Choose Your Path Carefully

in #hive4 years ago


source

I was reading a post by @tarazkp last night and find it amazing that users don't still get it. Users questioning why they won't be supported if they constantly power down. I do understand and that some users are in difficult financial situations and have little or no choice.

What I find though is that I cannot and refuse to support users powering down all the time. Where is the future in that as those users don't have a future on Hive and they don't get it. At some point the whole concept on here is going to change and they will be left behind with no earning potential. The monthly power downs will just become nothing as they themselves have no value as stake. It took me 6 months to break through and receive regular support as the older users were a little more careful on who they supported. I don't blame them and think similarly as I have seen so many people come and go.

Hive is a two way street where users support each other. The idea is that everyone grows at various rates and in time everyone is offering some sort of value in their votes whether it is just used for curating or supporting others. I know many accounts that have come and gone and then suddenly only to reappear with nothing at stake expecting to carry on where they left off. Things change and you only have so many chances before you blow your reputation.

Why anyone would support someone who has been on Hive for 2 or 3 years and only has 1000 Hive or less is mind boggling. The same thing happened over in @sportstalksocial with users milking the system and selling every token they could get their greedy paws on. People tried to justify their bad behavior saying it was everyone's choice on what they do with their stake. Agreed it is your choice but then others have the choice to support you or not and many turned their backs on users who hit the exchanges on a daily basis.

I used to spend over 8 hours a day growing my account so whatever I staked cannot be wasted on users who are here for a free ride. I think if they at least staked 50 percent of their rewards others may think differently and support them. The aim was always to hold value and be able to offer support to others who have supported me so I cannot justify a vote to a user who doesn't think along similar lines.

The happenings over at sports was a perfect example as those users have mainly vanished leaving a few bad actors left. The price has stabilised and is on the way back up again. The plundering made the price plummet and has taken 6 months to recover. I think over the next 6 months with less rewards being paid out on posts now the price will slowly claw it's way back up. The days of earning 200 000 tokens on a post have gone and very few can achieve 100 000 now unless supported by other users who have staked.

I haven't looked but I expect other tokens on the Hive Engine to go through this cycle so staking is the way to go and ride out the low prices. I do believe there are some tokens that could be worth something over the next 5 years so why sell for peanuts when they could have real value.

People will do what they do and won't ever change until they see they are not receiving support. These accounts will always be around until mass adoption happens and then they will be swamped and lost. I am happy to see they are in the minority as we need more good accounts staking if we want Hive to go up in value at some point.

Sort:  

I agree entirely, a review of my autovotes and changing out anyone whose been powering down is on my to do list, actually it's now on today's to do list!

LEO is probably the community with highest hold rate - despite a fairly large dump today, but that's been the first in a long time! People hold that token like crazy! It's been torture trying to pick up some more at a decent price.

Maybe I should make doing a power up league a starting project for my so far very lame attempts to get my head around Beem and reward people with upvotes accordingly.

Having said that I am thinking of powering down to put half my stake into a second account for security purposes. But that's entirely different.

These people need to understand that in order for them to earn, someone, or better yet, the others have to keep their stake as otherwise their vote will worth nothing.
Cashing out everything and expecting support, Irvin some cases demanding support is just selfish.

Usually when I am considering following a new person the first thing I do is look at their wallet and see if they are growing their account or just taking all the rewards. That is a big deal breaker for me. You need to be investing in the platform if you really care about it. I am not saying you need to power up 100%, but at least a percentage...