Building lifeskills to last a lifetime and tackle the cost of living

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)

img_0.6199428770237075.jpg

First of all I want to say I am absolutely excited to open up the latest @ocd challenge and to see @homeedders has been selected in this week's community awareness drive. Special shout out to everyone in it homeedders was a life saver for me throughout lockdown.

I was new to homeschooling and was thrown into it due to COVID and had no idea what I was doing. I read mainstream blogs but I didn't find them all to helpful. Having homeeddere on Hive has provided me a way to engage, learn and share my own thoughts but my biggest help has been learning through reading others posts.

img_0.2525265760569177.jpg

My wife wears the pants at home she's a successful nurse and an elected official who is well received in our community helping drive social and economic change in one of the state's most disadvantaged communities. She's been kicking arse for quite sometime and she's awesome. As a result I'm often the one tasked with trying to raise our children. My wife always helps and does alot too.

img_0.9682043169842904.jpg

A core focus point I am trying to hone in on with the kiddos is life skills. I find cooking is a great base for anyone, if you have the ability to feed yourself you will go far. Home cooking goes beyond just simply putting together some ingredients there are a whole heap of things that have to occur that require a significant amount of steps before you get to this point.

img_0.9994437360155662.jpg

For example; Money. You need to know your budget prior to going out and purchasing all the food and ingredients in the shop. You need to plan what expenses you have for this pay period, out going costs such as bills and fees as well as savings.

Then you also need to plan what dietary requirements you need for the week, this will ensure you can plan and purchase healthy nutritionous foods and not processed high in fat and sugar meats and foods. Fresh is always best!

img_0.9572915616739355.jpg

You're also developing motor skills and using tools to make your dinner as well as chemistry. The bonding of proteins and fats enhance or detract from meals and if done right you can have wonderful home cooked meals for a qtr of the price you would normally buy.

Looking for specials and what is on discount also increases what you can purchase. I find these basic skills to be imported. I can not express the amount of times I have had friends come over for dinner and the comment on how expensive my food bill must be. This could not be further from the truth. My food expenses are probably less than there's and I not only feed myself, my children and partner but my mother inlaw and we also often have guests over. There is always food left over to take to work the next day.

img_0.6999667090461146.jpg

I even make my own baby food to not only save money but to associate lil blokes taste pallet to what our family eats. I am also teaching lil miss this skill.

img_0.6686490785471666.jpg

We even make our own tomatoe paste for pasta and pizza's which is something I really enjoy doing with the kids, these skills are priceless and I remember for years people telling me why do I bother because you can just go to the shop. COVID19 and lockdowns proved how valuable these life skills were. In Australia pasta, pasta sauce and alot of different foods were stripped from supermarket shelves. None of this impacted us as we made everything from scratch even pasta!

So, something I have done all my life and have been teaching my children turned out to be one of the best skills highly needed, I even had friends and neighbours asking for a bottle of pasta sauce or some home made pasta as they had nothing to eat.

Lil Miss was always happy to oblige and provide a friend with some home-made food.

Due to the cost of living in Australia which is quite high compared to other nations, getting your weekly shopping list organised and planned can help set the foundations for a great fiscal future.

I hope you all really enjoy you're time here in Homeedders it is a wonderful community with awesome members who are always ready to help and you will learn so much.

Thank you OCD for promoting this wonderful community ❤

Sort:  

Knowledge of food, and cooking, is one of the most undervalued assets that we have in our society.

Excellent skills to impart!

czar power.gif

Gee, your midwits get everywhere, don't they! 😜
!ENGAGE 10

gotta watch out for the buggers....

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Life skills! Yes! I think this is the best thing we can do for our kids- equip them with knowledge and skills that will make them survive the wild world outside. And I agree with cooking- lots of things happening there that are learning opportunities.

Yes I definitely agree. It's a great foundation skill and easy to teach as it's being done multiple times a day and guaranteed every night.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Finding a father to help in the education of the little ones is really something miraculous hahaha, so I must say that your wife is very fortunate to have your help at home. God bless your family!

Thank you ❤ I absolutely love my kids and I would move mountains to ensure their success in life.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

You're pretty lucky being a house husband. You have always contributed so much to the homeedders community, with such great contnet. Hope you are having a lovely Easter - Whatever that means to you ...did you get away at all? This weather is awesome.

Thank you, it's a great community and I'm wrapped I got to discover it. It's been an Awesome help.

Unfortunately not this year, we really wanted to be the wife has been busy. I'll probably take time off during the year to get a break. Was thinking a nice winter escape to Phillip Island if COVID stays away.

We usually go back home to country but council never stops for the wife and I'm working on a major project also. :(

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation and you've been selected as this week's beneficiary recipient.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Thank you, greatly appreciated. I really enjoy the community. It's awesome!

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Lil miss looks like she's either about to lick the garlic press (which is an amazing commitment to garlic) or using it as a microphone and serenading your cooking time. 😉

Hahaha yeah she has eaten raw garlic a few times. As baby she used to love it. She would crawl across the ground to the cupboard and get them and bite into them. Not the best tasting. Same as lemons. I think as kids they like the different taste.

At the moment her fav song is Tiesto The Business so she uses anything as a microphone to sing it lol

A girl who knows what she wants AND what's good for her!
!ENGAGE 20

Hahaha! Raising her right ❤

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Having #Homeeddere on Hive has provided me a way to engage, learn and share my own thoughts but my biggest help has been learning through reading other's posts.

This is the most required activity for each & every Hive Blockchain user. Maybe you are a very creative person but will fail to develop yourself in this Blockchain until you are able to create a bad habit of readout a minimum number of quality posts every day from Hive.

Because the basement of Hive is Community, If we want to go the long run with the Hive Blockchain, we should build ourselves as a combined package.

Thanks a lot for your beautiful Post.

Once make another shout for the #Homeedders community. Best of luck..

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello, I love how you found a way to introduce your children learning in your post while talking about the cost of living in Australia. We were neighbors for a little while before I was in Melbourne for 7 years and now moved to South Australia:)

Thank you and yes it's a vital skill to learn.

Do you mean neighbours as in real neighbours or as you lived in Melbourne?

You ran away to SA! Hahahahaha nothing good there except @galenkp he is a local.

I lives in west Melbourne for 5years. I disagree south Australia is wonderful it is nice to live there especially with children. There we can afford to buy a house while in Melbourne not really we will be in debt all our life:)

Ah ok thought so wasn't sure 😁 that is true, if is very expensive here for housing, what goes up must come down though.

I think it's great that you are teaching your children about home economics, this is usually learned through the example they get at home, like teaching them how to cook, and as you mention it goes beyond mixing ingredients, it takes planning, and when done right you not only save a few pennies, but you take care of your health, and your family's, you can really control their nutrition. Regards