HOMESCHOOLING WITH LEFT-HANDED KIDS: PECULARITIES AND RULES

in Home Edders3 years ago

I am Mom of the Left-hander. My son used his left hand more from the early childhood. It was absolutely OK for me and my hubby, but it was shock forour parents who had the goal to reteach him and made him use his Right hand to be like all the rest kids.

I was against it and I forbad them to make any pressure or attempt to influence his natural pecularities. And now I'll share with you some interesting facts I knew when I was reading info about left-handers.

image.png

There are only 10-15% of Left-handed people in the world's population.

As you know, each of the two hemispheres of the brain is responsible for certain abilities and talents of a person. Their mechanism of interaction with the body is cross. A person has a dominant left hemisphere if he uses mainly his right hand. The ability to write with the left is due to the dominance of the right hemisphere of the brain. Such people are usually called "thinking outside the box", many of them are talented, extraordinary personalities.

Even now I see many examples when my boy thinks Different. He notes things which I even don't see. He remembers tiny details which I even didn't guess he saw and so on.

In stressful situations, left-handed children are more sensitive and less susceptible to the negative effects of stress, they are better able to maintain their composure and calmness, while not losing their optimistic attitude. And this is very important in our modern world, when every day a person has to go through a lot of stress.

In difficult situations, left-handers find a way to solve a problem faster than right-handed children.

Is it necessary to retrain a left-handed child?

NO. NO. NO.

Doing so you are trying to deceive nature - and doing this is useless and highly discouraged, otherwise the consequences for the baby can be very sad.
If you start retraining a left-handed child, it means that you are trying to rebuild and change the work of his brain. When retraining, the baby's psyche becomes more and more unstable, and the more persistently you do this, the more nervous the child will become.

It's absolutely so. My boy is VERY sensitive, he likes to kiss me, to hug me, he can cry a little if he is watching a cartton with sad moments....
And many people think that it s my blame because "a boy should me a man!". I don't lose time on arguing, because I know my son better, and I know it's not faild of my upbringing, it's his nature but it doesn't mean
he won't be a good man.

Left-handers often have good musical ability and perfect pitch - oh, yes, he likes singing so much!:) and when I am singing (I have no voice and pitch, he hears it and says: "Mom, please, don't sing":))))

They often start speaking later and sometimes have difficulty in pronouncing certain sounds - exactly the truth!
My son really started specaking late and still 2 letters are absent in his speech but we're working on it, and it will be ok I am sure.

It happens that reading, writing and mathematics are difficult for them - maybe yes, he doesn't like traditional exercises so we make it while playing;)

A left-handed child is spontaneous, trusting, easily falls under the influence of momentary feelings and moods. Hence - tearfulness, capriciousness, susceptibility to rage and anger, persistence in fulfilling desires - yes, it happens often

Remember, a left-handed person thinks and memorizes in images, so while learning, use pictures and other visual aids for better memorization - exactly the truth! I notices it long ago and now I use this rule in out homeschooling.

Moreover, there're some pecularities of teaching writing for left-handers. They use another hand, so the handwriting tilt will be different, and they need another exercise book for writing, not like other kids use.

These special exercise-books will have NO tilt at all, ot ir will be in another side.

Btw - the light should always fall to the table not from the left hand like in traditional cases, but from the right one.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

And now some famous people who are left-handers too, and despite the fact that world is builf for right-handers, they have made it spin around them...:)

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

I find it crazy that someone still in 2021 - even if it's the grandparent generation - is trying to insist that left-handed children should use their right hand, "like normal children does".

My family (as in me, my wife and my children) is all right-handed, but my mother (and her mother) is left-handed, so I got some perspectives on that quite early on. Like my mother cursing because quite some scissors and other kitchen-utensils were optimized for being used by right-handed people. When she was a child (born 1955 - she was a young mother), she was forced into using the right hand "as normal children does" at school. From a positive perspective, this has caused her to be quite good at using the "wrong" hand, even to the point that she can write with both hands at once. (I've also tried practicing a bit, using chopsticks in both hands).

