3 years on Hive!

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

3 years ago to this day, I joined Hive.

img_8480.jpg

Well, technically it was Steem, but as we all know; the beating heart of the community was given a name, and it was Hive.

(I’ve written a bit of an essay here it seems. I got carried away, sorry)

I joined the platform on the 10th January 2018 just after the huge all time high, which was around the $3 mark.

The idea and concept of the place - and crypto in general - was introduced to me by my friend @anarcotech. He did a huge amount to help me integrate and quickly become a useful part of the community through my video work - helping to produce videos for various blockchain initiatives like the Andre Gray Football Academy, the London Crypto Show and the Oracle-D project. All great projects started with himself and @starkerz (now of the @3speak platform)
I’m grateful for that incredible intro to crypto.

Whilst with Steem I also met the guys from @ecency early on who pitched at the London show, as well as awesome vlogger @adetorrent, the great mind and bloke that is @fredrikaa and a few other people who seem to have since left the blockchain.

On the 25th March 2020 I officially made the move to HIVE as we know it 😁
Weirdly it seems much longer ago that that.

img_8483.png

People

I saw blockchain, crypto and this social platform as a place to learn new things, discover more about crypto, to look in to the future and to make investments.
And that’s what I’ve done.

However I’ve also met new people because of this community. One of the highlights was back on May 11th 2019 for the SteemCampUK2 meet-up.
It was a fantastic day and I so miss doing that. The 2020 event was cancelled for obvious global fuck up reasons...

img_8482.png

I was chuffed to meet @redrica @shanibeer @lloyddavis @slobberchops @revisesociology @dronegraphica @gillianpearce, @goblinknackers, @steevc, @rod.crisafulli (RIP chap) @teodora. It was a fantastic event!

I hope 2021 can offer us an opportunity to do this again?!

Looking back I’ve written about a whole variety of my experiences.l in work, art and life.
It’s actually not incredibly cringeworthy to look back on, which is refreshing!

2020 as a year has been incredibly insular and uneventful from a project point of view with Hive.
I hope to regain that fire to help shout about this place again.

My ambition with Hive is fairly relaxed.

It’s the ONLY place I use as a journal for my work and little bits of my life. Nowhere else have I written about my work like I do here. I have posted at the very least once a week - for the last 3 years. I usually average about 3 posts per week. Which is incredible really. It’s become a huge part of my life. I never thought I’d keep going like this, but it’s quite addictive.

Over time I’ve amassed a not-insignificant amount of HIVE and Hive Power too, which I’ve both earned and bought.
Looking back 3 years ago, as a newbie with 15 hive to my name, I was gobsmacked at accounts that had 10,000 HP. And here I am with double that. Wow.

I appreciate everyone who has supported my journey by commenting, upvoting and engaging in ways that help genuinely keep me sane.

Some accounts I enjoy

While I’m at it I’d like to mention some accounts that I enjoy reading here on Hive:

@slobberchops for his fantastically entertaining and detailed account of his numerous Urbex adventures!

@revisesiciology for his insightful take on finance, especially in looking at how he can make his money and assets work harder to fulfil his lifestyle goal. Plus his accounts of Portugal are interesting!

@knowhow92 for his incredible skate manoeuvres and letting us follow his journey! Also his work building @skatehive has a been a joy to watch and follow. Some seriously cool people a part of that community!

@homeedders is a wonderful community that curates content from home educating families. A very worth while account to follow if you’re interested in that world.

@ammonite for the accounts of his amazing sand sculpture work

@theycallmedan is a very inspiring speaker who makes me feel like my involvement with Hive is a worthwhile endeavour with his visionary monologues about technology and the future. Ace.

@leoplaw and is an extraordinary traditional style artist, working with his canvases he shows the process through time-lapse videos with explanations. Very inspiring.

If you can suggest an interesting and consistent account then I’d love to hear some.
There’s loads more but I thought I’d curb the ramble.

The future?

I’ve no plan to leave or stop. Why would I?
And if the future so decides to bestow upon us some kind of price increase in the token based on its incredible utility, flexibility, scale and community - then that will be a most welcome return on investment.
But if not, I’ll still be happy to be here and proud of what I’ve been a part of and seen grow.

