Physical Education (PE) home style

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)

20210220_222137.jpg

Hey hey! @homeedders how we doing today? Hope you're all having a wonderful time and having a rest over the weekend. I've been looking into a few journal articles about homeschooling which got me thinking.

Homeschoolers actually teach their kids over more hours a day than traditional schooling. A home edder is often a parent or carer and where traditional schooling is 9 - 3 or whatever it is in your country homeschooling is 7 days a week.

Just because you're not doing writing or Maths homeschooling parents are more likely to be in the garden or doing other activities which don't always seem like home schooling.

This got me thinking, what am I doing as extra curricular activities and then last night I realised that my personal training and commitment to training has also been rubbing off on Lil miss 4. She doesn't train at my level and just pops in and out on a few exercises but it is something she enjoys doing with me.

img_0.20764929582488129.jpg

Now I don't really know the effects of training on kids and information is divided but I wouldn't perceive light exercise as a negative as it isn't any different to dancing, sport or any other form of exercise. I think gyms just have a negative perception from the general public.

I do know that training and exercising at a young age will help Lil miss 4 develop a healthy lifestyle and maintain a healthy standard of living and being active.

It will also provide her with a little bit of an edge on the sporting ground once she starts playing sports, which I hope she will do well at (im so going to be one of those parents cheering on the side lines 🤣)

Ontop of resistance training we also go for bike rides, runs and hikes. Which is why I train at home as we used to tackle some pretty big hikes in the bush. You need strong muscle development to maintain.

What are everyone's thoughts on resistance training? Is there a set age or is it ok to start young?

Sort:  

I think it's fine as long as it doesn't make them develop too much muscle and bone mass too quickly otherwise that can stunt growth or something to that effect. I only did a rudimentary amount of research on that as a friend from uni explained basically that to me but extremely briefly as an explanation of why he was so short, buff and didn't move that well XD He'd apparently decided to beef up as a young teenager and went a bit overboard and because all energy then went into putting on muscle instead of growing he didn't grow much and I don't know whatr would cause muscles to be quite short if you're working out but apparently they were short. But yeh anecdotal evidence plus very old research, don't take me too seriously XD

Being a parent cheering on the sideline is epic.

Don't be one of those parents yelling abuse at the referee ;D

not even joking had to stop myself from telling one to shut up back when my boys played Auskick and it was only because I was being a drink runner at the time x_x

Hope she continues loving the active life as she gets older :D

A lot of elite gymnasts have that stunted growth and delayed menstrual cycle. It must take a pretty high level of training early on for that to happen.

!ENGAGE 40

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Seems like you're probably right on that. I wasn't thinking of the growth aspect, I was thinking along the lines of injured muscles and tendons.

I had a friend like that growing up as well, makes it even better that he was Italian so we just called him a little meatball hahahaha

BAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAAAAA your poor friend I shouldn't laugh but that's hilarious XP

The second picture in the set has your license plate man, edit that one out!

For kids, as long as what they are doing has rest time and understands that their muscles and tendons are more elastic and easier to damage than ours, I think it's alright to add in some light resistance training. They sort of do that type of stuff on their own when they are playing so teaching them how to do it in a controlled fashion is a decent idea, I think.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Building endurance is good at all ages?