Can we just say a thank you?

in #hive3 years ago

The more I learn about Hive, the more I'm blown away by the things going on behind-the-scenes.

Can we just say, "Thank you," to the folks that are running the hidden underpinnings of the Hive chain?

I'll say it, "Thank you."




Thank you Hive devs.

Anyone can join Hive, then shoot out a blog post. That's great and growth is what we want! And, some can fiddle with things using the tools that are in place on Hive. Such scaffolding is great too. But, there are a few gifted souls who actually build and maintain these foundational tools that we mortals use.

The skill of these people amazes me. Understand, these folks could be making 6-digit salaries easily in the corporate world (with 401ks, pensions, and Christmas bonuses). They likely could hold a job that would be essentially bullet-proof...they can do things that very, very few others can do. The C.E.O. might not like them because they tend to have hard edges and hard opinions. They need these to survive. That C.E.O. would love to see them behave more like the smiling "V.P. of Community Relations" or, to simply go away. But, that C.E.O. would need this person. (The vice-versa would not apply!) Despite an awesome potential career in the corporate world, and as far as I can tell, these folks spend most of their time working on Hive.

Some of these folks, maybe most, benefit economically from the Hive ecosystem. This is wonderful! Incentives are what drive an entrepreneurial system. Perhaps contrary to current trends, I am not one to shame success or profits as somehow being greedy. I applaud success. And, last time I checked, profits are a good thing. If you built something and profited off of it...good for you! I'm happy for you!

Why would anyone turn down that lucrative job and pension to do this? I could be wrong, but here's my guesses:

  • These folks have a libertarian strain running through them that says, "Don't tread on me. I'll do my own thing, thank you."
  • They're entrepreneurs and like to make a profit.
  • They've bought into decentralization and changing how things work.
  • They just like to build and make things work.

Names will not be named here in giving thanks because I would certainly and ignorantly omit someone. However, if you're around Hive much, and if you keep half-an-eye on the witness and dev side of things, you can see names of who's at work and who's making things happen.

These are the people are enable you and I see post stuff like this. And use other front-ends. And use Hive-Engine. And check stats. And make NFTs. And...

So, again, "Thank you to those operating the gears and pulleys that make Hive run."


Not on Hive? The top benefits of the Hive blockchain: (1) no ONE person/group runs it, (2) YOU own your content, and (3) YOU earn the rewards your that content generates. Learn more or consider using my referral link to get your free account here.

:)