This Made Me Sad

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Not The First Time Either

That good ol' Bernie has pissed off some people. Hell, I've gone back and forth with him a few times. Guess my skin is thicker or something, I seriously thought she would put up a better fight. Kind of sad on that point. The really sad part is, regardless what you thought of her, she was actually trying to help this place grow - which is a far cry from what a lot of you people do with the rewards pool raping and 'cashing out' on a consistent basis. Wonder who the next target will be? Something tells me that - even though any press is good press - this isn't attractive to onboard new users. She was though, and sex sells. Why do you think Leah and Justine are doing so well? I guarantee you, if they weren't as cute as they are, regardless how brilliant they both are, they wouldn't have half the following. Just human nature.


Can see her Twitter/Periscope 'AMA' here, was depressing.



Read more:
img
Bye Hive | PeakD
I have done my best to express how much I care about Hive, that I am a vocal advocate for your platform - I've been advo... by cryptofinally

Source: https://peakd.com

Share this post:
fb tw li ri xi tg

Posted using AltYes browser extension.

Sort:  

We failed her as a community.
We let her fly too close to the sun, and her wings melted.

It's not her fault that this community swarms folks.
Until we refuse to vote on posts with more than 5htu in payouts, this is what we can expect.
Some folks get 'overrewarded', and others object.

No point in hiding that from the newbs.
The newbs will be happier without all those 'overrewarded' posts because the votes they do get will be worth more.
Those high flyers take money out of everybody else's pockets.

I am happy to see i am not the only one thinking that way

Technically, they haven't taken anything out of anybody's pockets, but I do agree, they definitely could put more in them. I see HUNDREDS of accounts that often sit on 100% VP and the only time they vote is on a dev post or something relevant. Which is funny, I thought there would be a lot more distribution once Hive was born but no, same people doing the same thing.

People want change, but not to change.
The less stake getting voted the better for the stake that is voting.
Trending looks pretty bleak.

Sad but true friend.

Another fatality by the big B "who's name should we not speak of", where big whales stand aside from when he walks by. Oh well, that is why I do not involvemyself from that issue @enginewitty becauseit seems that its just the same thing before Hive was born :/
I thought it would be different now.

Same people, why would it be any different?😄

I think it's an interesting problem, and some good came out of it. There is talk about coding in blocking at the blockchain level.

Ultimately, her biggest issue wasn't the harrasment, but the lack of emotional support from "famous" people. Which is a pretty low hanging fruit. On the other hand, it's hard for a solution provider to give support on the emotional level without exploring solutions. It does highlight the need for those types of people though.

Like a "Bernie flagged me" support group? LMAO!

You know, that's not a bad idea. Can communities restrict read?

I don't think I'd really want to see blocking at the chain level. That seems like a Pandora's box to me. I really think anything done as far as blocking or muting needs to be done at the UI level.

That said, I thought she'd put up a better fight, too. One of you smart guys might want to develop a 'Bernie Free' front end. The obvious problem with that is: Who is second? For what? And Who decides...

I'm sure a new chain will emerge that is ground zero for everyone soon enough.

hive is growing anyways