Cheers everyone for your engagement and support, and I hope to see some of you again in real life this 2021! @ashtv

Sort:  

Congratulations @ashtv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 11000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Time sure does fly. When you mention that you use #hive as a journal, that is exactly why I decided to open an account in May 2018, to keep a record of my activities during retirement. As time passes and the inevitable occurs, getting dirt thrown on your face as they lay you to rest, a log of what Pop did will be there for the viewing of generations to come.
You mention some of the wonderful people you have befriended on the platform, and although I'm only familiar with a few of them, I have also met some great folks.
@dandays, @melinda010100, @papilloncharity, @plantstoplanks, @splatts, @janie, @riverflows, @intothewild, @tarazkp, @zekjepickleman @lizelle, and @jerrytsusser just to name a few.

The one thing I lament is the fact that it is almost impossible to keep up with all of the wonderful stuff you find here on the #hive blockchain.

Just like @dandays I say thank you for the compliment @thebigsweed, the feeling is mutual!
Thank you for the introduction to @ashtv:)

Always love what you and @farm-mom bring to the chain, @thebigsweed! Happy to be in your list of virtual friends. It really is nice to know we have a spot to share our own little stories and enjoy everyone else's along the way. I still have a tough time getting around these parts as much as I'd like, but it's nice to know there's plenty of friendly faces around when I do! 💚

( It really is nice to know we have a spot to share our own little stories and enjoy everyone else's along the way.)
Especially now when so many restrictions are in place.
@farm-mom and I were just talking the other day about how great it is here on #hive.
It's wonderful to still be able to talk to people like yourself.

Thanks for the comment @thebigsweed, good to meet you.
(I saw and appreciated your comment on @tarazkp post, both the post and comments was interesting)

Indeed, I do see it as a journal. Both something to look back on and something for the present. It’s a great neutral platform with a interesting community - what’s not to like!
Plus the rewards are a nice bonus.
I know some of my peers don’t like the idea of it just being a blogging site, which I agree that it is (and can be) a million times more things; but how it’s set out and for my purposes, it works well.

It’s good to get to know people on here - I’ll check out those account you mentioned 😁

Let’s hope there’s a few more years left in this place 🤞🏻🙌🏻

If @thebigsweed is expecting a follow up to that response, he's out his mind.

img_4214.png

Very nicely written @ashtv, about a sh🤫load more positive articles like this doesn't sound bad at all. Congrats #3.

Cheers @dandays! I’m positive once in a while

I for one really appreciate the positivity, read quite a few 'downers' of late that have me feeling doubht.

I’m pleased its being read in the positive tone!
Yeah there’s a fair bit of gloom right now. It’s hard to break out of

I realize so much more can be incorporated into the #hive blockchain. For those working in the trenches, to develop their ideas and passions, I say thanks, but ALL of that tech stuff is WELL above my paygrade.
Only time will tell what some of these dreamers will come up with.

IMG_4221.JPG

Nice!

Wow, three years, that's great!
That was a good day back in 2019, glad you're still here, posting, enjoying and finding it valuable. I have the sense that we've only just started. I used your work for inspiration when I was introducing a young film maker to Hive - he hasn't made it yet (too involved with University and film-making) but it opened his eyes to the possibilibities.
Here's to another three years - if it's anything like the last three years, we're in for a ride!

Wow that’s fantastic you showed some of my work to get a young filmmaker interested :)

Yes indeed, let’s hope for growth of all kinds over another 3 years. Thanks for the comment

Happy blockchain birthday buddy and thanks for the mention and your kind words! Appreciate it!

My pleasure!

Time is flying by and I am still excited about what Hive can be. Thanks for sticking with it. I really hope we can have a UK meetup this year and make plans for more projects. Wishing you all the best for 2021.

!BEER

Thanks! Yes there’s lots to still enjoy and be excited about. Let’s keep positive about the future

Congrats my friend 😁👊 top man in top community!

Cheers dude!

Thanks for mentioning Ecency. 🙏 Learn more about Ecency, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @ecency as well!

