thermoplastic cross-posted this post in Hive Austria Meetups 4 years ago


Reporting from my Quarantine - VIRAL LANDSCAPES

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

IMG_0012digital-mirror-color - web2200.jpg
VIRAL LANDSCAPE - MIRROR - digital and color
this is the product from a original acrylic on mylar monochrome painting,
one of several which I will show further down.

Since March 10th I have been in Self-Quarantine - at my age, I am not taking too many chances to venture out: a few times to shop for essentials and a couple of times for short walks. I live in Vienna, on the north-side of the city, across the Danube, sometimes also referred to as Transdanubien.

I posted about my first walk: Corona Update from Vienna over two weeks ago.

My studio however is in Meidling, which is a 45 Minute trip with the S-Bahn (Commuter train). I have not been to the studio since quarantine, but may do so after Easter. There is much work to be done on an unfinished project that may be scheduled for an exhibition this Fall (once everything turns back to a semblance of "normal"). What I have done so far were tests.
Staying at home, all I have is my computer, so I was using photos of these tests and transformed them digitally in various configurations. Some I already posted in my Flickr album for Digital Art, since this is my cloud storage. But here, for the first time, I also post some variations.


Viral Landscapes - Variations

IMG_0012 web1600.jpg
Viral Landscape I - acrylic on mylar

IMG_0010web1600.jpg
Viral Landscape II - acrylic on mylar

subsequently colored from behind, like a behind-glass painting and turned:

IMG_0018-WEB2000.jpg

IMG_0019web2000.jpg

... and this is what the reverse side from one of these looks like - cropped:

IMG_0017web1600.jpg
a abstract work in its own right, probably never to be seen but preserved as a photo - I called it "Sailing"

Viral Landscape I - squared and photoshopped with edge filter:

IMG_0018-150dpi-desat-40cmW-40H-edges-web1600.jpg
monochrome - squared

IMG_0018-150dpi-desat-40cmW-40H-edgesPS1-web1600.jpg
digital color overlay - squared

IMG_0018-150dpi-desat-40cmW-40H-edges-mirror1-WEB.jpg
and a sinister looking mirrored version of the monochrome


Viral Landscapes - Project Squares


The project is based on the theme of squares, 20 x 20 cm in any configuration that again forms a square.
I thought of possibly cutting this up into equal squares of 20cm each, arranged 4x4

IMG_0018-150dpi-color-80x80cm-mirror-border-WEB2000.jpg

How would it look in a room?

1 Viral Landscape in room.jpg

I also thought of printing them individually on aluminum plates, but once I figured out the cost, I abandoned the idea.


So the initial steps were from the studio on March 10th - the pieces on Mylar were done very quickly. Playing with them in Photoshop took much longer - as did writing this post!

I have been away from Hive for a couple of weeks, busy with writing blogs on my website. Earlier today I also posted about a great

Virtual Tour of the Ernst Fuchs Museum

The current Corona Virus Pandemic has changed much - and while my website is primarily about my artwork, I dedicated one page and a blog category to this problem - so visit my web page to find a lot of important information:

CORONA VIRUS RESOURCES

This is it for now - stay save everyone - avoid crowds, wash your hands often and follow the prescribed restrictions - if you are in a risk group, it would make sense to self-quarantine.