Wash the animals: DIY Mud for Sensory Play ๐Ÿ–๐Ÿ๐Ÿฆ“ HOME SCHOOL VACATION CHALLENGE

in Home Edders โ€ข 2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

Finally I get the chance (and by that meaning TIME) to share with you this activity I often do with my little one in the SUMMER! Yes, only in Summer because it gets messy and I only do it outside the house..

Still, you maybe can adapt your Bathroom space for this activity?! Hmmm....YES, you can!

This post right here (the first of several to come these days) is my entry for the challenge.


Challenge?

Yes, you hear it right! ๐Ÿ””

It's a challenge in Home Edders community, where you'll have to submit an entry with one or more educational games/activities you do at home with your child, during the summer vacation, for the sake of learning and for getting time off of the screens.

Read more about it here. It's still plenty of time, till 14th August, but don't forget time flies fast!

And by saying this, I invite @thisismylife @annymharie, @artmom and @buckaroobaby to participate if you girls have time, ofc ๐Ÿ˜Š!



Ok, good luck everyone! ๐Ÿ’— Now let me tell you about what we were doing here!

It's called Safe-to-Eat MUD Sensory Play Box


20210702_120939.jpg


You only need these few ingredients and things I bet you have them at home:

  • flour
  • cacao powder
  • water
  • 2 plastic box/containers (glass works too but I feel plastic it's much safer if the kids are smaller, like mine). You need 2 of these.
    -animal figurines

Put everything (flour, cacao powder, water) in the container and give it a good stir, until the mixture has a fluid consistency. You'll not when/if it's right. ;)

Then put only water in the second tray.

My son helped with this, he used the spoon to mix the ingredients. So I think it's a good start.

Fine motor skills on work!



20210702_115125.jpg




Description

The purpose of this activity is that the child wash the dirty animals, using his little fingers and hands. He's holding an old tooth brush which he uses and thats basically when fine motor skills and dexterity kicks in.

Concentration, patience to finish the activity are also requires and mind you, for a 3 years old its not that easy. So yes, I think 2 yers old kids can try this and maybe 5-6 yrs old maximum...I dont believe that this is fun for older kids.

But for toddlers and preschoolers it is! A LOT OF FUN!!

Besides what I just mentioned above, I named all the animals both in English and Romanian, so we can practice a bit of English as well with this activity.


20210702_120726.jpg

20210702_121244.jpg

20210702_121341.jpg


Maybe it would be better to have a second tray filled with clean water.


20210702_121733.jpg

20210702_121623.jpg

20210702_121721.jpg


Sensory Play ?

There was a lot of Sensory Play involved.

Those hands in mud...oh my! They like it a lot!

Sensory play it's always the best way for small kids to learn and understand the world around them.

Sensory play helps with making connections in the kid's brain, like "Ohh that's how mud feels". It's experiencing, not just hearing and reading about it. It's the same example with flowers. If you read to your kid about flowers, they eventually will imagine how a flower feels or smells, but the real thing is when they touch and smell the flower.



20210702_122408.jpg


20210702_122717.jpg

20210702_122353.jpg



My son chose which animals would be eventually washed. He absoluetely loved this activity, but he didnt washed them all.

In the end, his numbers were in the mud as well! It couldnt be other way!

And he continued to play in the water/mud. That was the best part for him.



20210702_122653.jpg


SO what do you say mamas? Would you try it? Do you consider this to be helpful or fun?

You can replace animals with...something else. The sensory part is important and the focus on washing the items, understanding the concept and what kids are supposed to do.

Thank you for reading,

And don't forget about the challenge! Can't wait to read your entries!

Love, Missdeli

Sort: ย 

Oh my gosh, that looks so great, now I miss the outside space we had in Budapest, but hey, can't have it all! It seems like a great sensory play acitivity!

I will see what I can share and join the challenge. Thanks for the tag <3

Have a good weekend!

Ohh Budapest sounds so close to us still there's 3 hours drive in between hehe. I remember some of your posts with moving, but I forgot where? Maybe Spain or something like that?.....

If you have the chance to share something, that would be great. If not, maybe another time! Dont stress about it!

