Fun Nature Treasure Hunt Activity using Egg Carton 🌺🍒☘️🏵️

in Home Edders • 3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I don't know about you, but me and my toddler are spending a lot of time outdoors, especially from April to October. And I often try to find some activities we can make and not just walking, talking, jumping, running, etc.

Time spent in nature is pure medicine for both of us! That's why I try to involve him in activities aimed at assimilating knowledge and awareness about the nature that surrounds us. I try to think and prepare such activities in a fun way, adapted to his age and level of understanding.

You can make this activity either in spring, summer or fall.

20210621_103040.jpg

 "My Post (1).jpg"

You just need an Egg Carton and Water colors or Acrylic paint. 🖌️🎨

If your toddler is too little to paint but you still want to try this, you need to paint the egg carton yourself. My toddler LOVES to paint so he was infinitely happy to paint it by himself.

You can choose the colors, and you can even use a six egg carton or a 15 egg carton, its your choice.

We colored the egg cardboard with acrylic paint. I found it to be more appropiate because the egg carton can become mushy if your kid uses to much water when she uses with water colors. But if the child do this right, there's no reason not to use water colors. I personally love acrylic paint for the fact they are more 'lively' and the colors are 'stronger' compared with water colors.

 " " \"page.jpg\"""

 " "20210618_203718.jpg""

 " "My Post.jpg""

So, the only thing to do is to paint the egg carton and then take a walk outside and collect all kind on nature elements and objects. We found cherries, leafs, flowers, twigs, stones. My little one was very happy to match the object's color with the color in the egg carton.

 " "A4.jpg""

 " "20210618_204539.jpg""

 " "20210621_103447.jpg""

 " "20210621_104744.jpg""

 " "20210621_101928.jpg""

 " "20210621_101808.jpg""

 " "20210621_102601.jpg""

 " "20210621_103436.jpg""

 " "20210621_104730.jpg""

What do you think about this activity? Would you try this at home with your little one?

I think this activity gives so much: from nature learning and fun exploring outdoors to painting and fine motor skills development, vocabulary and the most important: fun learning and sensory exploration!

Play based learning is so important these days!

You can also use this activity as a learning tool to talk about and improve your little one's colour recognition.

​

If you try this activity, let me know in the comment section! I would love to see yours!

❤️❤️

Sort:  

I think this is a fun hunting activity. Since my five years old son loves to walk in and out of the house and follow me when I am doing some vegetable garden chores I think I can incorporate this hunting activity for him when the sun shines (it's been here in our town for about five days straight now, which makes my vegetable muddy).

Ohh that's great to hear! I'm sure you can use it many times, in different places!
I loved your garden post! You have a lot of plants, tree and vegetables! I lvoe that :x

I loved your garden post!

Thank you very much (^_^)

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Thank you! :x