Tip Of The Iceberg

in #hive4 years ago

Unknown.jpeg

source
Hive has so much more to offer these days as the communities have opened up a new experience for anyone joining. I don't even know what is all here as things are added constantly.

I read on one of the posts yesterday that Hive grew by around 5500 new accounts. I think it was @revisesociology discussing how the platform is growing and breaking down the number of accounts according to their stake.

This morning I was asked by an old work colleague about Hive and what it is really about. Two and a half years ago when I started out on my block chain journey people thought I was crazy as they didn't get the concept. Now the same people are asking questions about the block chain and how they can get involved.

The world has changed drastically and everyone is hunting for a second income or passive income. I am happy to be ahead of the curve being on Hive earlier than the ones arriving now. We don't realise how lucky we actually are as we have already found and kind of understand this place. If we are all honest with ourselves it takes a good 6 months to feel comfortable with what you are doing as nothing is really straightforward.

When I joined there were no communities to join which kind of makes things much easier so the 6 months may take far less today. I remember trawling posts of various users trying to find like minded individuals and something I could have something in common with. That takes time and effort as not everyone is going to be your next best friend.

I at the time couldn't understand why the old timers weren't supporting all the new accounts and only became clearer later on once I had spent time getting to know everyone. The time I signed up and joined was basically after the bull run that sent the token to $8 and had no idea how crazy things must have been. Many users were here to hit and run by filling their bags and cashing out and not thinking long term. One had to show by their actions they were different and why the support took 6 months for my account to start taking off.

I think this is different now though as the new users coming in are looking for additional income as lets be honest 23 c Hive vs $8 is a huge difference. No one is going to get rich by posting once or twice a week and is still going to take a monumental effort to grow at any kind of speed required to make a difference in their lives financially.

After 30 months I would still not make a huge difference if I was cashing out on a regular basis but at $4 or $5 Hive it could if I wanted to. I set out on a 5 year journey to give this place and myself a chance of achieving some type of financial freedom for the future. Whoever joins now will have to be doing and thinking something similar as like anything in life patience is required.

As I said I missed the first all time high's of an $8 token and believe it will happen again and most likely go even higher. This could be 6 months or two years or even longer away still but I am certain it will happen again. I believe the communities have a big role to play as the type of user on here now is of a different class as it is not just an earner on the side but a kind of important part of everyone's day to day life. I see Hive as a community type of hobby where you get to interact with fellow like minded people and that is what makes it fun.

The retention levels in the past were low and I am sure out of the 5500 new members who signed up many will now stay and the hive block chain will grow faster and quicker than we have experienced in the past due to it's multiple offerings and choices according to everyone's preferred tastes.

Sort:  

If we make it to $5 Hive again, we're all going to be very happy with author rewards. Some may foolishly even quit their jobs!

Can we be best friends?

Of course we are all best friends. I do believe $5 is achievable and expect much more the next time the prices go up. I recall posts going over $100 and that was normal for many when the price was at $4-5.

Yeah, I got on steem because I was seeing post paying out $100-1k on the reg!

I have been trying to give out more comment votes than I have in the past. I know it isn't much, but every little bit helps I think.

I think you're right - there is a diversifying user base, and I know people are increasingly looking for side hustles, and Hive just fits the bill perfectly!

Even if the token price hovers around $0.25 it's still more than you'd make on Facebook!

And there's just so much more depth to Hive as you rightly point out.

Weird to think two years ago there was nothing but a few basic front ends and now we have so many choices plus a few games and who knows what is coming next.

We've come a long way for sure!

The future's bright I think.

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

If you can think of any great communities that you are a part of i would appreciate a heads up. I struggle finding any and would like to join some good ones.

I will have a look for you as have joined a few lately.

Hive-gaming is relevant for your post topics.