Covid19 : A blessing in disguise for me as a parent!

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)

If there was no quarantine/lockdown...

I would have never known the reality of my daughter's schooling, despite spending a lot of time and money on it!

Let me explain!

Prior to Covid19, everything was rose and sweet...normal routine for me and my daughter, Rheem!

Monday to Friday

Rheem : Waking up at 6.30am and get ready for school. Starts from 8.15am to 2.30pm!
She is back around 2.45pm...then tea time, complete homeworks, shower then dinner and finally on bed at around 9pm.

IMG_20190821_080535.jpg

Me : Waking up at 6am, assist in getting her ready for school, then my day starts ➡️ work➡️work➡️work!!!
I run everywhere whole day...that my days end at about 11pm daily! (Get to see my daughter for less than an hour in during the week!)


On weekends, it has always been complete freedom for Rheem!
Together with her cousins, they attend a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu class, the only 'outside' activity for the weekend.

For me...it's same routine like week days!

IMG_20200419_200434.jpg


Then came Covid19...

Once we were in lockdown, all schools were closed as well as my business!
Finally real free time to spend with family!

After 1 week or so...

Online classes were being organized by her school.
This is where I got the shock of my life!

I saw how the teacher was just like doing a normal job...a task...I couldn't feel any passion to teach from her.

Screenshot_20210405_012918.jpg
When i took things myself! Can you notice the happiness!?!

I kept following the classes with my daughter to better understand what was going on!
I was not in front of the cam, just to make it clear!
😅😅😅
The way of teaching was just outdated...the kids seemed lost...teaching things with pressure that will never be used in real life by the kids...complete disaster!


After couple of days attending the classes...

I simply told my daughter to please stop these classes...
Below screenshot of the message the teacher sent to me asking where Rheem was!!!
😅😅😅

Screenshot_20210405_101843_com.whatsapp_edit_381311250342337.jpg


I didn't want to make a fuss about all this and made her understand that my daughter will only attend when she feels like...

All the homeworks will be done accordingly and I am taking care of her education as from now...

Her reason to be at school is just to have some experience of what school life is...that's it!

Below screenshot of my message to the school and teacher!

Screenshot_20210405_101932_edit_381271748915259.jpg


What I've learned thanks to quarantine.

It is YOU and only YOU who can better teach your kids...
Don’t expect a teacher to educate a class of 20-30 - that's impossible!

IMG_20200220_151640.jpg


If you can afford it...

Let your kids attend school...just for the experience and have fun with friends!

IMG_20200212_075945.jpg


Study, Learning, Teaching!

You have take it at home, they understand much better and develop faster.

Anyway...kids definitely understand their parents language much better than outsiders!

IMG_20200315_171010_1.jpg


Make your home schooling fun...

Use your own life experience to teach your kids...

Teach them things that will be useful in their life...

Don't force them to learn/remember
world maps/countries/capital and all nonsense things that are being taught at school!

Teach them about basics of survival!

IMG_20191230_195804.jpg


Make them participate in the kitchen!

The most important thing of life...food!!!

If they learn couple of dishes...most of life problems is won in advance for them!

IMG_1585663108986.jpg


How much my daughter's school cost!?

Below is the bank transfer that I did couple of days back...it is in Mauritian rupees

Roughly 150usd per month for school fees.

Screenshot_20210405_101803.jpg

Then I have a taxi who drop and pick her up during school days for a monthly total of 200usd.

And we also have all uniforms/books/accessories amounting to 50usd per month.

Approximately 400usd each month.

Ps. She attends a private school, whereas public school is free in Mauritius.


Cost of living in Mauritius

Mauritius is a very small island of just around 1.2million inhabitants.

A family of four (father, mother + 2 kids) will need around 2000usd - without rent to live a decent life!

A single person can live happily with 600usd.

On average, the cost of living in Mauritius is around 26% lower than in the United States.

And rent is lower than the United States by nearly 65% less.

I will stress on this...Most Mauritians have their own house built on their own piece of land. Renting is rare for Mauritians. Nearly everyone owns their house/land.

Healthcare and education is free for all. Now if you want private services...it's quite expensive.


So here we are with my contribution in this week's contest by OCD in support to @homeedders.

Looking forward to read from you! Should you need any further details/information on anything concerning Mauritius, plz let me know.

Wish you all a great day ahead!
@progressivechef

poster_2021-04-01-024313.png

Sort:  

Hello and welcome to the HomeEdders community. I hope we'll learn more about you and life in Mauritius. When my daughters were younger and attending ballet classes we met a lovely mother and daughter from Mauritius. I wish I'd had more confidence to ask mum about the country.

Hello my friend!
Txs sooo much for the welcoming!
🙏🙏🙏
You are in Australia right!?! Have a lot of Mauritians who settled ovet there. Got a lot of chefs too!
Oh yes...for sure you'll discover a lot of Mauritius via my postings!
Stay blessed!

I've no idea how many Mauritians are here. I've only met those two. We have a lot of immigrants, though.

Man I was going to try to check out what was going on in the community tonight to get to some comments but holy cow there are hundreds of posts hahaha. I was so confused as to what was going on! Lol

Lol! Yes, it got crazy. The contest is all wrapped up now, though.

You can probably do better than most teachers. You are the one who knows your kid the most ;)

So true my friend!
I was really shocked when saw what was going on in the class!
Now she's with me whole day, stress free both she and me.
Making her develop on her own...I'm here for the guidance and teaching real life stuffs!
If only i knew this before!
Better late than never!
Txs so much for stopping by!
🙏🙏🙏

This is wonderful! The whole lockdown thing is definitely brutal on many and has destroyed countless lives around the world for many. There are some benefits though such as this. I’m able to spend my time at home with my family, working of course, but with them in the same building instead of many miles away. Lunch with them, ending work and immediately seeing them. It’s great to spend this time with the children! I’m glad you are enjoying it and it looks like your daughter is as well!

In the beginning it was quite weird...as we were so used to our normal routine...but then after sitting down...looking around...oh well, we were all wrong in our routines!
Staying with our loved ones, creating memorable moments, teaching the kids, cooking together in a fun atmosphere with some music, stay dirty whole day,lol...this is real life.
We are enjoying for sure.
I'm kinda lucky to have a small family restaurant which will give me the necessary funds for my expenses...so yes, this is my new way of living now on.