3 years On (& Off) The Blockchain - Hivebuzzed!

in #hive3 years ago

20201116_214400.jpg

Three years! Woohoo! You know how I did it? I don't either. The truth is, for much of that three years I didn't.

I joined 'the blockchain' (Steemit) in 2017 right before the big BTC boom. There was just enough time to get my feet wet before all hell broke loose.

SBD was worth much more than a dollar. I think I sold a batch for $12.50 each. Steem was doing well as well, though none of it lasted for very long. We kept hoping with every surge that the Bulls were back, but it was not to be the case.

Off To Work & To Build My Website

There came a point on Steem where I had reached my limit. I wasn't making too much headway with my blog and other responsibilities were calling. Looking back, it would have been a better idea to continue my efforts. Even at a greatly reduced rate, it would have made a big difference.

Screenshot_20201116134838_Brave.jpg

A big thanks goes out to all you Hivers who never stopped publishing. Without alot of people's different efforts, there wouldn't be this blockchain to return to.

While on hiatus from the blockchain, I had a chance to work on my own website and eventually landed a part time job. That job lasted up until a month ago, when Covid demanded I quit to homeschool my son.

A Good Deal On HIVE

At the time of the first hard fork away from Steemit, I was in a prime position to make a move on HIVE. Something told me this time was going to be different. The lockdowns as well as the big drop and comeback of BTC helped make up my mind.

Screenshot_20201116134929_Brave.jpg

I didn't have alot of Steem and hardly any SBD. But I had powered down most of my Steem and HIVE was dirt cheap. Combined with some BitShares I had Hodler, I went all in on HIVE.

That's how I went from a small 450 or so Steem Hodler to a 1750 or so stake in HIVE. That stake has grown with the help of many a vote from good Hivers. It's grown with some of my own funds, boosted by a timely acquisition of 25 LINK.

And Many More

As I've branched out into the tribes of HIVE, my belief in this blockchain remains resolute. More and more of my time is going to crypto blogging on LeoFinance.

That said, there's no denying that HIVE is the driving force behind it all. Without HIVE, the witnesses, and all of us, there wouldn't be any second layer dApps.

And so my attention will always return to HIVE, the mothership. When I need a break from specific topics or just to share my thoughts, I return to do it on HIVE. And I plan on doing it for many more years to come.

Thanks for reading and as always...

img_0.667638925448835.jpg

img_0.044202880788112436.jpg

Images Courtesy Of Pixabay.com
Bottom Image Courtesy Of Hive.io Brand Assets
Want To Join The HIVE Community? Use My Referral Link To HiveOnboard.com

img_0.173777445249642.jpg

Sort:  

And there I was thinking you were a new arrival, because I only came across you recently! 😆 Glad you came back.

Thanks. I'm glad you came across me too. You've been a good supporter of my blogs and you always have some thoughtful discussion to add. It doesn't go unnoticed. 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Happy hiving!
Time flies so fast. I'll be three in a few months.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Ahh. We joined around the same time. Blog about your three years and I'll stop by your post to join the party. 🎊

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

First of all congrats for the 3 years even if it's on and off. I totally get you, as i am almost 4 years and i had my on and off as well a couple of times actually. Even now, i came about 4-5 days ago from a 3 month absent!

Secondly you have to treat us something for the 3 years :P

Finally, i totally agree with your perceptive regarding hive. I have decided to post both in Leo and Hive depending on the type of the post!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for stopping by.

Life has its twists and turns, that's for sure. Especially with all that's been going on this year, I wouldn't blame anyone for some down time.

If I had a look into the future in 2017, I would have blogged every day and built up my HP. 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

i would do exactly the same :P

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

!discovery 25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program