Our Homeschooling Journey: Works of Art

in Home Edders4 years ago

As part of our homeschooling journey, I installed plastic covers on our wall so that my daughter could freely write and draw whenever she feels like it. And I'm glad I did because every day, she surprises me and my husband with works or art. Let me share some of her artworks.

Let's start with the simple ones.

Gravitational pull?

Here is her art explaining how earth rotates and revolves around the sun. That was after we watched a science video explaining planetary movements. I thought she was just telling a story but when I looked at the wall, there it is! It looks like just doodles but when I recalled the things she said moments ago, this doodle made sense. Mostly. Sure, the marker ran out of ink, but I'm glad she was able to absorb most of the idea in the video we watched.

Cute little puppy

Believe it or not, that is a little puppy. She drew this when she saw me feed a stray puppy. She got angry when I exclaimed "Wow! That's one scary lttle dinosaur!" Well, I should have asked first, I know. But I thought it looked like Little George's dinosaur in Peppa Pig.

Family portrait

The one with the red arrow is her dad. Notice the thick blue lining around the chin and the head? It shows his facial hairs. But I can't really explain why she drew me with a goatie. I'm the one with the green arrow. At least she got the undercut hairstyle perfectly. She gave herself a heart-shaped head. And very little, because she said she's still a baby. Yes, dear. Please don't grow up too fast.

Emotions

I drew circles showing different emotions the day before she drew this. I wiped the board clean that day because I wanted to redo the faces. She redrew the emoticons for me. She explained each emotions. There's even a trail of ants that made one of the emoticons angry/annoyed.

Jellyfishing

Her dad showed her different videos of sea creatures. She was mostly amazed with the jellyfish. She loved the colors and their movements. She drew these while she and her dad were watching.

Whaleshark

This one was her best artwork. I showed her the videos we took when her dad and I went whale watching in Oslob, Cebu. She felt sad that we did not bring her to that trip because she wasn't in any of the photos or videos. After explaining that she wasn't born yet when that happened, she made us promise that we will bring her to see the whalesharks when the quarantine is over. I made a pinky promise, now I am bound by that contract. I was amazed at hiw she was able to capture the spots and the overall shape of the whalesharks.

A gateway to their imaginationland

It's always amazing to see children's works of art. It's like they are letting us in on their imagination land. And it is really cool to see how they interpret their imagination through their artwork.

I'm really glad I did not stop her from her doodles before. I was told that I should discipline her and stop her from writing on the walls. But what they see as ugly writings, I perceive as her way of expressing herself. I am, by the way, a big fan of wall arts on the streets of BGC. There is no way I would be in the way of these funny, awesome, and cute artworks. Afterall, she will grow up soon enough. I'll have clean walls when she's busy with other stuff. Unless she makes murals and wall arts on our walls too. That'd be super awesome!

¨ðº°˜¨ ¨˜°ºð¨

@romeskie is a full time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter


Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.


Shoutout to @jemzem for my logo check out her Facebook page: Jem Virtual Assistance Services for your logo needs.

Sort:  

naka-smile lang ako habang binabasa tong post. ❤️
hilig ko din magdoodle sa wall nung bata pa, pero ako rin pinaglinis nung dingding. 🤣

Maliit pa si baby girl eh, pero pag mga 5 years old na siya, malaki ang chance na siya rin ang paglilinisin ko ng walls. haha. Sana hanggang paglaki niya, maging mahusay din magdrawing. hehe

for sure yan, cute ng doodles nya 🥰

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.