Life continues : A Sad Story

in Home Edders4 years ago

Human nature is good at taking hits and fighting back. That's what we will learn in the following months. And this is not a story about fear, but about hope.

The calls

For us, it started with a call, a call we didn't want to have. This weekend, my wife's mom left us a message saying her dad died. We were out of the house at that time. An hour later another message was left. It said her other grand-dad died too.

Background info. My wife is very close to both her grandparents. She visited them pretty much every week or so. This was devastating news for her and, being pretty close to them too, myself included. It was a slap in the face and a way to remind us death catches us one day or the other and not always in the best dispositions.

image.png

Statistics

We were told both died of COVID. And I thought to myself "This cannot be". One of them was already very sick of the heart and had a diagnosed cancer. The other one, because of the most awesome nurse in the world, we saw on video the day he died and he looked very good.

Maybe they both had COVID, we will never know for sure, but something is clear in my mind, that's not how they died. Will they be part of the statistics? Probably.

Realization

It just made me think about the stats we are shown. Do they really take time to analyze the cause of death of everyone when the medical system is overloaded? I wouldn't blame them if they didn't. I think we need to take everything with a grain of salt.

Also is isolation a death factor? Especially in old people's life. Pretty sure also.

What do you think?

Sort:  

My thoughts are with you at this sad time. My father was saying something similar, that while sometimes Covid19 might be the straw that breaks the camel's back, it's not really what kills them ultimately. We have a family member who is already so sick he will die soon. I wonder if his death will be put down to Covid19.