My second week promoting #hive: Weekly report

in #hive4 years ago

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5v4rfuehQsoVtukrb5zwdXbo5aA1Ad39Ag3xeAuev6ZKf2AYqxQGkx2QANAG11sTwgr8yHZF8qeccop3582.png

Its been two weeks since I started promoting hive within my space and i must say I have not felt this good in a long time. I bring you my report for week two. This past week was quite eventful.

Achievements

Last week I had a goal of on boarding 1 new user a day and I was able to get 8 users on board and 3 of them are active. I was also able to continue my twitter promotion. I joined the hive marketing discord group. @roomservice was able to solve a major problem I was having with delay in verification codes from my
country. He was able to give me a list of referral codes to by pass the whole process of waiting for verification codes and battling with passwords.

My New active members

I was able to get four active members on #hive. They are

1. @cornel20

He is a medical student who works for the Nigerian centre for disease control. He is a sports man and a corona virus warrior. He is the most active of all the newbies I have brought to this platform. He has made over 100 comments and has gotten some followers.
You can read his introductory post [here]

  1. @soroleen1
    @soroleen1 is a cook who specializes in discovering new recipes. He is a medical student in his fifth year in the University of Port Harcourt.
    You can check his introductory post [here]

  2. @belema
    @belema is an engineer in Nigeria. She loves reading articles. I invited her over to hive and she has been enjoying consuming content on hive. You can check her introductory post[here]

Challenges

The first challenge I had was with delay with verification codes and wrong passwords after creating accounts. This challenge has been solved as I said earlier.

The second challenge I have is making this new users stay on the platform. I literally have to call some of them on phone to encour age them because starting anything new is hard and hive is actually difficult to start.

The next challenge is mentoring. It is difficult to carry all of them along. I actually have to message moderators on discord to ask them what it entails for a post to be regarded as quality content in different types of write up.

Plans for the week

I intend to halt the process of recruiting new users and focus on the old recruits.
I also intend on giving them task on what to do and getting them addicted to the platform. I have started with a few and they are doing fine.

I intend on rewarding them with some basic rewards like subscribing dustsweeper for those who meet the task.

I intend on creating a Whatsapp group(as this is what most people know how to use) before transitioning them on to discord.

Shout out

I can't end this post without appreciating those who have encouraged the newbies on this platform so far with theor upvotes and encouraging comments.

@steevc is one of the men I am immensely grateful for. He has supported every new user I have brought to this platform. I can't ask for more . My words fail me.

@joetunex is another person that is always willing to leave a comment and upvote anytime I draw his attention to them. Thank you for all you do for the community

@traciyork is just everything. She comes in when you tag. She goes as far as tipping some of them. I am immensely grateful for the thing you do for this community.

I can't write this list without calling @nathanmars. He does everything concerning promotion of hive. He retweets everything that has #hive on it. He is a person that constantly motivates me to do what i do for this community.

Big shout out to @josediccus. I owe you a visit some time this year .. You have been wonderful from supporting my post to encouraging newbies to dropping motivating content.

@mistakili .. You are simply amazing. You go to their post and engage them.. Crack jokes and even make them feel comfortable on their arrival.

@chekohler has been sending tips silently to some of the newbies. I came across it when i was checking a newbies wallet. Thank you so much.

I also want to appreciate @roomservice for trusting me with the codes and setting upI the website in such a way that one can use verification codes. He did it on request.
I appreciate every other person that is not on this list that has done their fair share in promoting hive. Thank you so much for the support.

What can you do to support the newbies?

You can support the newbies by engaging on their post. If it is not quality enough, suggest how they can make it better.

Go to the #introduceyourself tag and vote and comment on their post. The first impression about a community is what determines if people will stay or leave.

If you are a moderator, search for quality content from newbies and if you see a newbie doing something wrong, you could correct them by leaving a comment.

I will like to end with a quote from @joetunex

We owe it to ourselves to make hive great.

Do your part to help in the growth of hive.

If you have any idea that can help with recruiting and retaining new users, please drop your comments in the comment section.

Screenshot_20200706160939.png
This is a Whatsapp message of me giving @cornel20 a task based on what he likes to read about

Thank you for reading my blog. See you next week.

Sort:  

LOL why you checking out my wallet? I'm trying to be a silent tipper don't give away my secrets

Carry on being a silent tipper and @bhoa will help blow the horn 🤣

Lol sure is a little snitch, can't get anything past him, his like the Sherlock Holmes of HIVE

🤣 some of us reside on Hive you know

I was checking a newbie's account not yours.. thank you for all you do

Lol I just want people to be encouraged to use HIVE, 😂

@cornel20 has definitely been amazing, I hope he can post more so I can support him from time to time

I hope he can too.. however he wants to engage more and get some nice following too

Thanks very much @josedicuss. I really appreciate all the help, advice and guardiance you have offered me since i joined into this community. Greater achievements boss

Thanks for such an awesome shout out, @bhoa - you totally made my day! Thanks as well for everything you're doing here on the blockchain & Twitter to onboard, encourage, and engage new Hive community members - with people like you & the awesome people you mentioned above, we'll be able to take our blockchain to the masses in no time!

@tipu curate

Words can't describe how grateful i am to you for all you do

Good idea about the WhatsApp group that should help you guys stay in touch and inspire each other. You doing super great bro. It is also good to take a breather and focus on the new friends you have brought on board until they are independent.
You are the man @bhoa

Thank you so much

You are welcome bro, many thanks to you.

I think that this is where communities will play a big part for retaining users. They need somewhere to be seen and get engagement to stay active.

It's why I have started a #500wordsaday community for people to get used to posting daily and where i can comment and give out a few up votes to them. Smaller niche communities give people a far better chance of being seen at the beginning and staying active once they have a taste for posting.

Im in total support....can I have a link to the cpmmunity please?

This is so nice.. Will push most of the newbies there to get them to participate in this community

I don't have the biggest vote but working to grow it every week.
As for the rest it's good to have a starting point for new users and this community won't be too serious. They just need to write.

This is a very good initiative.. keep it going bro

Im glad youre having a good time and getting a hang of the ecosystem dont forget u can always reach me anytime for any questions. Make sure you keep your engagements up. I love your ginger. Nice work man .

Cheers

Thank you so much for all the enencouragement

This was awesome and very thorough! Thanks for writing it.. RE-blogged.

Thank you so much.