Color Wheel Painting 🎨🖌️ How to Learn a Toddler about combinations of colors

in Home Edders3 years ago

Hey guys!

My son is really into painting🎨. And drawing🖍️. And writting✍️. Lol he's all day long with crayons in his hands. Lucky me, he didnt start to color the walls or furniture😌. Yet!!! But I have a slightly feeling it wont take much until he'll do it!

So I thought to make this activity with him in order to show him how to combine colors. For my surprise, he memorized the combinations and even now, after 1 month since we painted this color circle he remembers the combinations of the primary colors.

20210306_171858.jpg

20210305_191317.jpg

Yellow 🟡+ Blue 🔵 = Green 🟢

Red 🔴+ Yellow 🟡 = Orange 🟠

Red 🔴+ Blue 🔵= Purple 🟣

He was 2 yrs and one month in the pictures. I'm sure this activity is perfect for older toddlers too! It's even better because they are likely to understand the whole concept and they pay attention tot the instructions and everything you say.

20210305_190016.jpg

20210305_190515.jpg

20210305_190544.jpg

20210305_190700.jpg

20210305_190712.jpg

20210305_191147.jpg

If you look closely to the pictures, you can see my hand writting is just awful! Ehhh....at least in these pictures! That's because this idea came to my mind ust like that and in less than 2 minutes it was down the paper.

We were painting some other stuff (well....I'm not sure I can call it Painting but something that toddlers do, like this ) :D

20201118_182512.jpg

and he wanted to color more so I remembered I saw something similar with this. I asked him if he wants to learn about how to combine colors, he said Yes.

I didn't talk to much because for 2 yrs old, too many informations create irritability and anxiety. I think I did my best to keep it simple for his age.

I just gave him the paper, I explained to him what we're doing next. I always told him what color we're using now and I put him to combine the two colors in the specific square.

He is a good dutiful boy so it wasn't a problem for him not follow the instructions.

20210305_190748.jpg

20210305_190752.jpg

20210305_190817.jpg

20210305_190844.jpg

About the Color Wheel, it's a circle which shows the relationships between primary colors, secundary colors and tertiary colors.

We only did the secundary colors (green, orange and purple).

Ahhh, I almost forgot! Painting is great for toddlers. Its a sensory activity that develops creativity, imagination, fine motor skills, concentration and atention, dexterity and hand-eye coordination.

It's a fun and relaxing activity you should include in your weekly activities with your children no matter their age.

20210305_190847.jpg

20210305_191039.jpg

20210305_191059.jpg

If you consider your child is still to little to make this activity, it's fine. Remember all kids are different and they have different development patterns. Some kids are good at writting, others at social play, others at play roll, other are really active and know how to handle a bycicle (mine doesnt) etc etc. Never compare your kid to another! It's also important to notice what they like to do and what are they attracted to.

I noticed his passion on writting and painting very early, maybe I'll share with you some thoughts I have about this but just to mention....at 1 year and 3-4 months, he would keep the pen in his tiny hand like an older child. At 1 year and a half he was already writting some letters. At 2, he writes super super quick all letters and all numbers from 1 to 200....maybe more.

My son at 1yr and 3 months20200404_104216.jpg

My son at 1yr and a half

20200827_165524.jpg

His colorings and numbers painting at 2yrs old

20210218_115151.jpg

20210203_180539.jpg

I always encourage him to do what he likes and even though I try to cover all learning educational areas and I create fun and interesting activities, he would be back on his numbers writting and games. I guess he already has a logical and mathematic thinking.

Thanks for reading,

I hope you can get inspired by some of our activities and try some!

Wishing you all the best, a lot of patience with your kids and much joy in your daily activities!

Missdeli

Sort:  

Your little guy sure loves to paint! Beautiful job. I think I'll have my kids do this. We jumped right into colors mixing and stuff, and we didn't do color wheels at all. I'm still struggling with my 5yo's writing so this one would be a good exercise.

Thanks so much! Yep, he really loves to paint! :D:D and do a lot of mess :)) He can't stand while painting and I get so tired sometimes.:D but that's ust kids.
I can't wait to paint outside with him. Here in Romania, the warm weather just came and we will make more activities outside from now on!

I'm so happy you find our activity inspiring for you! Yes, I guess anything that involves a pen, crayon, brush or pencil is a starting point for writting skills development.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It is very interesting to see you son evolution through is art activities. I love the idea of the colour wheel my 4years old loves to create her own colours so i think she would love this activity 😊 Now i need to buy more paint😂

I just bought some new colors too! :))):)) this boy in here really loved to paint, even though his paintings are mostly numbers :|:d

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I used to love doing these, even when much older than your boy! So I definitely agree it's good for older kids too.

I think I'll do it again with my boy, but this time he's gonna lead the road! I'm curious how'll go! :D