Have a good week! Hugs hugs from West Romania ๐Ÿ’“

How nice! It is an activity in which you can learn many things while playing with the children. Working the sensations with the textures of water and artificial mud is also good in this game. I liked how you bathe the toys to leave them clean and neat ๐Ÿ˜Š. I loved your play activity I will implement it with my daughter. Thanks for sharing. Blessings to your family.

๐ŸŽ†๐ŸŽ‡๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽŠ๐ŸŒง๏ธ๐Ÿ’โœจ๐ŸŒพ๐ŸŒฑ๐ŸŒน๐ŸŒ™๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿฅ€โšก๐ŸŒบโ˜˜๏ธ๐Ÿ€๐ŸŒˆ๐ŸŒทโญ๐Ÿชด๐ŸŒต๐ŸŒธ๐ŸŒŸ๐Ÿ’ฎ๐ŸŒด๐ŸŒณ๐Ÿ’ซโ˜€๏ธ๐Ÿ’ฎโ˜”๐ŸŒฒ๐ŸŒณ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒŒ๐ŸŒ โ˜„๏ธ๐Ÿต๏ธ๐Ÿ๐ŸŒป๐ŸŒผ๐Ÿ„๐Ÿž๐Ÿฆ‹๐Ÿ’™โ˜•๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ†๐ŸŽ‡๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽŠ

Thank you darling! Everything you just mentioned is true, I couldnt say it better myself! I'm happy if you try it, I was surprised how easy was to set up this activity! Really, maybe 15-20 min and we were on it!

Blessings to your family as well. With love, from Romania ! ๐Ÿ’œ

Estoy totalmente encantada con esta actividad amiga, me gustรณ mucho para elaborarla con mi pequeรฑa de dos aรฑitos y mi hijo autista se que les encantarรญa, ya me los imagino todos sucios pero divirtiรฉndose jajaja.
Muchas gracias Amiga la felicito, excelente en participaciรณn.

Ohhhh how wonderful! I really hope you'll try it. You can even replace the "mud" with real mud, why not? Just dirt and soil with water! It's even better, why didnt I think of this before? haha This way its even more realistic and nature imitation authenthic.

Teel me if you do it! That would be amazing!

hugs from Romania

This sensory activity is great, the little ones at home love this kind of games ๐Ÿ˜ƒ, it has been a great proposal and I'm going to do it with my 3 year old son. Thank you very much for sharing ๐Ÿค—

Ohh that's great to hear! I didn't know you have a 3 years old son. Mine has 3 and 7mo so they're close. My pleasure to share! I'll be sharing some more these days, already my second one is up. Maybe you can get some ideas from there as well! ๐Ÿค—

I think they are very close indeed because my son is also 3 years old and almost 7 months, he was born on 12-01.
I'm sure I'll be able to get some very good ideas from your next posts, I'm not very creative with crafts ๐Ÿ˜…

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

Well, then they're the same age. My son is also born in January hehe.
Thanks, I will be more than happy to know that someone really try few of our ideas and home learning activities. ๐Ÿ˜

Challenge! Challenge! I love that!! The part 'during the summer vacation' sounds the most challenging for me. Is it a must, or I can use an older pictures from my archives?..

As for the mud: somehow I suspected by the preview image, even before reading the title, that it might be a chocolate, hehe. Relief!!! ๐Ÿ’ƒ and a !PIZZA

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

It doesnt really have to be photos taken now, these days. Any activities/games/play time you have had with your kid are good if they are something that bring learning opportunities for the little ones in the summer time. That's the topic of the challenge: sharing a playful game (activity) that provide children with learning...as it is described in the main post.

SO yeah, feel free to use older photos (I guess they're photos you didnt posted yet?). I'm not hosting the challenge, @holos-lotus @miriannalis and @minismallholding came with this idea. So if they have something else to say here, please.

I forgot to write a few words about the "chocolate". It's only flour and cacao but if there was a bit of sugar that would do for the kids hahahaha:)) this activity is also good for small children that have tendencies to put everything in their mouth.

Thank you for commenting.
I dont have a lot of time these days, but I often take a sneak peak on your photos posts. Your photography is very beautiful! Love it.

this activity is also good for small children that have tendencies to put everything in their mouth.

yes, that is pretty understandable! (my babygirl have passed that phase a long ago!)

as for the challenge, got it: summer is the key word. hmm. 1st thing I had in my mind will not suit, then. I have to think.

