Our Homeschooling Journey: Lessons I Learned as a Homeschool Educator

in Home Edders2 years ago

Our Homeschooling Journey (1).png

Cheers to a more relaxed and more fruitful homeschooling this year!

It's almost just a blink of an eye and now, week 3 is done for our Year 1! I did not even notice it, we're almost done with our first month! I can honestly say that this year I am a lot more intentional, not just with our homeschooling method but also in our parenting. 3 weeks into the Charlotte Mason Method of homeschooling, we have had so much fun. It has its ups and downs, just like any other methods of schooling but the outcome and the way we handle the low points is so much better.

We started out with a bang! And so far, the fire is still sparkling and shining brighter than ever. Let me just share a bit of what we have been doing these past few weeks. It helped that I was able to make a very detailed lesson plan for the first quarter. I haven't made one for quarter 2 yet, it's still on the works but for sure it will be as detailed as the first quarter, with a little bit of adjustments here and there.

On some of my previous posts, I have mentioned about Narration as the basic teaching and learning tool in our homeschooling. My daughter has so far been at ease with the method. Another way of showing comprehension for kids is sketch narration. Last week, we read about Ang Hukuman ni Mariang Sinukuan. Every now and then, I ask her if she wants to narrate orally or if she wants to make a sketch narration about the part of the story that we read. This is one the times she chose to draw what she understood about the story. We were at the part here where Lamok was explaining why he was holding a bolo while flying around. He was looking for Talangka because according to Lamok, he was pinched by Talangka while he was passing by, explaining why he wanted to seek revenge on Talangka. In the story, it said that Talangka had already hidden in his home under the sand when Lamok came back and my daughter made a drawing of a house to show this. After we have read the story in parts, I had her retell the story from the start to finish and it's amazing how she was able to retell the story, with her using the Tagalog words she learned. Sure, she retells it in English but I'm just happy she has included at least 20% of tagalog words in her oral narration.

IMG20220810190652.jpg

Another achievement we had these past 3 weeks is her copyworks. I do not require her to write a lot just yet. She has of course copywork activities that train her how to write properly. I only give her 5 minutes of copywork per subject per day that we strictly follow. Whether she finished writing or not, we stop the clock, and we move on to the next lesson. But of course, we try to make sure that we complete the tasks no matter how many days it takes.

My daughter is very much interested in arts. I took the opportunity to introduce her to the basics of drawing through the book What to draw and How to Draw it by E.G. Lutz. I included this in her copywork activities and so far, she's been enjoying this. It takes her longer to finish her drawing copywork, I make this as an exception to the 5 minute copywork rule. I understand that artists have this mojo where one moment they feel like drawing something, the other they don't even want to touch a pencil.

Part of our wholistic education approach, we also have Nature Studies included in our lessons. On our 2nd week, she planted some tomato seeds right next to the ones I already have grown. She did everything from putting soil in the pot down to watering her newly planted tomato seeds. We added watering plants to her daily chores too. During our planting session, she saw some insects like millipede, dragonfly, a butterfly laying eggs on our small lemon tree, a slug, and some caterpillars. She was most fascinated in the millipede because it suddenly coiled when we got near it. These are the moments that I'm aiming for her to experience where the spark of interest is awaken from all her observations.

Lessons I Learned as a Homeschool Educator

When things doesn't go as planned, Learn to Let it Go

I am amazed at all of her achievements for the last 3 weeks. These though were not without sweat, some tears (mostly from me) and a lot of patience. There were days when we just can't find the rhythm, but we power through after a little bit of break.

This is where the fun parts of our schedule come in. We either make crafts, make drawings, have some playtime, or just tickle the keys on our piano (not to study music but to just have fun.) I devised some extra curricular activities that she can turn to whenever she can't find the will if you may, in studying just yet. I am very strict when it comes to her studying but I learned to be gentle in enforcing our rules and learned the art of letting go on days when we just can't find it in ourselves to open a book. So far, I can see that there's nothing a pair of scissors, some papers, glue, a little bit of glitters or googly eyes can't fix.

Be present

When we're homeschooling, it's easy to assume that we are there for our kids because we are technically with them, we are teaching them, they listen to us. But it's different when we are fully involved. One of the ways we found the fun in learning is when I join my kid in activities where I can join her. We have Art Appreciation where we study an artist, we observe their artwork, and then try to replicate their work. Right now, we are studying Claude Monet. We would look at one of his paintings for a certain time, study and observe the brush strokes, their painting style, the colors they used, the lighting, etc. Then we set it aside, try to remember the details, and then remake it without looking at it again. At first, I let her to it by herself. For me, it was a time to multitask and do other chores at home while she's busy. But it turns out she likes the activity more when I'm also drawing along with her.

*The sunflower art is my recreation of one of Monet's Bouquet of Sunflower. My skills (or lack thereof) in arts is strongly challenged in these activities, but we push through.

Listen and pay attention

I taught my daughter to pay attention when I read her the stories aloud so that she would be able to narrate them. It turns out I also could use a lesson on paying attention. One of the things that worked for us is when we let her talk openly to express her opinions. There are instances that she wants to skip a subject and move to another. Although we have a schedule, we treat it now as just a guide for the day. At the end of the day, I ask her what she liked about the day's lessons and what's her least favorite. This way, we're able to assess what went right and what went wrong during the day, making us continue the best practices, and readjust those that didn't work.

