
    *SPORTS/GAMES
    *THING(anything which doesn't fall in any of the previously mentioned group)
    and TOTAL.


IMG_20220814_184620_779.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

In the first column Which is usually a very small column, we would write the letters of the alphabet from A to Z.

Each player uses this kind of paper sheet for the game.

The game starts when all the players are seated and ready , then one of the players says start.

As the players hear start, they write swiftly the names of the required noun for each column and the names written must only be for one alphabet selected by one of the players. For example, when we hear a player mention an alphabet eg "A" and says start, we all try to write as fast as we can an fill the row of the mentioned alphabet.


IMG_20220814_190452_818.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

For instance if alphabet A is mentioned, we write a name beginning with alphabet A, country beginning with alphabet A, animal beginning with alphabet "A"..... Anyone who finishes first would count from 1 to 10 ( *Tick-tick 1, Tick-tick 2, Tick-tick 3 .. till we get to 10.), then everyone will stop writing regardless of whether they have finished writing or not.
Our paper would then be interchange within us and we would score ourselves.

We give 10 points for every correct noun written in each column But if it happens that two or more people writes the same noun( eg 2 or more people writing the same name like Amanda as shown below ), then we reduce the points to 5 points for each person.


IMG_20220814_190140_810.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

We sum the total points each person get for that particular alphabet and write it down in the column for Total.

After to that, the game would start again and another person would call an alphabet and say start and we will start filling in the required noun for each column of that alphabet till someone finishes first and counts from 1 to 10 then then they all stop, exchange their papers and score each other.

The game ends whenever they all decide to stop. At the end of the game, the total score is compiled for every alphabet and anyone with the highest cumulative score is the winner.

I played with my home students and they were so excited and we all had fun.


IMG_20220814_190424_230.jpg


IMG_20220814_190436_977.jpg

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

This game is really strategic and isn't all about the things you know. One strategy I use when I play this is ; whenever it gets to an alphabet where I do not what to write in each column, I quickly count 1 to 10 then we interchange and score each other.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (2).png

Thank you so much for stopping by.
I hope you found this post interesting and I hope you understand this game.

This is my entry for the home school vacation challenge
I would like to invite my friends @cheeamaka, @merit-ahama and @theawesononso to participate in this contest

Sort:  

😄😄. Hello @luckydrums, this is one of the easiest and fun games I've played, you're indeed a true Nigerian. I really played this game when I was younger and I loved it, I was a fast writer and if I needed to choose an alphabet , I would choose letter "Q", because I was the only one in my house that knew a name of country and animal that starts with letter Q. I got maximum points from that letter.

It's nice that you're teaching them here, they'll definitely love it.

Thanks for sharing

For instance if alphabet A is mentioned, we write a name beginning with alphabet A, country beginning with alphabet A, animal beginning with alphabet "A"..... Anyone who finishes first would count from 1 to 10 ( *Tick-tick 1, Tick-tick 2, Tick-tick 3 .. till we get to 10.), then everyone will stop writing regardless of whether they have finished writing or not.
Our paper would then be interchange within us and we would score ourselves.

This is another way to test the abilities of the kids if they can identify names of animals and the alphabets they begin with. I think I also like this game and I'll try to play them with my kids.

Thanks for stopping by. Indeed we can use it to the abilities of kids if they can identify animals and the alphabets they begin with

I played this game a lot when I was little! One of my favorites! WOW. It's been some time! Thank you so much for remind me of it, I'm full of nostalgic moments right now! I love this game!