Hehe! Luckily for us, my boy wasnt into getting things is his mouth, only in baby stages, maybe max 1 year old. Thats why we did a lot of activities from 1 to 2 years, with small objects and stuff

Well, there can be ANY activity you have in mind that come together with both FUN and LEARNING AT HOME. THis is what you need to consider. You can even draw a snow man if you want haha, the important thing is that it comes with some learning benefits for children. Thats it...

Or to put it the best I can in one sentence:

What can I do with my child today, in a regulat summer day, from which my child gets to learn something, instead of watching TV? ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

instead of watching TV? ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

ha! ha! hahaha!! hehehe. d'you know what I did? I throw away our TV. a long ago, actually! so I dont remember if it happened on a sunny summer day or on a gloomy rainy autum day. hehe. anyway it did not save us... cause there is a smartphone. : /

Hahahaha, I understand where this is going to (Also your joke hehe). My son has a limit to screens but he's always trying to push it.

I didnt let him watch anything until the age of 2 and after that I only let him watch educational shows...Now he likes to watch animations like Tweety and Chip and Dale. His favorite tv show ever are Numberblocks, a Math theme cartoons from which he learned a lot and helped him develop his Math potential. He's a genius at Math and I think that (well I'm sure Numberblocks) helped a bit in this direction. He know Math as a 2nd grade student, and he's only 3 and a half. But yet, from the age of 1 I could notice he's into numbers. And it sticked with him so far.

PS. have you seen the splendid French 'Minuscule' serial? there exist two big movies, and hundred of shorts. I really recommend to check it, if you missed! (we started with this funny cartoon of anfan terrible ladybug, but there are hunded of others, including snails, caterpillars, BEES... do check please, and have fun!!)

youtube.com/watch?v=JqTnRCvoyrQ

I didnt let him watch anything until the age of 2

good! but maybe not enough. as a parent, I educated myself it is better not to acquaint your baby with moving pictures (cartoons, movies etc) till the age of 5. why? after that, as it is stated in the books, the brain is matured enough and you may let the videos in. (kinda, by this age, certain areas of the brain responsible for the perception of information mature ... and if it (the brain) is given video information earlier, the growth of these areas will worsen and weaken. I tell approximately and from memory, I read a long time ago)

meanwhile it is dinner time -- more !PIZZA arrived ๐Ÿ˜

I agree with you, there is no limitation if you use images from your archive to support your game proposal โ˜บ๏ธ

You reminded me of my times as a preschool teacher, moments where together with my little ones we did "Patuque", a very fun sensory development technique. Applying colors, smells and tastes and textures during activities both indoors and outdoors is a significant experience for their integral development. The exploration of the world is an art for them and we have to help them to make it pleasant and educational. Congrats nice post thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ’–.

Blessings @missdeli

Thank you for your comment! It's nothing but true what you mentioned. Sensorial activities are a good start in young kids's development. I tried to do a few activities that involves all scentes or at least one. Still we have plenty to experiment. Hopefully we can try more activities soon. I feel that summer is somehow tiring.....

Blessings for you too!

Love how you do the activity, I will try to join this challenge, thanks for tagging me

Thank you! My plasure, feel free to join in only if you have time or if you're feeling comfortable doing so! I bet you and your little girl are doing a lot of play time in the summer. So whatever game/activity that brings learning to your girl it fits for the challenge.

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

My son helped with this, he used the spoon to mix the ingredients. So I think it's a good start.

A good start indeed, even at the preparation of the materials your son is already hooked.

But for toddlers and preschoolers it is! A LOT OF FUN!!

I strongly agree. My son plays lots of messy things during his preschool years.

My son isnt really a fan of messy play but this one was something he really enjoyed. ๐Ÿ˜

Incredible dynamics, sensory experiences for young children are very important for their development and they love it, your idea is great. Congratulationsโ˜บ๏ธ

Yes, it is! And Thank you. ๐Ÿ’“ You're so kind in your comments!

ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@qwerrie(2/5) tipped @missdeli (x2)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

That looks so fun ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Yes, it is! Thanks for commenting, thats nice of you! ๐Ÿ˜Š

You're welcome ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