Our Homeschooling Journey: House Chores and Responsibilities

in Home Edders3 years ago

It has been a while since I last posted about our homeschooling journey. And it has also been a little while since I last actively blogged and roamed around Hive and Discord. What can I say, the days are short, I think I need to have more than 24 hours in a day. I knew soon, I'll experience late-night sleeps AND early morning wake up time, but with my niece's birthday just around the corner, I needed to pull all the stops to make it to the deadline and finish the dress. And I did! We had a photo op and all. More about that on my #needleworkmonday post.

As for our homeschooling journey, we are still on track. We are following a child-led learning system which means there's no routine, there's no schedule, just pure fun and willingness to learn. To my daughter, we are just bonding and playing, to me, I find ways to interject lessons along the way. So far, she is doing good in reading, writing, Science, and Math. I am starting to include Filipino in our lessons lately. She still thinks we're just playing. Thanks to gamification, I am able to teach her through games and play.

These past few weeks have been a struggle though. As much as I don't want to multitask while teaching her, things going on around leave us no choice but to step off our comfort zones. I have mentioned that our washing machine is broken and because of that, I needed to allocate a huge chunk of my time to hand wash the clothes. My daughter took it as a chance to play. During my childhood, I remember also sitting down with my mom, a basin of clothes and water in front, pails of clothes on either side of her, me splashing water while she finishes washing our clothes. Now that I have a kid, I can see the excitement my daughter is feeling too. So, after making sure that all the detergent has been washed off already, I let her rinse the small garments in the laundry.

Dishwashing is one of my favorite house chores. It turns out to be my daughter's too. Even though I will need to pull up a chair so she can step on it while washing the dishes alongside me, it's fine. She helps with the small utensils, her plate and cup, and anything else she can easily hold. There's always the worry that she might break something but I know I wouldn't mind it at all. After all, her helping me in the kitchen gives me more time with her apart from our usual playtime.

Part of my new year's resolution is organization around the house and I started it with the closets and cabinets. I think my daughter's is to help around. When the clothes we washed were dry and is ready for folding, she insisted that she also help with it. I showed her a couple of times and I was really surprised at how well she followed my instructions. Thank you, Marie Kondo!

Each time we finish a task together, I acknowledge her willingness to help and openness to learning things outside of her books and away from our whiteboard. I can see the joy and pride in her eyes of having accomplished something and feeling like she's been helpful. And she has. There were instances that I needed to repeat what she's done but that's really at a minimum. With all the tasks I need to check on my daily to-do list, having her help me made it easier for me to complete.

At this early age, I want to make sure that she starts realizing that a responsible human being has tasks that they need to complete. And that she needs to know how to take care of herself in the future. I am glad that I am able to take this opportunity to teach her how to do things around the house. This is one of the reasons why I am so amazed by homeschooling. We are able to provide her with a holistic education that not only focuses on academics but also on other aspects of life. If she continues with this kind of attitude and outlook, I may not have any problems in raising a strong independent woman.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.
s

Sort:  

Haha, funny a few weeks of a broken washing machine also cut into our home teaching hours. Technology is a both friend and foe.

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I should really be feeling annoyed about the broken washing machine but now all I'm seeing is how the electicity bill will be lessened and how the little girl is helping me out every time. Haha.

Congratulations @romeskie! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Hello @romeskie, Your publication has been voted as part of @Edu-venezuela. Your post will be passed on to other curation projects to get more voting support. Keep up the good work!

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.