Sportstalk OCD Incubation Curation Update And What Is Happening

in #hive3 years ago

New sports topic this week for those interested in writing something being #crazysports. Feel free to join in the fun and lets see what we can find.

Another week ticks by and the numbers are still rising gradually which is a good sign. We saw 11 new accounts join the sports community this week taking our tally up to 880 and an overall increase of 158 in just 9 weeks. The target of 1000 by December 31st is still achievable and only need 24 members per week. Getting close will do for now though as any new members are welcome.

As weeks go I would say this was a fairly quiet week and have been openly hunting for new authors to curate. Many are not exactly what they seem however and unearthed a few plagiarists this week with the help of Hivewatchers. Please pop into discord as the list is there for you to go and downvote the abusers which looks like one account with many alts. Please, please be careful on what you vote as you are supporting this behavior even when it is unintentional.

The one account was posting multiples times per day on many sports and they were decent articles as they were not his own and were just being Google translated. He is not alone and the hunt is on to weed out the bad guys in the community.

This unfortunately is affecting who is also getting curated right now as new users don't just get curated when possibly they could. One post was put through and rejected so I have to be careful on what is submitted. Sports is not alone and many other communities are facing this very issue right now. It is sad that this type of behavior happens, but it does. Sports went up in price not by much and this is what happens.

I have been thinking of a new post topic to try and change things up and lets see who can find the wackiest craziest sport out there right now. The Russians have a few with their slapping contests and the team fighting to the literally last one standing so there must be loads. I found one the other day and need to hunt for it again.

If you find one and write on the sport then use the hashtag #crazysports. These are normally interesting and good for a laugh if nothing else. The other two we did being #sportingmemories and #sportinginjuries went down very well with many of you submitting posts so thanks for that. Having a topic sometimes helps as trying to find something to write on is not so easy.

Keep writing and posting as a busy community attracts new users to the tribe. Please try and at least do some comments on the posts you upvote as hopefully linear curation will happen fairly soon. I was hoping for some feedback from @patrickulrich as I know the post he did on it a week or two ago was warmly received just by reading the comments.

Sort:  

Oh, I have one that I am going to totally post about tomorrow or Friday. I just saw it on TV the other day and it was blowing my mind!

There are a few and read about one the other day and have forgotten what it was. Will have to go hunting again and who knows may find something else.

link to the community would be nice :D and helpful for others.

I have few questions.. I created a post recently and I used the tag #crazysport. I think I didn't create my post to fit this theme. Or are we just to write any sport-related post and use the tag. I need clarification as I would love to be part of this @cryptoandcoffee

#crazysports is just that and you did a normal sports post which doesn't qualify. It has to be crazy and something different. There is no point in writing on football and just sticking a #crazysports tag as that would make no sense.

Wow. The reply was swift. I love this. Thanks for the feedback. I will work on this.

Although I am still more into football and I think crazy moments in football will fit the theme well.

That could work, but they need to be real crazy lol.

😂..it will be real. I will put my best into it and I hope it tickle your fancy.. I am off to creating 🙈