Color Matching & Number Association Activity for Toddlers ๐Ÿ˜

in Home Edders โ€ข 2 years ago

Happy Saturday Parents, Educators and Homeschooling Lovers

This is something I've made with my baby boy when he was almost 2 yrs old.

He have always loved playdough so I thought why not use that and prepare some fun and easy learning activities. And that's exactly what I've did.

Fine Motor Skills Development, Color Matching and Number Association all in one!

20201220_065714.jpg

You just need:

  • playdough ( as many colors as you want or have)

  • a cookie cutter (he was into elephants back then so I used a cookie cutter elephant shape)

  • colored paper

For start, you need to make the playdough shapes. Let you kid alone in this or help him if he asks for your help. Let him to concentrate, to try and eventually to succes.

You can show your kids how it's done but then try to let them do the work. This is how they learn, by trying and trying. This is how they work on those fine motor skills.

Do not tell them how to do it. Show them how to do it and do not say a word. If you tell them they will watch your lips move. If you show them, they will want to do it themselves. - Maria Montessori.

20201220_064343.jpg

20201220_064607.jpg

20201220_064958.jpg

20201220_065210.jpg

20201220_065549.jpg

20201220_064249.jpg

We used 5 playdough colors but feel free to do this activity with how many do you want. You can start with only 2 or 3 colors if your toddler is still little or if they barely know the colors. I mean, you can try and see how it's best for you.

After that, put the colored paper on the table and start sorting the elephants (or whatever) by color.

20201220_070429.jpg

20201220_065512.jpg

20201220_065732.jpg

20201220_065907.jpg

20201220_070144.jpg

20201220_070331.jpg

Then do the number association, if they are ready to try this on. My kid was a number addict (he still is) so for us this wasn't a problem.

He did all by himself. But if your kid needs further explanations and counting learning resources, try give it to him.

20201220_070753.jpg

20201220_070827.jpg

20201220_071118.jpg

20201220_065907.jpg

Hopefully guys this is useful for you can implement it in your learning activities journal.

You can skipp the elephants if you don't have a cookie cutter. You can make squares, circles, balls, etc.

โ€‹Thank you for reading!
And please, feel free to leave a comment if you have any other notes regarding this activity. I would love to hear those!

Love, Missdeli

Sort: ย 

Great job.

My son loves playdough and I think my son will enjoy this activity. With that being said, I will do this activity with my son. Have a nice day ahead.

hey! That's so great to hear! Love that my ideas are useful and inspiring for yoU!

Greetings from Romania

Very useful indeed, keep on blogging, I am excited to read your next blog in the community. Have a nice day ahead.

What cute little fingers at work! It is a fun and colorful way to learn. I love the quote- so true.

Thank you for commenting, as always @arrliinn! CHeers from Romania

I like the little Montessori quote. This is so true.

As always, I love all the colour you have going in his learning.

Yeah, so true. To bad I can't always integrate that principle in our learning journey. :d

What a nice activity full of learning opportunities ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you! Actually, this was something I've set up in 2 minutes.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

it's really beautiful especially the part were you emphasize they do it alone, to me it help them pay attention to detail, help them focus and want to do it well...to some parents that still help their kids do home work or assignment instead of allowing them do it themselves is very wrong...allow them do it even if they fail....just cross check those assignment and tutor them right were they got it all wrong...thanks @missdeli for dropping this great stuff...

ย 2 years agoย ย Reveal Comment