Plants propagation with my 18 months toddler

in Home Edders3 years ago


This is such A Fun, Relaxing and Lovely Gardening Outdoor Activity!!!!! ☘🌿 (for children and grown-ups too) ;x

20200827_192217.jpg

Back in the days, we needed to propagate some of our plants and we took this opportunity to learn about them. 🌱🌿
I showed my son which are the roots, the leaves, the stem. I explained to him why are we pouring water to the plants and how plants need air and light. I know he didn't seem to understand much at the moment, but believe me! He did!

Every word you say to your child it matters! They are little crocodiles, waiting for you to drop something so they can take it! That's exactly the case when it comes to language and words. They are very receptive! If you wanna teach a kid something, you only need to say/explain it a few times. Even they cant respond back, they understand; and when the time comes, you'll notice they understood what you were trying to teach them.

That's their absorbent mind! They are like sponges! Take everything in; and it is sooo easy for them!

20200827_134608.jpg

20200827_133912.jpg


My baby had fun with his little sand shovel, enjoying this so much!! He got messy but that wasnt a problem. That was the real fun! ;xD

When learning is play, the results are just fabulous!💚


He had to transfer the soil from one pot to another and then water the plants. It's more than enough for a 18 months toddler.

This activity works on practical life skills of pouring, transferring, scooping.
But most important, gardening can provide children valuable life skills as responsability, self care, creativity, gentelness and compassion .

20200827_135640.jpg

20200827_135625.jpg

20200827_133759.jpg


Stay well and have fun with your kids! 🌿 Time spent with these little humans is the best!

Missdeli 🌿

Sort:  

Just loved this post! Showing little kids how to grow things is magical. :))

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello there!! I hear you, right?🌿🌿 We already started doing this kind of stuff. He always 'helps' me watering the plants and pick them up from the garden (in season). I try to include him in our daily things, especially when it comes to gardening and outdoor activities.

Sooooo cuuuuuuuute I love that age so much XD

mine are a long way out of it now

My kids are usually pretty good about helping in the garden when we need to plant or harvest a lot of things. Middle child is amusing though. She wanted to plant some flowers so J got her some flowers and I showed her how to transplant them from the nursery punnets into the pots she'd bought for them. When we were doing it, she seemed to be quite enthusiastic and into it, but at the end she turned to me with this puzzled expression and exclaimed "people do this for fun?!" XD

How did the planting go? :)

Hey! I love that age too! Now he's 2, but somehow, I miss him being at 15-18 months. I guess we all have this feeling in a way or another, sooner or later. It is so funny your daughter!I imagine her saying that, it is way to cute!! Yes, kids are soooo funny and smart and intelligent! I love children and their way of thinking.

The planting went fine, but much slower that I thought! I had to keep my eyes wide open and pay attention to the little one :))) but this is PLAY & Resolving things around house WITH a TODDLER, right?
We gave 2 plants from that 5 you can see in the picture. :x:x

Everything goes much slower than you think as soon as you start letting kids help XD but it teaches them to help :)

we struggled with this one a LOT with the outlaws who always "just want to get it done" (and my partner as well) so they would always distract them and make them watch tv and stuff instead of letting them help, and then wondered why they didn't want to help as they got older -_-

Yes, I know! I preffer his help even though its not much as a help :p plus, like you described above, that is going to happen if I dont teach him that his help is valuable! :x: thanks so much for remining me this.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Gosh he's grown up so much! HOw cute. Playing with dirt and plants is THE ulimate kids toy. Funny how all kids love a shovel and some mud.

Hey hey! Now imagine THIS + 7 months !! It's crazy how fast these kids grow! He is in love with sand and tiny rocks/pebles too. The other day, he climbed in just few seconds to the top of the pile of stone we have in our garden.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @missdeli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post has been really appreciated and was the most upvoted of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Hive Tour Update - Communities

I love the photos. For me they display how young children learn so much through touch. Getting that feel for things can help so much with the absorption of knowledge.

Thank you!! You are soooooooo right and that's why, every time we get the chance, we do sensorial learning activities. Plus, I try to include him in our daily activities, I encourage him to touch things, smell, see. Sensorial learning is the best within the first 3 years of a child's life.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.