Say hello to the newest dolphin on Hive 🐬

in #hive2 years ago

Hive’s Newest Dolphin 🐬

FINALLY AT 5K HP


36E63622-E0A0-4BDD-B1F4-06D1D67FEA93.jpeg

Well, well, well. Say hello to the newest Dolphin on Hive. I set out a target of 5k HP by the end of July and, even though I missed the original target date, I’ve finally hit it today. While sipping on my cup of coffee and looking through some Hive posts, Peakd alerted me that I had some unclaimed rewards. “Ohh, I wonder if it’s enough to push me over the 5k mark”, I thought to myself. I had about 5HP to go, and looking at the rewards, at the current HBD/Hive exchange rate in the market, it was just enough to do the job. As such, I quickly did the trade in the internal market and powered up. So, ladies and gents, I’m now a Hive Dolphin after nearly two years of blogging :)

“But hold up Ade, you’ve been here longer than two years. Also, weren’t you an Orca at some point?”

Ah, yes. You’ve been paying attention. Indeed. I’ve been a big guy on here at some point. I reached my peak just as the hostile takeover happened on Steem. I must have had nearly 150K steem at the time. I was also lucky to have powered down most of it by the time we forked, so I had a huge chunk of liquid which I was able to sell in in the market. I didn’t actually profit much from it, since most of it I purchased with my own fiat in the first place. I really believed in the old blockchain before it all went to shit. Sadly, I also had to help pay some huge medical expenses for a family member which took most of the money.

Anyway, that’s all water under the bridge now. I decided to take a different approach to Hive than I did with Steem. Instead of buying back in with fiat, I decided to be a creator and build like many have on this platform. From scratch. So, one blog after another, showing up regularly and enjoying the process, for two years or so, I’ve finally become a Hive dolphin! 🐬

Hopefully this is encouraging to anyone that’s just starting their journey on Hive. Sure, there are some people that get massive support from big accounts no matter what they post, but if you look at my posts, I get moderate support that is possible to achieve for nearly anyone. I’ve been on the platform for a long time, so I’ve made some connections, of course, but I think anyone can get to the same level by interacting in the right communities.

I’ve also completely stayed away from drama. There can be a lot of that on here and I was in it deep on the old platform. I even enraged the largest whale on here, and it was quite the eventful time :)

Many thanks to all the people who have supported me over the last few years; constantly interacting and upvoting. I’ve also been inspired by certain people on here who are so consistent and diligent with their posts. I won’t list the names because I’ll probably forget some of them :)

This is to bigger and great things on Hive. Next target, 10k. Let’s hope it doesn’t take another two years haha. But if it does, it’s ok. I’m having fun.

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

Hi Hive dolphin🐬, congratulations!!!
Lovely milestone:)
Greetings from Prague!

Thank you :D

Movin' back up old friend!

There is something extra rewarding by building it up organically through content creation and curation. More duplicatable for new users too who all cannot afford to spend fiat.

All but a handful of mine is from content and curation. Never made it to 150k but slowly headed there!

Thank you! Yes it feels really good. It's the digital version of building your own house haha. Mind you if the price of Hive suddenly went to 10 cents or something, I don't think I'd be able to resist going in with a little fiat haha.

Congratulations! Technically you are not a dolphin until you have 10 million vests, but 5000HP is a nice round number. You will get to 5500 (or whatever is needed) pretty soon.

Have fun!

!PIZZA

Party pooper 😂
.. I think I remember some technicality about that. Oh well, having fun with it hahah.

It's down to HP being inflationary, but round number milestones count too. You'll get alerted by Hivebuzz when you reach the official number.

!BEER


Hey @adetorrent, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

New guy made it to 5K! ;) You started over just to show us all how bad ass you are really....we know what you were up to my friend, hahahaha.