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

My pleasure :)
Ecency is all use to post and I appreciate the app update

🚀 Time flies, great to have you with us 🤗

Happy 3rd anniversary! Isn't it strange now this place becomes somewhere to be more personal. I find the anonymity helps me be more open when I write. Bravo btw, posting 1 to 3 times a week is very dedicated and I wish I could find more time like I used to as I miss engaging and sharing with the community, I'm sure I'll get back to it someday though. Anyway, here's to another 3 years at least!

Thanks for kind comment pal!
Yeah, it’s right what you say about this being more personal..

I don’t really use Facebook and I only very rarely post my thoughts or adventures of what I’m up to on there for my friends to see.
It always feels a little shallow to do that.. bombard them with my stuff. Like ‘HEY LOOK AT WHAT IM DOING AND HOW GREAT I AM’
I mean, they’re my friends and family - I have a close relationship that isn’t work based. I’m keep connected to them outside of FB posts in chats etc.
But Hive is a public place to talk about my triumphs and disasters without feeling like I’m showing off or bombarding.
It is a unique and neutral place where IF someone wants to learn about what I’m up to, then they can just one here and see, they don’t even need to log in!

Indeed, let’s hope there are another 3!

Very well said, Ash. Keeping those closest in the loop shouldn’t be done via social media, I can’t agree more. Hopefully we will get to share a beer at a hive meet-up someday In the future.

Cheers and thanks for the comment.
It’ll be beer-o-clock at some point in the future!

Thanks for the shout out. We do indeed love our homeschooling fam! 😁

My pleasure!

Happy to see you are still here, but you should have come to Halifax in September... what happened?

Still here! Yeah I know, I was really gutted about Septembers Halifax meet-up. I would have been there it’s just that I had a job on that day.
I couldn’t cancel or turn down the job, sadly.

I did comment on the event post about my absence.
I look forward to the next!

Ah, Halifax. It's been about a year now. They're so frikkin helpful there!

Halifax, West Yorkshire or Tennessee?

West Yorkshire.

Hope we're talkin England

We'd made a few stops around there before getting locked down. Needed the Halifax records building to acquire my wife's dads birth records—ended up spending 30 days there in Brighouse. Good times man.

My 3rd year is coming up soon as well. I can't wait.

Mega! It’s a rather large chunk of time, eh? Congrats

Nice meeting you @ashtv, thanks to my friend @thebigsweed's shoutout:)
Much like you, I've used Hive as a kind of a journal, although I do share more of what goes on in the kitchen and our bnb;)
Congratulations on your 3rd Hiveversary (is there such a word???) and continue the journey!
This has been the one place where we don't have to practice social distancing;)
Hive on!

That is indeed a word and I wish I had used it!

That pretty detailed and well presented 👍🏼👌🏼

Cheers! Maybe I wrote a bit too much...

Too much is fine now and then, as long as the content is being delivered 👍🏼✊🏼

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.


Hey @ashtv, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Ah, such happy memories of the meet-up in 2019. Oh those heady days when we could travel as we pleased!

Hopefully it won't be too long until we can do it again. I haven't been outside Sussex for over a year now. Talk about chomping at the bit!!

There's a couple of accounts in your list that I've not come across before. I'm looking forward to checking them out.

Wishing you another great year on Hive to add to the last 3 and looking forward to meeting again in future in the not too distant future. 😍

Oh wow, you have been very faithful to the lockdown! I’ve only left West Yorkshire on two occasions - both for jobs.
Other than that it’s usually no more than 3 minutes from the house 😆

Yes we must remain in hope that 2021 will be able to bring us all together again for another fun day!
Take care!

Hey, thanks for the shoutout. I think I am here for about 3.5 years now. Where does the time go. I know what you mean about this place becoming addictive, I have exactly the same and it consumes most of my online time I know it is time well spent for all the knowledge excitement and fun it has brought to my life. We also used to have meetups here in Dublin and I hope those days will return. Although I don't get to post as often as I would like I hope that 2021 will help me get more focused.
This Pandemic has been very difficult for creative people but Hive has been a great creative outlet for me personally and I'll still be here chugging away long into the future, through the ups and downs.
I have a few video projects to upload soon. I really miss making movies also and hope to one day return to that world.