Rainbow painting using cotton buds (ear sticks) 🌈🌈🌈 - DIY Tool for Rainbow Painting

in Home Edders β€’ 3 years ago

Hey guys,

My son is really passionate about painting, coloring, writting in general. Give him a pen, a brush, a crayon or whatever drawing tool and he will be entertained for minutes!! At his age, he has the patience to sit down and color(paint, write) even 30/40 minutes. And I think that this is huge for a toddler.

Me personally, I really love to see him painting because I feel this activity brings something more than just coloring/drawing. It involves and requires more creativity, more patience, it develops their fine motor skills on a higher scale.

That's why, it doesn't take a week or a few days for us to paint again and get CREATIVE! I'm always searching for new ways to make this activity more fun, more challenging and more interesting.

20210305_184223.jpg

A quick remind, ROYGBIV is the acronym for the sequence of hues commonly described as making up a rainbow: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. 🌈🌈

This time we used cotton buds to color our beloved RAINBOW! BUT my son wouldn't accept the INDIGO color, so we made the rainbow with just six colors: red, orange, yellow, green, blue and violet. 🌈

Why is that? Well, its actually my fault because first time I presented him the rainbow with these six colors, and just later I showed him that the rainbow actually has seven colors, Indigo included. Now he accept it and in his head the Rainbow with six colors doesn't exsist anymore. 🌈🌈

He loves the Indigo color now!!

20210305_184135.jpg

For this activity you need: 🌈🌈

  • 7 cotton buds
  • acrylic paint (tempera)
  • a small piece of cardboard
  • clear office tape (or duct tape)

Secure the cotton buds on the cardboard with the tape. Adjust the distance between cotton buds as your wish.

That's all you have to do for this lovely activity! You can color anything you want with your child. You can use more shades of pink or blue...so they learn the difference between dark and light colors.

20210305_185630.jpg

20210306_171801.jpg

(here's another rainbow we did using our fingers)

And just a quick mention, here are Six Brain Health Benefits of Painting [source]:

  • Painting fosters creative growth
  • Painting strengthens memory (and concentration)
  • Builds problem solving and motor skills
  • Provides stress relief
  • Promotes an optimistic attitude
  • Painting nurtures emotional growth

And the most important thing,Β Painting is FUN and relaxing! πŸŽ¨πŸ–ŒοΈ

20210305_183751.jpg

20210305_184102.jpg

20210305_183950.jpg

20210305_184412.jpg

20210305_184417.jpg

20210305_184430.jpg

20210305_184433.jpg

20210305_184502.jpg

20210305_184207.jpg

If your kids love to paint, I think this activity will be perfect for them. It requires just 5 minutes to prep and all the materials you need are already in your house...so that's a good thing too.

Many times, simple things (like this diy rainbow paint tool) are more cheap and more fun to use than the bought ones. Plus, we save some money and that's great!

Hopefully you find this useful for you,

If you have any ideas for tools I can use with my 2yr toddler, leave a comment! I will be more than happy to read it and put it into practice!

Have a colorful day everyone !!! 🌈🌈🌈🌈

20210305_184248.jpg

Sort: Β 

My toddler son also loves writing, the problem is he would write on our walls or any surface that he wants to, now our walls or any surface that he could possibly write on has his writings on it.

Hahah sounds like our son. Recently he came into the kitchen and told me "I didn't write on the walls.." lol he was drawing on it with crayon.

That's what kids do!! :))) Lol! I imagine he had such a sweet face :x:X
Mine didnt write on the wall yet! But I think he doesn't really have the intention to do it. I noticed him over the las year that he is really obedient and in general a good kid who follows the rules. These kind of rules like "we don't write on the walls, table or furniture", "we paint only at the table", "this is not for you to eat" etc. .

Whah he did instead was that he colored ONCE on his wooden chair , and this was happening while he was staying right next to me and I didn't see it :)) I was taking out the dishes from the dishwashing machine :D

20210325_172928.jpg

Too funny and cute! Our son is a rule bender for sure. If I tell him one more book to read he picks two or three. I tell him no, definitely one and he cries for more. It’s not bad in that situation but at the expense of my sleep hahah. He’s destructive but I don’t mind in many regards, he’s stuck in a smaller condo with us so he finds ways to entertain himself which o can’t blame him. Thankfully nothing too expensive but I don’t want to jinx it lol

Ohhh the thing with the books.....it's same for us! "One more mommy, one more book!" he says. ..... one more story and so on!
I think that's a good attitude! I am also permisive in a lot of things. But I'm sure we, as parents know when/if to draw the line right?

Hahaha, intelligent, he was right, he did not write using pencil or ballpen.

This is awesome! We actually just bought a box of these at the dollar store so I think we have our activity for tonight! I didn’t even think to use cardboard to make the rainbow nice and straight. I was trying to figure out how to do that lol.

Our son loves painting as well, he’s getting into coloring more but has always loved some painting!

Ohh nice! Did u do it yet? I would love to know if it worked for u :)
My son is exactly like yours, he loves painting (and coloring too).

i love your rainbow cotton buds rainbow brush it is a brilliant idea:)

Thanks so much! it was really something! he liked it a lot and just few days we did another painting using these cotton buds:p

He's wonderfully gentle! This is another one I never thought of when my kids were that age, but could never have done with youngest anyway because he would have completely demolished the rainbow painter thing you made XD

Β 3 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Yes, he kinda is don't u think?!:P I can't complain about it!

I can't wait to share with you our spring tree we painted few days ago using cotton buds again. It came out really really nice!