Get off the Hive treadmill - Love to say I told you so

in #hive2 years ago

Screen Shot 2022-06-17 at 11.29.06.png

There is a saying "I hate to say I told you so" but nobody really hates to say it, we love it! Today I get to say it again.

I told you so.

Hive is just not a good source of income

Many, many times in fact I have said that people shouldn't write on the Hive blockchain expecting that it will directly make them serious money.

Well, I think it is clear that all but a tiny percentage of people with whale friends, or the already whaled up folks, are going to make more than pennies for a while, and certainly way less than minimum wage.

My last post here got a bunch of votes but made me less than $0.5.

Even in the bull market, the post would have made far less than if I had mowed a neighbor's yard.

Has anyone made a decent amount of money on Hive by writing? I don't mean writing to promote a service, farm their holding, NFT sales, or their OnlyFans, I mean from their writing directly? Didn't think so.

Neglecting actual business by chasing crypto

In a way the bear market has been a good thing for me because it snapped me out of the dream that "one day" my sunk costs will turn into a life changing amount of money.

It made me start working on my actual sites that are mine again, and already it has paid off.

My website rankings and traffic are coming back, the invitations to review products are coming back, and my network is growing again. None of those things were happening when I was focusing on crypto.

What to do instead

I am not telling people to quit Hive, just use your time here more effectively.

This is why I made HiveWP.

Build something that is really yours, that you own, get to keep, that appreciates in value. By doing something you are already doing (writing here every day).

Crypto is not dead, it's sleeping

Unless you sell now you haven't really lost anything. Well, I might have lost what is in the Celcius and Coinbase accounts if they go into receivership, but other than that.

Maybe Hive will come back to a reasonable value even this year. Instead of living in hope, though you could be actually building a real asset that is actually worth something today and into the future.

Sort:  

Yeah, I have never thought I would get rich from crypto so I have only ever done what I wanted to here. I have a job that pays my bills so I have never needed to chum for orcas or whales to put food on the table. It's nice when you get the big upvotes, for sure, but you can't rely on them and when the prices drop, unless they are giving you two votes, you will be sadly lacking in the bread department.

When I joined Steemit the Steem price was $4.50 and people kept telling me to buy it because it was going to be $20 in a month. I didn't understand anything about crypto so I didn't buy any but I did notice that I had got to a penny upvote and pretty soon I was at $.002, even though my SP was going up. Luckily I wasn't relying on it is all I can say.

I'm not going back to my WP blogs though. I let my hosting die a week ago and will just stick with Threespeak as my creative outlet and the occasional blog on the blockchain. I have lost the passion to actually write anything. I still write in my head all the time, just no drive to hunt and peck out a post.

Cheers!

It's definitely not new experiencing such price at the moment because prices in Crypto aren't stable but the best option is to utilize the bear market to invest got more profits when the prices eventually goes up

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wannabescrapper.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

A lot of people have made a ton of money, many in the tens of thousands and some even in the hundreds of thousands just by posting. All of them made more than Facebook and Twitter.

As I said before, it takes consistency and like all social media networks it isn’t easy.

Just by posting and without whale benefactors?

Yes. They earned votes by being consistent and posting interesting content.

Other than spammer people you’ve told me about in a negative way or people who have whale benefactors I’ve not seen anyone here in that category, but I’m happy to be wrong. Got any examples?

Quality bloggers tend to pick up whale support over time, but not always! But yeah, you kinda need whales or a lot of dolphins.

Look at Trending and Hot, you will find a lot of people getting support. I used to vote hundreds of unique authors a week until somoene decided to downvote everything I do and everyone I upvote so he can upvote automated posts unchallenged.

A while ago I did a report on top earners and I didn’t find anyone who matches, I’ll dig the code back up and try again

Guess it is all fake then.