PENFRIENDSHIP AS A METHOD OF UNSCHOOLING TEACHING A KID

in Home Edders2 years ago (edited)

Mums, Dads and all who don't want how to make reading and writing amazing for a kid - come her, I've a small secret with great results:>

My boy adores reading, and now I'm a crazy buyer of different books for him, and I'm happy he likes it.
But writing....no:<
Painting ...no:<
Counting...no no no:<

He doesn't reject to do it, I always try to make a form of a game for him, but stillI see he isn't involved much.
So I was puzzled - how to make him love these processes too?
Of course, any person has something he likes more than the rest, but until he can't do it very well, motivation and interest are important for constant practicing.

Where do we need to read and write? Right - penfriendship:>
We tried different messagers with him, and he likes it too, but handwriting is VERY important for brain development, and a pencil and paper are immortal for me, nothing can changed them completely.

I saw a book of envelopes in the web-store and bought them at once. There was an instruction how to make envelopes - a good skill for hands too btw.

photo_2021-11-20_23-38-52.jpg

So I created a letter from a gnome Gosha for my son, where he asked how my son's name was, how old he was, what pet he had etc. Just simple questions to arise interest and a wish to be a friend of a fairytale character:>

How interested and happy he was - yeaahh:>>

He read a letter, and he was in a hurry to make a reply - to write soemthing back to get a new letter again:>

photo_2021-11-20_23-38-52 (2).jpg
one of the first letters from the gnome:>

photo_2021-11-20_23-38-52 (3).jpg
and his reply where he wote about our pet - rabbit Iriska

Now every morning he ran to the door to seek for a letter from the gnome;>
Then I started to put some tasks into the envelope - some maths tasks, some logical puzzles etc, like the gnome couldn't make it by himself and my son had to help him.

photo_2021-11-20_23-38-53.jpg

we develop writing well having this friendship
now it's writing in lines already

He was so proud, he felt like a superhero when he managed to make something his friend couldn't, and thus he helped him:>

So this method works fine, guys, and you're welcome to use it.
And it's time to me to prepare a new letter for tomorrow:>

Sort:  

Прикольно)

благодарю:>
все гениальное - просто, сама не ожидала, что так зайдет ему
хотя...чего уж там. ждать письмо - это всегда интересно, по себе помню

Omg! What an awesome idea! That's really a very ingenious way of motivating your little one to write.

thank you so much:>
I am in love with this idea too

That's a really cute idea!

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

thank you, friends
I'm so glad to share useful info:>

Wow, I love your creativity in how you made him perform the tasks that he doesn't normally do. Great job.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment