Our Homeschooling Journey: Planting and Responsibility

in Home Edders3 years ago

20210306_094537_0000.png

A couple of months ago, I was whining to my mom how I can't grow or even make an okra seedling sprout. My neighbor gave me okra seedlings so I tried to plant them but it it did not grow, not even a sprout. And so, a few weeks ago, she sent my sister here bearing okra sprouts. I have already given up on planting and growing okra so I was not really that excited about it. I messaged her to thank her for the okra sprout and she gave me pointers on what to do. Ultimately, she told me to not get too stressed out about it and just have fun planting. Funny how she's living so far away from me, I'm a grown woman with a fmily of my own but my mom still teaches me.

And so our next lesson for our homeschooling journey is planting, along with responsibilities. I ordered some seeds online, and along with the other seedlings that my mom sent, I gave my daughter an activity on responsibility.

I orepped the seedlings and the cups where she will plant the seedlings. Since the seedlings were pretty small, it was a lot easier for the two of us to have her plant them. It seemed like she enjoyed planting.

IMG20210208164650.jpgIMG20210208165347.jpgIMG20210208165353.jpg

Toddlers have a neverending supply of questions. I actually did not have any trouble trying to teach her about planting, germination, root growth, etc. She has asked the next question before I even movr into that topic. Althroughout the activity, we were able to discuss topics abput germination, nutrients the plant needs, the importance of watering the plants, photosynthesis, oxygen, and carbon dioxide, recycling, and so much more.

Lately, she's been craving for a lot of playtime and it has hindered some of oyr reading time amd math time. But I don't want to force her into anything because it's really hard to teach her when there's coercion. I don't want to go to that path anymore. I learned the hard way that the strict and stern way is not the way to go with this kid. And so when I asked her if she wanted to plant some seeds, I was so happy when she got all excited. The trips to our rooftop garden has paid off. In a way, I have been planting seeds in her brain, making her curious bout the plants, the fruits, the insects and all. Last Christmas, I gifted her a magnifying glass.

As soon as we planted the seeds, she was all bout watering them right away. Another teaching moment, and I am glad she's up for it. Right now, she is responsible for the seedlings she planted. The mints have sprouted, and she's extremely happy to see them grow each day.

IMG20210208170034.jpg

IMG20210208170046.jpg

She has always wanted a puppy. And I am all about having pets, only I think it's not yet time. I am just testing right now if she'll be able to hold true to her responsibility of watering and caring for her plants. Still teaches the basic concept of responsibility, but not too heavy for her.

I am all empowering her while keeping her humble and responsible. Right now, she is happy helping out with dishwashing, folding clothes, and now, watering the plants.

I have always heard people say before that the future is in the hands of the new generation. I think that's a mentality that is bringing the doom to our world. It's just like passing on the torch to someone who may or may not have any idea how to keep the fire burning. I am a believer that we as parents have the task of raising better people. Just recently, I watched an episode of Grey's anatomy where Catherine Avery said "This is how the world changes. Good people, raising kids right." (I can't remember the exact words, but that's just the jist of it.) I'm not absolutely sure I am a good person, I mean I've done a lot of wrongs but I am sure I will do my best to make sure this little kiddo learns responsibility in every way possible. Starting with planting seeds. There's poetic beauty in it.


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.