Another Reason to Leave HIVE: HTTP vs HTTPS

in #hive3 years ago

There is nothing wrong with HTTP

HTTP allows communication between a browser and a web server, HTTPS encrypts the data to make it secure.

If you don't use HTTPS, sensitive data like logins, online card payments, etc can be gathered and stolen. I get it!!!!

This still doesn't mean HTTP is redundant.

Today I received this reply from @keys-defender, and honestly I was pissed:-

@keys-defender bot crap

It refers to the link http://taramai.nz (non-secure), the sole purpose of this link is to redirect the user to https://peakd.com/@kiwibloke/posts (secure website). The only data that could ever be intercepted and "stolen to commit heinous crimes" is the text link https://peakd.com/@kiwibloke/posts.

I don't need HTTPS

I couldn't care less and anyone else for that matter shouldn't be bothered as well if they click on that link.

This BOT @keys-defender is fearmongering trying to convince everyone on HIVE to use HTTPS by spamming its message into other peoples posts. Now I expect it to show up on every single post of mine, so be it!

The Do-Gooders on HIVE do more harm to this platform, they think that some of us are technically illiterate.

  • with every post comes experience, as we all strive to do better.
  • curate/up vote, let's encourage/reward and inspire each other.
  • as always, thank you for viewing my post.

Sort:  

Hi @kiwibloke, apologies for the disturbance peakd.com should already be in the whitelist. I’ll check what happened - likely a bug.

The auto-comments are already throttled 1/20 and people can opt out simply replying OFF.
If I receive complains I’ll throttle it even further but that does not seem the case so far.