Hahaha. Yes captain, you know how it is 😅
Mind you, apparently, I’ll have to do this post again soon since I’m not technically a dolphin yet due to “inflation”. I need more HP than back in the day. Something around 5500 🤦‍♂

Congratulations bro, I guess, we can have setbacks in our lives and it steers us to a different course in life. I believe building for a longer time might help increase your stake. A flagon of ale 😄😄

Thanks bro 🙌🏾 Forward ever

Wohoo, great milestone, congrats! Well deserved. Stepping away from drama is the best wealth-preservation method on the blockchain. I don't like the constant fear of having an account completely destroyed if we say something unpleasant, but that's how it is.

Now up to 10k!

Thank you!! I hope 10k comes sooner. It's often the case, the first 1k is harder than the next 10k. It gets progressively easier like a snowball.

Drama free blogging is also good for the health in real life bro. Peace of mind haha.

Peace of mind indeed! The other day I saw one of those cartoons, one character asked the other "what's the secret for happiness." "Avoiding arguments," the other said. "Oh yeah but bla bla bla." The other said: "I agree." \o\

ahahah. nice one.

Congrats on your achievement, man! You deserve it.

There are indeed some accounts that receive much attention and payouts without posting anything particular, which can be discouraging for some people just starting here, but there are some people, like you, that receive regular average payouts which builds up their accounts with a very good pace. This can be very stimulating. Wish you even faster growth from now on!

Best wishes!

Thanks for all the support ☀️

Congratulations buddy. New Dolphin in town

Thank you. Swimming into the deep sea 🐬

I find this inspiring and i relate to what you said about really believing in the old chain. Felt very deflated after all that and have made some half ass attempts to get back going on hive.
I started on Steem with a 90 day post streak. I have been debating going back to the grass roots and doing another 90 day streak with hive. Lol… so much commitment. But reading this post has added a bit of gas to my very small and pathetic flame….lol… but who knows… doesn’t the saying go a butterfly flaps its wings and the whole world burns down…or something like that 🤣

Dude! I saw an old DTube comment from you the other day and wondered how you were doing. Yeah, those were the days. Mind you, I wish I had spent more time actually posting than on discord haha.

And yes, you nailed the butterfly quote bro! haha

Nicely done! I was excited enough to become a minnow about 2 months back. Tell you what, it’s the people who’ve been here awhile and write engaging content that encourage me to carry on. Fuelling my ideas. You going to the meet up in London on the 6th September?

Thank you. Yes, most probably. It's my city, it would be a shame to miss it.

Congratulations Ade, 2 years is pretty good going tbh. Well done old chap. 👍🏼
Are you going to Amsterdam for hivefest? It would be great to get together and catch up.

I've been taking it easy for a while recently (5 months almost) and posting sporadically both here and on the tubes so I know you weren't writing about me with this quote 😂

people on here who are so consistent and diligent with their posts

I've been in a bit a slump? Don't know why and don't really care which was beginning to bother me. So I just started doing what we do...again!

I noticed your YouTube channel had a, what will we call it?...a makeover.

Let me know how you're doing bud.

Michael

I'm in London until tomorrow and then I'm off again up north. This time I'm determined to get to Scotland.

Hey!
It's understandable to take a break from all this stuff. It's been a bit of a rough one for most people to be honest. At least we got a proper summer this year.

Amsterdam is still 50/50. I haven't bought my ticket yet for a start. I'm trying to buy it with crypto (not Hive), and I'm only a few rewards away. Probably another week or so. Also there are real life factors that may prevent me from going. We shall see. I'm a last minute guy anyway.

I hope you make it to Scotland :). I hope your'e not hiking though haha.

We made it to a stunning place called Rothbury in Northumberland and tomorrow we head up into the highlands of Scotland.

I'm still 50/50 on hivefest. I'm like you in respect of last minute decisions.
That's how I got to hivefest in Lisbon 😂

It was a lot of fun though.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steevc(1/5) tipped @adetorrent (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!