Hive-Roller.com Will be Down for a Bit for Bug Patching

in #hive-roller4 years ago

image.png

Had to take the site offline tonight after a bug was found regarding the withdrawal system.

The site will be offline until bug fixes can be applied and tested fully. As it sits users funds are safe and most of the damage caused by the user who found the bug has been mitigated with the amount being stolen being less than 30 HIVE. I'll be personally replacing the 30 HIVE ( 27.985 actually ) stolen from the site when my powerdown comes out. The account that found the bug is @troll3838 who is a resident of Hong Kong, and while they didn't inform me of finding the bug in the withdrawal code and then proceeded to attempt to drain the balance of the site's account I luckily was able to catch them as they redeposited, with the majority of the potentially stolen funds recovered as they attempted to withdraw more. Incredibly lucky that I happened to have the server console open and detected what was going on.. The whole thing could have been far, far worse..

When @troll3838 redeposited I shut the site down to mitigate any more potential theft of funds..

image.png

While the situation sucks and I've got a long ass night ahead of me patching and testing the sites code overall having ended up paying just less than 30 HIVE to have this bug found and brought to my attention is not a bad price. The price could have been far higher had he been able to continue repeating the bug although regardless of the amount of funds lost I'd be covering them from my own pocket. A bit of an eye opener to say the least but good to find this bug now and patch it rather than it be found down the road and have the financial damages be something that would have taken long periods of time to rectify. So thank you to @troll3838 for finding this bug, fuck you for not telling me about it and trying to take the bankroll and enjoy the 27.985 HIVE, Consider it your bug bounty.

In the interest of transparency I've made this post to inform the site users of why the site is down and what happened. While a bit embarrassing to admit a bug like this was found after developing the site for as long as I have been ultimately glad that this bug has been found so I can fix it.

I'll make a post when I get the site back up and running again.. After stringent testing to ensure that the bug has been patched and shit like this can't happen again. Thanks for reading and sorry to my regulars for the downtime due to this bug. Site will be back as soon as I fix this.


image.png

Vote KLYE for Witness, Every Single Vote Helps, Thanks for the Support!

Need to get in Contact with KLYE?
Join the Official #KLYE Discord Server Today!


image.png
Looking for an Affordable, Secure & Reliable Server Host for Your Witness Server or Other Web Related Projects? Check out Privex.io!

Sort:  

just consider its a bug bounty reward 🤣 also I used 5 hive at first so I only stole 22 kek

lol you fucker!

I mean.. 22 HIVE and a hacker cat is better than being hunted like a dog I guess?

if I sell this bug to other then you lose all

Hell if I would have not shut down the server when I did you'd probably taken it all.. lmao

lol yeah if I did it faster :) also you can't sue me as it takes more than 2400 hive for only apply 🤣 anyways thanks for your hive :)

I'll sue you into a chinese labour camp. :D

Good work on finding the bug though.

thanks for that cat kek

Hacker cat..

I tried giving you a regular cat (by mistake) but you are to special for a normal cat.

I am sure if I tell you I cant get the hacker cat and 22 hive kek

If you told me you'd gotten TWO hacker cats and 50 HIVE.

But noooooo. I had to pwn your pwn by shutting off the server when you deposited. lol

lol two 😂 also 1 country 2 systems so maybe you need to hire the entire CCP to sue me into the camp

Hold on I'm phoning Xi Xiping or whatever his name right now. lol

Xi Jin Ping

a little ad here
hire me to find bug in your site

Maybe when I get the next version almost ready to launch I'll bring you in to red team it. The pay will be shit because I'm poor as fuck but I'm open to the idea.

maybe my payout is your voting power 😝

I am fine with shit payout as I only get 0.24 hive for my hive power so I power down it kek

Sounds good. I'll let you know when I get closer to the v0.8.0 release and bring you in to try and hack my shit again. :P

When @troll3838 redeposited I shut the site down to mitigate any more potential theft of funds..
at least you have IQ < 100 kek
but if I didn't deposit and withdraw 100 HIVE then your lose will be 222 HIVE
that's why life is gambling