Color Sorting Activity with my toddler

in Home Edders3 years ago

Hello everyone!

Many of you know I'm blogging about food, nutrition and health. But.... being a mom, my priorities have changed and my time is so limited. I will continue to write food and natural medicine posts, but also, you'll find in my feed homeschooling related articles and educational activities I make home with my boy.

I started educating my son at the early age of one. He is very responsive, active and implicated in the activities we make.

He is a happy toddler, eager to learn new things. He is good at math, logical thinking and has a fabulous memory!

20200921_100522.jpg

Did you know that kids have something called ABSORBENT MIND?

According to the American Montessori Society, the absorbent mind is from birth through approximately age of six, the young child experiences a period of intense mental activity that allows the child to” absorb” learning from his or her environment without conscious effort, naturally and spontaneously. [source of definition here]

In other words, young children learn faster and without any efforts. They just need the right resources, your time and your patience as a parent or a teacher. Observe your kid, try to understand what he likes and try to include different activities that arouse his interests.

Things I've learned on the way:

Never start learning activities at home with a toddler that is sleepy, hungry, irritated or sick. They won't cooperate.

Try to have an organized space, with few or no distractions at all.

Focus and concentration is so limitated at this age and you need them not to be distracted by some other things like toys, animals, sounds etc.

I found morning is our best time of the day to learn new things.

Routine is very important for young kids. Try to keep them in their daily routine and always explain to them what you'll do next.

Our learning activity

20200921_095533.jpg

This a Sorting Color Activity, meaning he has to sort those little colored blocks and put them in the egg box, by color.

It's an easy activity, you can try it with your kid by the age of 15 months, maybe earlier. It depends on the children. We made it when my boy was 1y and 8months.

It's easy to prepare and you only need markers and an egg box. If you dont have little blocks, you can try with buttons or flowers or whatever you have around. Or you can simply use the scissors and cut some colored paper.

20200921_095613.jpg

20200921_100029.jpg

Quikly, I made this learning sheet, used for sorting colors too. You can try it this way if you dont have an empty egg box. You can write down the numbers and make some simple math exercises.

20200921_101717.jpg

I will write about the importance of sorting in my next posts.

Thank you for reading,

MissDeli

Sort:  

Aaaargh too cute XD

Some nice early learning ideas :)

Hey hey! ❤️ Thanks a lot!!
We still have so many activities to share! Hope they are for some use for parents of hive!

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hey @missdeli! It’s been way to long since I’ve come to visit you.

I really enjoyed this post. When I first learned about children’s absorbent mind I was so amazed. Learning about this when I was a daycare teacher (for 2 year olds) is what made me make the decision to start homeschooling my kids when they turned 1 as well. I always tell parents whatever you want your child to remember you better teach them before they turn six lol! 😅

I love the color sorting activity. I recently did that when my now 2 year old daughter was 1 and she now knows all of the primary colors. I also did activities with basic shapes and she hasn’t forgotten them ever since.

I look forward to reading more about your activities at home. Thanks for sharing ~ 💛

Hey @crosheille, so nice to "meet" you here! !ENGAGE 15 !invest_vote !WINE !JUICE !PUREWATER !FRESHAIR

Hello @anli :)

Thank you for the tokens ~

You are welcome !ENGAGE 5 !invest_vote

@anli denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anli thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hahah so many token commands!

Haha, yes! I love to do this making some fun. Since I prefer pure water and fresh air oven beer and wine, I hope for someone starting a token with it. LOL !ENGAGE 10 !invest_vote

@anli denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anli thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

yess! its crazy, thats why I didnt saw your comments! or if I did, I lost it.

@anli denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anli thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hey @crosheille! So nice to hear from you! And thanks for commenting and sharing your knowing and eperiences!
Yes, I heart you! The 6-7 years are the most important! It is absolutly amazing & fascinating how kids learn and how they grow and become so smart! Yes my son knows the shapes too. And colors. And numbers. And letters. And animals...and and and... he already knows so many!
I cant wait for u to share more info with me so I can learn from your eperience! I know I have so much to learn from you! I remember some of the talks you mamas had on SteemitMamas discord. Back then I was so new to motherhood I couldnt understant how you do it all, with homeschooling and taking care of everything. I am still unsure about many things but at least I know where I'm heading to!
I happily will share our home learning journey! 💛💛

Oh absolutely! It was a pleasure reading and commenting :)

Yes, the stages of learning are amazing to witness.

I really miss those talks us mamas had. Everyone’s been so busy and so much has changed

I know you will continue to figure it all out as you go. You are doing an amazing job teaching your son, keep up the good work mama ~ 😘

Thanks for encouragement! 💛 Yes, I miss those times too! But maybe I will reach to you if some question pops in my mind! :x

I'll be here ~ 😉

Ah letters, that one's been a challenge for us. We are getting a little better at it slowly, and some numbers but that's one of his hardest subjects right now. He can tell you every single kind of construction truck and tool in my toolbox though, so each kid is different lol

Yup! every kid is different, thats for sure! As parents we tend to compare our children but that is so wrong! when we accept they are different, we're on the right path :P

Actually, my kid is way to good at numbers and letters. He recognise the letters from 1 year old. At 1 an mo, he knew the alphabet. At 1 and 6 months, he started writting them. Now at 2 he writes all numbers from 0-100 and all letters. NUmbers are his passion. He recognise big numbers until 1000. he knows how to count in english and romanian from 1-100. He writes all numbers. Plus, he's making addition with small numbers. I'm just saying this for the sake of conversation, not because I'm proud of it. I mean, I'm happy he knows so much, but I dont scream about it. Actually when I say this to parents they look at me and say I'm crazy. Why I am learning him this? BUT I DIDNT! He learnt everything. Numbers are his passions, his obsessios. Its just natural.
Actually, I would have liked him to be more active, but he's not. He doesnt like to ride the bike much or stuff like this. He liked to write, count, draw or painting.

Sorry for my late comment, but I dont know what happen! so many comments on tokens there, I have totally lost it.

Hello @missdeli, I like your post with those colorful pictures. At the latest since I have known Steem, I have an absorbant mind again as well. Feeling very young again. All those colors!! ❤️ @tipu curate !invest_vote !ENGAGE 10 !WINE !JUICE !PUREWATER !FRESHAIR

!ENGAGE 20

Highly appreciated !ENGAGE 5 !invest_vote

@anli denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anli thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

lol I thought there was more discussion going on but it's mostly bot calls hahaha

It's killing me lol!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you so much! ❤️

This is a great activity! I'm just learning now about the absorbent mind and it totally makes sense. Our son is a sponge for so many things. We haven't been too focused as of late on the homeschooling front due to some situations but when we are, I definitely try to eliminate the distractions like sounds and other things otherwise it's a nearly impossible task.

I will have to start teaching him some of the things that I've been meaning to such as speaking Italian a little earlier than expected so he gets exposed to it and learns it easier before he turns 6. Sad that it's not as far off as it used to seem like it was lol

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

hey! Thanks for comenting and getting involved :D
Yes, absorbent mind is a concenpt used in Montessori Education and its blowing minds. They are sponges after six too, dont worry! from what I've seen about kids, I believe they are active learners until 9 yrs. They wanna learn things and we just need to be there, guiding them. Not all kids are the same ofc and it depends really on their way of living and education they got before. My son is learning just English for now, and I dont insist to much but I think I need to make myself some kind of an idea how to help him learn more words.

@anli denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anli thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.