You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: api.deathwing.me Important Announcement | Anti-Phishing

in #hive3 years ago

A reply I wrote in the comments:

In this case, for transactions, as I mentioned in the post... Some apps do provide "feedback" whenever potential phishing is about to occur. For example, as asgarth explained, Peakd uses a "similarity check" to see if you are sending it to the right exchange account.

Unfortunately, some apps, scripts, bots etc. Do not have this check. For example, Keychain does not detect whether or not you're sending a transaction to blocktraded instead of blocktrades just because you accidentally pressed "D" (which is right beside S in most QWERTY layout keyboards around the world.) -- This implemented feature helps mitigate that. I'd love to give a warning, but there is no Are you sure you want to perform this transaction? system in the codebase. It's True or False, Yes or No. In my case, I decided on creating a blacklist of phishing accounts to protect accidental transfers.