Just Wrong

in #hive4 years ago


source

I have been reading about the new hard fork going through on Steem and what is going to happen. I hope for everyones sake it doesn't as it is plain and simply wrong. Taking someones stake is theft and everyone I gather on the list has had a positive impact on Steem over the years.

Crypto doesn't need this type of publicity and is proof it is still in its infancy. If there was mass adoption all around and this happened shit would hit the fan. I do blame Ned for what happened and left everyone to the wolves instead of being a man about things and coming out and explaining himself.

From my understanding they see it as an eye for an eye for doing the soft fork and taking the Steemit Inc stake away. Surely now we are away from the block chain it could be negotiated to hand it back then leaving all the accounts they have frozen to be unfrozen and to continue. This surely is the only civilised way forward. Otherwise can that account be unfrozen and handed out to whoever has lost their stake.

I think what is happening is reckless and stupid and I am not joking people have died for a lot less. Online I would never pull this type of stunt as you have no idea who is behind the screen on the other side. If I had lost loads of stake like these accounts have I honestly don't know what I would do. Actually that is a lie as I know exactly what I would do as I wouldn't accept this outcome.

I don't know what else to say as it is crazy things are ending this way. I have only got to know a few of you and I for one appreciate what you have all dome for this place. @themarkymark and @theycallmedan have helped me so much with their support over the last year and being singled out on a hit list is mind blowing. All I can say is thank God we have Hive as could you imagine if we were all still stuck with this shit going on.

I don't have the answers for this and will have to see if the hard fork does go through first or not. I am sure it will which has to be illegal as it is pure theft.

Sort:  

$5 million dollars worth of STEEM to kill a chian with a marketcap of what $116,691,869, its just dumb, but we should look at it as STEEM doing HIVE a favour, they about to destroy their entire project

They are doing Hive a favor by being stupid. Everyone is powering down and staking on Hive from what I can see or most of them anyway. Made Splinterlands move which is a good thing as well.

I cannot imagine how it could be for the guys who invested hundreds of hours of their life along with important sums of money into something they trully believed in just to have it all taken away so easily. Sad day for crypto.

Not hundreds of hours but thousands of hours and some invested $100 000's of dollars so it is very real and painful. I have a small stake compared but know what it means to me from just the time taken to get it to this point so a monetary value cannot be placed on it really.

I wonder how long will Steem survive after all this and what are the legal implications. It's a war they shouldn't have started and a really bad move.

I think Steem will still survive as Justin has no choice but to keep propping it up. It is strange that coins with no real purpose still survive somehow.

It's not really an eye for an eye though. They froze the stake to make sure it wasn't going to be used in a bad way. This is outright theft. This is truly a sad time and I can't believe how the price of Steem is pumping right now. Seems like it should be going the other away.

No one cares about what is going on the blockchain as this is an investment. You would think they are related but aren't. Something just happened so the funds may have been saved from what I hear lol. Look on twitter.

Okay cool, I will check it out.