You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Exchange Listings and Communication/PR Proposal

in #hive4 years ago

I have to agree with this.
Without the massive community involvement and every single effort, all these listings and coindesk/cointelegraph articles might not be there, or at least might not be this effective.

The amount asked in this proposal is not in proportion imo.

Sort:  

The first CoinDesk article happened after the initial soft fork, before any "massive community tweeting" took place. So I understand your concern and am not taking away from community involvement, but what I am discussing is much different than that. Perhaps look at articles and timelines, as I don't think many are remembering the timeline of events very well. The initial CoinDesk article broke the story to the space, there was no story before and there was no attention on "tweets". Getting the story covered was important for the community effort to have any effect, which was the point.

So while I again am not trying to downplay the community's role on getting the word out, I'm somewhat confused by this constant comparison... the actions are very different.

Only the article appearance is also not a big deal if the community wouldn't comment, re-tweet and share with lots and lots of people.

You are missing the whole point here. Nobody is trying to downplay you, but lots of people have spent days & nights to spread the word. The whole thing was a community effort.

Of course if you played a critical role with the articles, listings etc. you have the right to ask for a compensation. But the amount you are asking here is huge and out of proportion. At least, that's what I think.

Also the way you build up your story with...

  • ask for compensation for those contributions through the DHF, rather than see my posts be over rewarded on Hive.
  • and amount saved in getting free exchange listings, versus the suggested 150k-300k that would have been spent from either stake holders, or the DHF

Actually I think what we are discussing is not much different. We are talking about the same thing.

Again, of course you're free to create a proposal to cover your hours. But if the asked amount was reasonable, I would also support this.

I'm sorry, but asking this huge amount afterwards also doesn't feel right to me. At some point, you could create a post or a proposal for future work. Now it feels like it is going to be "pushed" instead of "asking". Considering your connections, you probably will get this through though.

Actually I’m not missing the point, I am showcasing why what many are discussing about the community spreading the word and the work I did are very different. I’m not downplaying the community’s role, I’m simply explaining the differences in them.

As far as the rest, thanks for the feedback. My contributions are clear and were a large part in why our market cap increased significantly. If you don’t see the value in that or feel it should have been done differently, fair enough. I actually would prefer to “ask” for compensation after I have proven to be capable to achieve the goals both past and present, rather than some empty promises of what may or may not happen.

My proposal is me asking, consensus then decides. There is no “push” happening. Thanks.

Your contribution to articles and community with each individual effort all combined made this possible.

The comparisons about empty promises versus first delivering results dont make sense to me. I prefer agreements beforehand instead of a 30K bill afterwards.

I value your contribution and things you have done and still are doing. No question about that.

But the valuation of this proposal is not in proportion. There is a significant difference for me between;
“guys I will work fulltime, each day trying to contact exchangess, major news sites to spread the word about hive. Therefore I ask 45 usd/hr for x months.” Where the community knows what it’s up against and what it will cost versus your 30K proposal afterwards which came more or less as a surprise.

Still, thanks for all your efforts.