We are leafing through The Tempest by William Shakespeare. I am just so glad that she was able to express that she was getting bored with the story. Even though it was supposed to be about enchanted creatures and magic, she told me she did not like the part that talked about falling in love and revenge. We took a little break from it for a bit. She got bored on those parts but for her to still be able to voice out her opinion about it shows that she still understood the story. After a little bit of break from it, we are now on our way to start Romeo & Juliet.

Keep on Evolving

As we continue with our homeschooling journey, I am sure that we will surely get to valleys and peaks. I have learned to celebrate the highs, learn from the lows. One thing is for sure, we will continue the best practices and keep on discovering new ways to keep our spirits high in our homeschooling journey. The most important thing that matters the most is that we instill the love of learning to our little one. That is the ultimate goal.

Copy of Nanay Romeski (4 x 1.5 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (2 x 1 in) (3 x 1 in) (4 x 3 in) (2.5 x 1.5 in) (3 x 1.5 in).png

Sort:  

Thanks for the curie mention! I love this post! I used to use the CM approach as well. Once I was homeschooling 5, I figured it was too hard to read so many stories at different levels and have narration told back to me. This introvert's ears were ringing at the end of the day! I love the approach though! We were using Ambleside Online and I had almost all the books up through level 8. I just love homeschooling and getting to spend time with my kids. I feel like I don't miss much in their lives. My two oldest went to camp in June with our church and I felt kinda crazy because I didn't know what was going on the whole time! Ha! You have some great advice. I love seeing another homeschool mama. I'm following you!

It's so nice to see another homeschooling mama who uses CM approach too! Yes, it could be too tasking to hear several narrations in one day. And if you're like me, we homeschool whole year round (simply because the kiddo doesn't feel the need for a long break because, CM) it could get too overwhelming. I am condisering using Ambleside next year because I've been hearing a lot of good reviews about that.

I thought I was overplanning now that I am thinking about stacking up the books for my kid's Year 2 (we're currently in Year 1) but you got up to level 8! I think I better gear up on those books now. haha

Yes, AO is really good. I loved that it was free and well organized. I even went to an AO conference years ago when they had it in my state. All of the founders spoke at it. It was really interesting and motivating. Those books only get more expensive! Better to stock up now or plan to check out some from your local library if they are available! We do year round as well, but we take off every Friday because life is too crazy on Fridays around here!

QuoteThe most important thing that matters the most is that we instill the love of learning to our little one. That is the ultimate goal.

Indeed, and when the time comes that they already have their own family and children I am sure that they will imitate what we have shown them.

Hopefully we start this cycle of children developing the love of learning.

Hi @romeskie, the drawings of your little girl are very beautiful, with patience and dedication you are achieving your goals, the experiences that you are acquiring educating your little one, will help you to help other children in the future, also share the tools and techniques that have worked for you with other moms who start the path of homeschooling.

Blessings!

I hope the experiences I share here in the platform helps a lot of new homeschoolers. When I first started, I knew that homeschooling is going to be a great big challenge. But as long as we keep reminding ourselves about why we do it, the challenge will be so much worth it.

My son will started to school tomorrow and for a first time mom like me it's really a challenge. Reading this kind of post really help me on how to have an idea of being an educator.

Congratulations in advance on your first day of homeschooling. I'm sure both you and your kid are excited. Just have fun and cherish every moment with your kiddo. :)

There is a lot to take away from this post and there are many great lessons for many of us. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @melbourneswest
I thought it would be just my daughter who will learn in homeschooling. Turns out I got a lot to learn too.

Wow, one of a kind, I have seen some homeschooling, especially at the pick not really focused on creating things, and you guys just made it as bonding to learn, surely your kid is smart as you @romeskie .

Ahh she's prolly smarter than me. Our study time has so far been a lot of bonding moments together. Both of us are learning a lot in this journey.

Grabe! Congrats naman you've finally found a method that's working well for your little learner and the fam. Ours is super busy as well, and I think I am boring them with so much worksheets that I am trying any approach that will keep them interested. CM method seems great, I will try if I can find resources here.

I tried to introduce my kids to Shakespeare and they didn't like it too. 🙈 So I guess this will be mommy's reading material, pampaantok. Haha

Most of our lessons are incorported in stories tapos related sa isa't is ung ibang subjects. Nag eenjoy si bagets pag nakakakita siya ng mga light bulb moments kapag may madiscuss kami na related sa iba naming lessons.

Very relaxed lang kami ngayon pero strict pa rin lalo pagdating sa discipline.

Both you and your daughter really did well and for sure will continue to do well!
I’m so amazed of your patience as an educator. I can really tell you love her so much.
I’m amazed that she really participates and does well! Great job mommy rome!

Thank you @wittyzell hopefully maging consistent kami. I can see so much improvement sa aming dalawa. Pag nagka kids ka rin, homeschooled or not, you can apply the Charlotte Mason method.

Pag magka kids 😅
Nakakatakot na responsibilidad yan pero it really suits you well @romeskie!

Hi @romeskie, the "new discoveries" of strategies and methods to educate your child are giving great results, I enjoyed reading how you have advanced in the way of homeschooling.

Peace and good!

It is indeed giving amazing results and I am so happy. I hope our progress continues. :)

Congrats on your progress so far! 🤠👍

Luv the drawings!

I love your flexibility as a mom and an educator. Your both gonna get there, achieving your ultimate goal I am very sure. ❤️

We're working through it. It requires a lot of time and effort and energy but it's all gonna be worth it in the end. Thank you! :)

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 68000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 69000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022