Art & Painting | Fruits and Veggies Stamps | Summer Activity for Homeschooling Vacation Days

in Home Edders2 years ago

Hello everyone!

Summer days are busy! Summer days are happy! Summer days are filled with colors! We spend summer days mostly outdoors and doing our thing in the yard/in the garden. Playing and learning included!

So here's how we spent one hour of our time yesterday, creating and enjoying colors, painting, fresh air and summer vibes! 💚💛


20220809_115111.jpg


PAINTING WITH FRUITS, VEGGIES AND PLANTS


Art, and by saying this I'm reffering mostly to painting, is still our thing and I like to take advantage of the benefits that painting has in small children's development.

Simply by the fact that painting:

  • Fosters creative growth
  • Painting strengthens memory (and concentration)
  • Builds problem solving and motor skills
  • Provides stress relief
  • Promotes an optimistic attitude
  • Nurtures emotional growth

[source here]

And the most important thing, Painting is FUN and relaxing! 🎨🖌️



This activity is perfect for all ages, because it leaves enough space for creativity and imagination. Painting is one of those activities you can't go wrong with.

So basically what were we doing here??

I gathered some fruits and veggies I have had in the fridge, in the garden and then used those to create some art! Ta-taaa!

It is perfect for summer days because I prefer do it outside, but you can try it indoors as well. Still, it's a bit messy with small children and if you have a space outside the house, why not use it?




Fruits and Veggies List you can use:

  • apples
  • lemons/limes
  • cucumber
  • celery
  • bell pepper
  • carrot
  • dry onion flowers
  • fresh chestnut green shells


For this activity you need acrylic paint.

At least that's what we had. I dont know if this works with water colors but you can try...

I had some napkins on hand cause I realized with every art activity, somehow in the middle of it, we need those! So I'm always prepared!




I started by having all material I need in one place, in the terrace.

I put a big white paper sheet and in the middle I put the colors. You can see this in the pictures. My son was so eager to start that poor soul could barely resist the temptation of not putting his little hands in the colors.

And here we go! I don't really can to describe the whole process because this is what we actually did!


Fruits and Veggies Stamps!




I loved using lemons from the start!

I want to repeat this. The juice in the fruits makes it perfect for this kind of art activity. And the colors get mixed up in a beautiful way.


We made a fish using a celery!

These fish scales are really cute and with an older child, this can be real ART, don't you think? 💛



Ohh one of my favorite was the CORN! Awesome work! My child loved it too!


We had help heeheee!

Meet Loki, our male cat! 🐱

I'm so sorry for not taking him a picture. He was all orange on his nose because my son splashed him with this weed we picked from our yard haha. It was so so funny!





Onion Dry Flowers were really cool as well!





These were "viruses" haha. My son said "Mommy, look! These are viruse" so we called them exactly like this!


This is my favorite picture! These cute little hands on work covered in paint looks like PERFECTION to me! My heart 💛💙


Thank you everyone for reading, I hope you try it.

It was definitely one of my favorite ART activities we tried along the way.
Caleb (3.5 yrs old got bored and tired in the end) and I was so frustrated because I really wanted to continue haha. But he was a mess so...I had to wash him and give him something else to do or play.

Take care,
missdeli 💛



Ohhh almost forgot!

This is my entry for the contest hosted my @holos-lotus in collaboration with @homeedders .

In case you don't know about it, it's a challenge in Home Edders community or Cross Culture community, where you'll have to submit an entry with one or more educational games/activities you do at home with your child, during the summer vacation, for the sake of learning and for keeping your children out of screens.

Read more about it here. You can submit your entry until 14th August!

Sort:  

i remeber this kind of things back in school +/- 1972 we made stamps from potatos :)

Ohhh I forgot about them! You're right! Yes, I remember I did something similar in school, on Easter. We were using potatoes to make Easter Eggs Stamps...though 1972 looks pretty far away hehee...

Thank you for stopping by! Appreciate it!

1972 ain't that far seems like yesterday some times :)

I know how time flies! Still 1972 sounds to me far far aways, 20 yrs before I was born hehe.

Anyways...who would we be without memories?...

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @ackhoo and @qurator! ❤️

what a bright post! colours treasure!
so cool fun!
I wanna be a part of this painting party😊but my boy will reject, I know, he hates when his hands are dirty with something, that's why he draws so seldom:)) but....now I've prepared shells from mussels for him, and we're going to create some bright pictures there:)I'll show it soon if he agrees:)

Thank you friend! Aghhh...yeah. Well, I dont think I mentioned it because it was a lot, but my boy doesnt really like to get messy on his hands...or maybe only sometimes. So after he got all that covered in paint, it was pretty much the moment when he said "I'm done" and I think that must be a link between these two, exactly like you said.

It would have been a cool color party if you and your boy would be here hahaha/

Shells sounds awesome, can't wait to share it with us, see what you guys did! ❤️

Greetings @missdeli, I find the proposal to work with paints very good, the idea of the stamps with fruits and stems is very original, I imagine that your child had a lot of fun; thank you for sharing such an incredible activity.

Peace and good!

Thank you! Yes it was a good idea! But le me tell you a secret : I had more fun than he had! 😁😆

Love the painting, the colors are so refreshing to look at, amazing!

Thank you! It was a creative beautiful day! 😁

You're welcome (^_^)

It's a big world for small people. Re-posting this. 🙏🏽🌷🎊🕯🕯

Greetings @missdeli , I really liked your proposal, painting is an excellent outlet, and allows us to spend quality time together.

The idea of using fruits, I thought it was spectacular!

Good luck!

Thank you! Maybe you can try it as well! ❣️

Congratulations your publication has been chosen among the best of the day.

KEEP CREATING GOOD CONTENT.

image.png

Thank you! I'm glad you liked my post!

That looks fun and colorful!

wow! An explosion of art with a floral, fruity and vegetarian touch hehe I'm sure your child liked it, I liked it, as always, your colorful activities that catch my attention.

Greetings and blessings

Ohh you're so sweet! Thank you for your beautiful comment! I love your activities as well and your girls are very cute! Keep it going, I'm sure they enjoy the time spent with you and doing so many activities!