You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive: Why I am Considering Leaving After One Week

in #hive3 years ago

I learned a lot from what I read, and also, it is heartening to know that, even someone like you had an "I want to pack up my marbles and go home," moment years ago.

I think one thing that people who have been around for a while don't realize is that a lot of the concepts that seem obvious and everyday are not so obvious. I read things in the FAQ that made no sense to me despite repeated reading until I read what you wrote about them.

I mentioned to you that I think the community could benefit from a wiki. On the one hand, if the wiki has to be written off Hive to be collaborative, people who contributed would not make money, but I think there are a lot of people who might do it anyhow to improve the Hive environment.

That sort of central repository of information, edited by group members, as wikis tend to be, and updated often, would make life so much easier to navigate for newcomers. It is hard to find good, solid information like the links you provided. Many have offered to answer my questions, and I have plagued them with some questions, but the problems are:

  1. I don't want to burn anyone out with my technical questions.

  2. No one person actually has all the answers.

Why do I write such long comments? It is antisocial. Thanks again for your guidance. My main point is, for anyone keeping track (probably no one?), those demystifying Hive links are an excellent resource. Also, I am starting to understand how little I understand. I wish I had known sooner, but better late than never.