You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Downvoting; a stakeholder's duty or a stakeholder's option? To me, the notion of duty to mandatory downvoting is fascism at its worst.

in #hive4 years ago

"b) I allow myself to accept different opinions without engaging in meaningless confrontation and most importantly"

I definitely need to improve on this. :-S


By the way, I think that the downvote that you received on previous post may be related to art being a repost. Not sure.
Generally it is not welcome on Hive to repost old content from Steemit as old Steemit's blockchain is a part of current one.
It is also a scope within Hivewatchers that would be considered spam-farming with recycled content.

Unless the reposted artwork/photography has been acompanied by new content such as substantial thought added to it, new story, ideas, etc. :-)

Sort:  

Thank you @logic for your comment ❤️ I don't mind the downvote for reposts,or any downvote that is addressed to my content... after all I added the repost tag and made perfectly clear that I had posted this again 2 years ago to give the option to users not to upvote it. They chose to upvote me in any case. If someone else wishes to downvote my content it is fine. Also as you may have noticed I make no reference to a specific account.

I wrote the post following a chat I had with a couple of old Steem/Hive friends of mine who told me that many users (mostly artists) got downvoted again and again because certain hive members (previously steemit members) target those who don't use their downvote power. Artists of course won't downvote other artists. It's a harsh world already.

Now, I am not sure who hive watchers are and I don't give a damn because honestly post or repost, when it comes to my content at least it's original. I created it and if I wish to share it on Hive, on Steem, on Facebook, on Instagram again and again I will do so because ART is about communication, reaching people in hope that a part of you will touch a part of the audience. It's about exposure.

The $$ earned on these platforms is ridiculous for minnows, and in fact I have always been investing my own money to be able to give a positive vote to my following. Of course when I hear about these endless nerd wars I reckon I need to always cash out my initial investment. Best for them, the big stakeholders, to improve the platform in a way that it is attracting funds.

Adding repost tag is a good way to communicate it. The thing is that most of curators don't read the posts and if they do read some part of them, they seldom look at the tags at the bottom.

The repost thing, even if mentioned is currently considered farming. There was a crosspost feature added few months ago by one community but recently they decided to remove rewards acquired on crossposted posts because of spam and exploitation.

Since we moved to Hive, there have been at least 50 users found who started farming with effortless posts by recycling their old posts. Once certain user does it, others follow as they think that it is acceptable.

In the end everyone would start doing it when it becomes a norm and the platform would become one big pile of recycled spam with no value added. That would go completely against Proof of Brain on which the platform was designed upon.

Facebook cannot be compared to Hive/Steemit. This is a completely different platform. Just as Twitter is.
Also no one is rewarding anyone on FB, Twitter, Instagram like it is on Steemit/Hive.

Hive is made up of at least 70-80% of Steemit user base. Basically vast majority of users moved to Hive. Your old posts from Steemit are part of Hive blockchain. Just exchange steemit.com with hive.io in url. Steemit has become part of Hive history due to shared blockchain up until Hive emerged. All have been reported by the community being angry that someone just spams with effortless posts they already created and got rewards for from the community that is mostly part of Hive community now.
There is no issue in posting the same new post both on Steemit and Hive at the same time, of course. Recycling only relates to posts published on Steemit before it forked to Hive.

I could do it myself. Start recycling hundreds of posts that I have created within years and just farm rewards. I have never recycled a single post.

Artists have been certainly ignored and undervalued. The work is hard and their art has been under-rewarded but I do not think that art related posts should have special licence to recycle.
I don't think it is really a big deal if you repost the same art but add a paragraph or two of new, original thoughts about the content being reposted. This would mean that you add something new to the content.

Hive is miles away from Steemit. There are no more bidbots and many vultures have been eradicated. It is driven by the community in much more efficient and creative way.

I hope that my explanation helps you to understand that problem.

You have been quite elaborate with your explanation and thank you. I don't disagree with you, never did actually that a downvote on a repost is a legit way to express your disagreement on attributing value to an older post. I wrote that this is a repost not only on tags but on the main body as well, so that noone can accuse me of trying to rip off rewards or exploit the system. Actually it was a steepshot post two years ago that doesn't display anymore. I don't believe that artists have been mistreated, on the contrary it has been an opportunity for everyone. My view however is that it is a social media platform with diverse topics displayed, of a very different nature. Of course I absolutely respect your point of view that different content shouldn't receive different treatment.

Now, back to the topic of my post which is mandatory use of downvote... it was a topic of discussion back in 2016, when flagging wars raged, and it is a topic of discussion today. I find this view extremely toxic and dissapointing. I also gave Hive priority over Steemit, but mainly due to many witnesses being my friends and not wanting them to get screwed over... but that doesn't mean I will agree with everything they do or did or continue doing.

To be honest, I have never heard about use of downvoting power as being mandatory. Unless it was a project that got delegation for it from stinc to fight abuse like spaminator or steemcleaners.

It would be surprise for me if such requirement was requested by anyone on Hive. If there is someone who is trying to force you to downvote, please let me know. This is unacceptable.
If you don't want to mention publically, you can find me in Discord.