I agree with you, but people of elder generations see no difference it 2021 or still 1960. They were brought up and grown uo in different conditions and by different society rules, it's in their blood and I don't try to change them, it's impossible, just don't let to influence my own rules if they differ.

Yeah, using both hands are not bad!

There are only 10-15% of Left-handed people in the world's population.

Count me in (^_^), but when I play basketball I shoot with my right hand, everything else is I do with my left hand. Is my case an unusual one?

I now have a better understanding of a left-handed person because of your blog. Thank you.

I just want to share an observation on the hand orientation of my son. A few months ago when we started to teach him in holding a pencil I remember that he first holds it with his left hand but days have passed we noticed that he is now using his right hand which he eventually uses to write his ABCs and numbers until now.

till 7 or even more kids can change hands and it's normal, theit brains are still actively developing, so it can be changed

and yes! it's strange but my boy uses Right leg in football! dual nature?:)

I wonder how mnay individual like me are in existence...

I didn't know left handers had better musical pitch! I bet he'd be great at piano and getting chords. I remember at school when we would try to use left hands as we were right dominate.

Life was pretty rough back in the day here for left handed people. They used to force you to use your right hand. All of it was based on the fact that it was cheaper and easier to make all machines right handed so everyone had to be right handed.

Well done on adopting and accepting the left hand!

yes, it's easier to make all people similar...but is it right?
PC mouses are optimized for lefties too. Early I thought - wtf, they do anything in different way, mirror people! and now it's my son:)

I can totally relate! Me being a leftie naturally then forced to write with my right hand when I started schooling. There are still lots of things that I do predominantly with my left hand like taking objects, washing, and sstuff. I can also still nicely write with my left hand. My eldest is also a leftie. Like you, I never attempted to "correct" him. We just laugh it off when he struggles with writing on the whiteboard or using the scissors.

I saw scissors for lefties, need to buy them because (shame to me!!) I never thought scissors are customized for righties only;) and I couldn't get why my boy didn't like to use them and did it bad. NOW I understnad;)

Congratulations, this is an excellent post. I am what is known as a disgruntled lefty when I was little my inclination was to use my left hand for all tasks such as taking objects, combing my hair, dressing for everything when I entered school I had a really bad teacher, an experience that still causes me nightmares, she tied my left hand so that I had to use the right, for the time she convinced my parents that they should let me get used to use my right hand because being left-handed was a deficiency that could be corrected, I went through preschool crying and traumas, it was until the first grade when the damage in my motor functions was already very advanced due to the techniques that today I recognize as torture applied at school that my parents sought help from a psychopedagogist because I did not want to return to school, just thinking about it made me sick and they told her what the teacher considered strategies to make me "normal" and then, thank God, they even changed my school. But by then I was already writing with my right hand and doing things with that hand even though today I have the ability to use both and managed to recover although not completely, as an adult I have serious problems with laterality because I can not easily distinguish right from left and this has even prevented me from being able to drive because my brain does not distinguish those spaces of location quickly. To all those who have left-handed children I tell them my experience and I tell them that nature is wise and is not wrong, being left-handed is not a problem or deficiency.

thank you so much for your story!!
we need to share it and support Different people because we all have a right to be Different!

And yes! We had this awful and crual practice of retraining of lefties in the USSR kindergartens and schoold too. ALL had to be the same. My husband was among them too. Now he is right-handed but still his left hand can do much. But our son is total leftie and I give him a chance to keep his nature untouchable. And now there is no such pressure for lefties any more.

They use another hand, so the handwriting tilt will be different, and they need another exercise book for writing, not like other kids use.

I think tilted handwriting book is something quite Russian :-)

really? you write all letters directly without any tilt? when I wrote in English it was with tilt as well;)
Yes, in the USSR and actually in our languages it's a characteristic feature:) it's taught at school

image.png

image.png

Congratulations @taliakerch! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 11000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.