February Homeschool Miscellany

in Home Edders3 years ago

At the end of January Homeschool Miscellany we were re-establishing routines and trying to get into good habits and making new plans.

Two of those things are somewhat working out for us.

I'm still struggling to go to bed on time x_x

There were a few unexpected shenanigans quite close together which have thrown me right off with AER and hive and training which is about normal, and in way too many cases excursion days were postponed as well.

Otherwise all the usual term stuff has gone back in alright, I signed 14yo and 12yo up for Skwirk (I'll have to decide later if it's worth the money as a lot of the content is still in the process of being updated now that Flash has been deprecated, they're at least doing it as apparently both have decided they don't like Khan Academy) and am pushing 16yo harder towards doing a few more adulting things like getting a job and/or figuring out how to monetise things he's doing, getting his license (I've told him I'm perfectly okay with him taking his time on this one if he likes, though I have a feeling JJ will want him to get it as soon as possible because 16yo will be a sensible or probably slightly paranoid driver like me whereas we're somewhat concerned about 12yo getting his when he hits that age), helping out a lot more around the house and bloody well sucking it up and doing KA because I'm making that decision seeing as he refuses to do anything else that would help me out as far as the education department goes.

We didn't end up going on any excursions in the short month because I ended up being somewhat broke for most of it due to usual start of term fees and resupply as well as the unexpected shenanigans, but we did get some practical stuff done.

14yo found some Youtube videos or something about how to recycle paper into other paper and ripped up one of her old bullet journals to try it out.

Screenshot_20210316_231912.jpg

Screenshot_20210316_232017.jpg

There were grand aspirations to make an entire book in this fashion. I asked her to please write down the process for me so we could fulfil some English requirements (the whole thing also contributes to arts and technologies), and she did so after the paper dried.

Screenshot_20210316_232116.jpg

So far it hasn't been done again but as it's a pretty involved process I guess she will have to really be wanting some extra special book before she remembers to come back to it.

I had been repairing some clothes while 14yo was engaged in the paper making activity and 12yo noticed and thought it was kind of magical, and wanted to mend his favourite shirt that had been ripped during an altercation with his brother. I hadn't gotten to it yet so asked him if he wanted to try mending it himself, and he was keen. Seeing as he has some coordination issues, I asked if he wanted to go for the "peasant look" and use large stitching or if he wanted to try with the small needle and thread. He decided on the former so I grabbed out the biggest needle I had and the biggest thread (which I'm not sure if it's actually thread or some purple string that ended up in the sewing box), he threaded it himself and stitched up his own shirt with some guidance.

Screenshot_20210316_232440.jpg

He decided he liked the "peasant" look and was pretty proud of himself for having done most of it himself (I did a little bit at the top that was slightly tricky) and learning a practical skill.

Towards the end of the month we finally managed to kick off the World of Darkness roleplaying game involving 16yo, two of his homeschooled friends and 12yo which we'd been planning since last year but which didn't end up happening in time due to 16yo being undecided about what he was going to play and a bunch of other shenanigans happening. Of course exactly none of them are being helpful and keeping notes on their own characters though I'm very gently trying to push them in a thatwaywards direction.

They are quite a lot of fun to game with though, very good in character acting.

Now all I need to do is the usual trying to stay on top of my own stuff and get these excursions back on track.

This post also appears on my blog.

@gorc, @pixietrix and @shadowlioncub are each receiving 33% of the post payout.

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Come hang out on Discord with us!

Sort:  

My mom made this a recycled paper as well, few years ago. We have a "crafts room" thats how we call it. It is really a room where you can find pretty anything for handmade crafts and stuff. There happens magical things. We still have in the room a LARGE box where we throw all kind of paper in case we do it again. She actually used her paper to make some cards, so bad I dont have photos of them. So, since then we keep adding paper to that box but I dont know when the day of paper making will come.

If you want to take a look, in this post you can see some photos in the "craft room" :D
https://hive.blog/art/@missdeli/how-i-de-stress-crafting-and-handmade-stuff-week-three-six-week-health-challenge

Btw, just today I thought of making a to do list (plan) for this year, to point out what I want to accomplish, plus setting up some new routines. Or like you said, 'resetting" is the best word. I always have a to do list (I cant live without....) but I feel some things changed and I need to think of something different. So I might do it myself these days!

Cheers from Romania

That's one hell of a craft room :O Looks like quite a lot of time and love was put into making it.

Perhaps the paper making will come when the box is full? ;D

Good luck with the new plans and routines!

!ENGAGE 20

Yup, I know:D:D believe me, you can find here everything :))
I wish I have more time to spend in there but nowadays time is limited, with my toddler. I miss crafting.
Thanks, I will make a plan these days:)

Don't worry, your toddler will be old enough to craft with you sooner than you think ;D

Yeah, I know, we already started crafting, he's doing what he can for this age. We went yesterday here (its my old house, 20 minutes from where I'm staying right now) but can you believe he got bored in there? I went to take some materials I need in order to make some crafts at home with him (some color paintings actually) and he wasnt impressed by anything I gave him to do there. I guessed he was tired :)

No I can't believe that! I can believe he was tired though XD Or perhaps he had choice paralysis; I think my kids if confronted with a craft room like that would not know what to do because of all the possibilities XD

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I took a paper making workshop once. It was fun, we made it from different plants around the garden. It never occurred to me to use paper let alone use the paper I had made to write an instruction manual.
12yo did a nice job on the stitching. I can send him a lot of my clothes to practice on. But I will need them back, washed and folded.

Sounds like you were doing a more full on one from scratch! Was it as interesting and labour intensive as it sounds like it might have been? :D Do you remember if the type of plant used made a difference in how the paper turned out?

This method is probably good if, like us, you have a lot of scrap paper lying around the house XD

ours is not actually lying around the house, I just have a dedicated shelf in the art cupboard for paper that has enough gaps between notes or sketches for other things XD

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Make your own paper out of paper!! I'm in, that looks awesome!

It was pretty cool! It was a bit of a process to get that one (and then we were joking about it being 900gsm paper because it ended up being really thick) so you won't be making a notebook in a hurry unless you have some kind of press XD but it's a fun and easy one if you wanted to do it (optionally with the Little Lady) :)

!ENGAGE 20

That's what I read thinking, she world really love to do it. I don't mind the thickness, it would be like an olde manuscript type of thing!

Please do it with her, would love a boomy post on that XD

It's I can pin her down attention wise them it shall be done!!!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I just skimmed this initially, saw Pixie in the kitchen and assumed she was cooking something, then wondered why she was drying a tortilla with a hair dryer...

LoL!

so much so that JJ trundled over to see what was so funny XD

Easy enough mistake to make I guess :D

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Tag, you're it! The beneficiary, that is. ..

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Scared me for a sec I was like OH NO WHAT AM I BEING TAGGED IN XD