Hive Documentation Proposal Update - Still Not Funded

in #hive4 years ago

My documentation proposal currently has 22 % approval and therefore currently unfunded, just like last week.

So I've been taking a break. I'm helping with anything that needs merging from the rest of the community. But the big time-consuming stuff is just on hold for the moment.

Here's my current proposal approval status:

The way I interpret non-support for this is that there are more pressing needs for the fund. My current theory is that preparing for appeals is more important than documentation, which is fine.

It's important not to take proposal approval (or lack thereof) too personally, although sometimes that's difficult. I have other gigs to focus on if this is not a priority for the moment.

See original announcement: @inertia/proposal-hive-developer-documentation-q2-2020

Sort:  

It seems that there's a pretty high bar to get above the return proposal. I know there are a lot of good projects I'm not supporting since I haven't had the time to vet them.

I actually have supported your proposal, since I think good documentation is so critical to successful open source projects! However, I still have questions about your and other proposals like how we can know if sufficient progress is being made once funded.

I think at minimum, it's good to post a weekly update. I also like using github/gitlab issues to track specific items of work. Prior to hive, I would use github projects for each proposal, e.g.:

https://github.com/inertia186/hivedocs/projects/1
https://github.com/inertia186/hivedocs/projects/2

So anyone who wanted to look in on my progress had that. But it doesn't seem like anyone did. Or if they did, I couldn't tell.

It would probably make sense to create proposals for cross-checking proposal progress, in order to protect investors.

From a quick glance at the projects, I can see that you've delivered on past proposals. So that is helpful. For now I think it's largely reputation based and good record keeping in the past helps grow reputation in the future.

It would probably make sense to create proposals for cross-checking proposal progress, in order to protect investors.

Yes!

I have to admit that I have yet to actually vote on any proposals as I am not really familiar with exactly how to do this. I know PeakD has their little pop-up that comes up when you log in, but that's the only one (and now yours) that I even have seen. Is there a way to see all of the suggested proposals or does one have to just know who is putting them out? I'd like to put together a tutorial for my community so that our users can engage in the blockchain more fully. Thank you for any help you might be able to provide, @inertia.

Hey alchemage, on PeakD you can click on your name and it will drop down a list and near the bottom of the list you can find "Proposals"

Hope this helps!

That is very helpful, @koh - thank you very much!

I agree with dhimmel on the fact that it is mostly about reputation rather than people actually vetting the proposals.

I do remember you were involved massively in the documentation of Steem libraries so I am definitely backing your proposal.

Such important work will receive funding eventually.

Documentation is one of the most important things in the software world, right up there alongside tests. I think sadly the proposals system is more of a popularity contest than people thoroughly and carefully choosing what proposals to vote for (which is what it should be). Without proper and thorough documentation, it makes adoption harder and I don't think enough people realise that. We need proper documentation and not just surface documentation, actual fine-grained detailed documentation that contains no ambiguities.

I think the main reason for the low support level is likely the amount you're asking. People probably assess it relative to other work which is for things like blockchain development.

Also, I myself think that the proposals system could do with some improvements to make things easier for both proposal makers and voters. Right now things seem pretty difficult for both sides.

Historically, it’s not much more than what I’ve asked for in the past, which was accepted.

It’s also far less than what I should be asking, as far as I’m concerned. But maybe you’re right. Who knows.

For what it is worth, I voted for it. Writing all that documentation of code, I am sure is a daunting task. It is a shame that more folks have not approved your proposal. You have provided a great deal of value to STEEM and are doing the same here on HIVE.

You have my support, always have.