Our Homeschooling Journey | Sharing is Caring

in Home Edders4 years ago

More than just the ABCs and the 123s, we should also teach our children about good values and morals. The world needs more people with good hearts that gives to those who are in need and a strong will that is not afraid to correct the wrongdoers.

During playtime/studytime, a kid was not playing nice. He doesn't want to share his book with Aya. I was just watching closely to see how things will go for them. She came to me saying her friend isn't sharing. So I asked her father instead to bring us a coloring book and 4 pieces of color pencils. There are 4 kids - all of them older than my Aya, so I figured there should be enough if all of them wanted to color at the same time.

Knowing how kids are, they all turned to the new book. The kid who was not sharing earlier wanted two pieces of color pencil for himself. I see the mom was not even looking. I was just observing. My kid gave the pencil she was holding to the other one who got no pencil and asked the pencil-hoarding kid to give her the other one. She was a bit autoritative, maybe because she knew the pencil was hers. I heard her say "You should share. It's not nice to not share."

That was the same kid that was not nice to her earlier. But she still allowed him to borrow, and what's more is she even taught him the value of sharing. If that was the young me, I would have resorted to giving him a taste of his own medicine. He will feel how I felt. LOL. But that was just the young me.

I was so happy when I saw them all peacefully coloring the book. The color itself was a disaster but seeing them all coloring/slaying the book together was really an amazing picture.

I was smiling from ear to ear as I watch my kid interact. They don't really understand everything she says because she only speaks english but I think her actions speak louder than her words.

I remember the other day, we were cleaning up her toys. We wanted to get rid of the toys she's not playing with anymore. There are a lot of kids in our neighborhood so I planned on giving them those toys. I talked to Aya about giving her toys away. At first, she wouldn't let go. But when I mentioned the names of her friends, she eventually agreed on sharing/giving her old toys.

My husband and I are making extra efforts to ensure that our kid grows as a responsible, good-hearted, strong adult. It's tough most of the time, but we get through. There was one time, my husband was working in his laptop. The kiddo wants to play with the computer. Her dad explains that she can't play yet because he's still working. With an all-knowing tone, she told her father, "Tatay, you should share." She then immediately turbs to me and said, "Nanay, see? Tatay, doesn't share."

Well, how could you win in that argument? XD

Sort:  

Sometimes it takes children to make us realize we're adults :)

Lol! Children have a very black and white approach on things!

You are so right that we should teach our children morals and how to treat others respectfully. It's something that seems to be done less and less, if we go by the attitudes of some of the young adults today.

My husband and agreed that parents are first and foremost the one responsible for the behavior (or misbehavior) of our children. What's wrong should be corrected right away, (but with care - we should not reprimand children in public) and when they do right, they should also be praised (but not too much - we should be careful not to inflate their ego too much.) It's challenging maintaining the balance but there's always room for learning. :)

Just dropping in to let you know I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.