HIVE - The One-Legged Horse Who Could

in #hive3 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1624331701.jpg

Look at her go!! Hive is smashing it. Ripping the roof aff the place as my old mate used to say before he found Jesus in a disgusting display of redemption.

We don't ask him out for drinks anymore as surprisingly, for a man who follows a man who was so fond of the sauce that he would turn water into wine, he gave up drinking just as he took up supping from the Lord's cup.

Forgive me. I digress.

So, yes. Hive! Not only is our fine and magnificent baby 1 year old, but she also won an award!

That's right sistas and brother men! An award!

See here for details.

Now, I know no one has ever heard of ADVFN International Financial Awards but that doesn't matter. I bet no one has heard of @hiveio. That's ok though, you have now!

So not just one win to be had today but THREE!! An award, an awesome community-led blockchain social media platform/launching ground for DAPPS thingamajig (That bit is us) but also a well deserved and recognised spike in the price!

And the marketing hasn't even started! That's right, if you hadn't heard that, some fool has only gone and engaged a real Marketing outfit to rub our buckles and spit on our shoes!

The good times are coming. For all of those who have stuck around and continued to stack, some validation at last that all their efforts were not in vain.

This is truly a great day.

But wait, I hear you ask? What the hell do you mean by the title? I clicked this to read about one-legged horse's who could?

Well, read on my friends. I enclose an excerpt of a tale from a very famous but shy and retiring philosopher.


And so it was that the bearded man came to me and said 'Let me offer you armfuls of doubloons to not race your horses tomorrow in the Grand Island Race' and I replied 'Nay, for verily no doubloons shall stay my horses from the race.'

The bearded man became wroth and cursed me as he left.

That night, there was a dreadful whinnying and a neighing from the stables. I thought that the stable boy was tupping the missus again but when it did not stop I hobbled down to where the horses lay.

Alas, the bearded man had sent his minions with slaughter on their mind and our horsen stock had been slaughtered. There was blood everywhere and much slaughter and the horses lay but still.

Except for one, Winifred. She lived yet. Although all of her legs had been cut off except for the front left one. She looked at me with rage in her eye and fire in her belly

I knew she wanted me to enter her into the race and gain great vengeance on the miscreants that had done such a grievous thing. But how?! How could she win with only one leg? My dear Winifred, the Gods themselves have arrayed themselves against you.

Then my eye caught a glimpse of a wicked blade on the floor. It must have been the blade that had slaughtered my horsen stock and left beautiful Winifred with but one leg. I took the knife and went out with murder in my heart.

It was a long night. A long night of blood. They still talk about it now some twenty years later. The streets coursed with the blood of everything horse. They say that the horsen screams could be heard twenty miles away and even now in the darkest of nights. By the end of it, the only horse on that island that still lived was Winifred.

The next day I entered my beautiful Winifred into the race. 'How can she race with only one leg?!' Exclaimed the race-master man. 'You will see.' I muttered darkly.

No other horses were entered for there were no other horses left alive on that island.

The bearded man who had initiated the terrible deeds of that night, gnashed his teeth with rage. 'You still can't win, your horse only has one leg.' he cried with great fury.

I laughed the laugh of a berserk horse killer and lashed my beautiful Winifred by the leg to my Jeep and proceeded to drag her around the race track. Twenty times we rounded the course until the ground was streaked with gore and Winifred skin.

Finally the race was done. I stood there in front of the race-master and collected my coin and medal for winning.

I pinned the medal to one of the scraps of flesh that remained on Winifred and shouted loudly to the audience who stared in silent horror at what they had just witnessed.

BEHOLD! I cried.

BEHOLD, THE ONE LEGGED HORSE WHO COULD!!

And with that Winifred shuddered and died.


Isn't that a fine tale? Don't mind the ending too much, It's Greek, they love a tragedy. So there you have it, Behold HIVE! The one-legged horse who could!!

Hurrah!

Sort:  

You must have read the second edition of the story. In the original edition ... most of you account is accurate until the day of the race.

I laughed the laugh of a berserk horse killer and with the help of the soon-to-be-unemployed stable-boys, placed my beautiful Winifred in the back of a horse drawn cart.

A splintery old yoke was brought out and, using the entrails of the fallen horses, securely fastened around the neck of the bearded man.

I took up my whip and with a mighty crack, the bearded man began to pull. Every time Winifred whinnied, I let loose with another crack of the whip. The only time I let him slow was when he fell face first into a pile of Whinnie's poop from a previous lap. It was only fair to let the spectators have a chance to laugh and throw some rotten cabbage.

Finally the race was done. I stood there in front of the race-master and collected my coin and medal for winning.

I placed the medal around the neck of Winifred and shouted loudly to the audience who stared in silent horror at what they had just witnessed.

BEHOLD! I cried.

BEHOLD, THE ONE LEGGED HORSE WHO COULD!!

BEHOLD, THE ONLY HORSE LEFT ON THE ISLAND WHO IS ABLE TO BREED. GET TO YOUR BARNS AND GET THE SEED FROM YOUR STALLIONS. WHINNIE WILL RE-POPULATE THIS LAND ONE FOAL AT A TIME! FOR A SMALL FEE.

From somewhere in the crowd ... I heard a voice mention that they would take their boat to the mainland and purchase new horses.

It was a long night. A long night of fire. They still talk about it now some twenty years later. The docks stunk with the smell from the smoke of every boat. They say that the glow could be seen twenty miles away and even now in the darkest of nights. By the end of it, the only boat left on that island was fiercely protected by Winifred ...

Hahaha!! This is awesome!! I think you are right and that is most definitely what happened!! I will blame the Romans, they were always messing with the Greeks!! And they could never resist making a new and improved second edition :0D

!WINE


Congratulations, @meesterboom You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINE With @gikitiki.
You Earned 0.300 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24809.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

Many sacred texts have been altered over the millenia. Some were altered due to honest mistakes while translating/scribing. Others were altered to lean their meaning towards a political or religious agenda.

However, Thanks to the blockchain, the truth about Winifred will live on forever!!!

That bloomin blockchain. It keeps us safe and holds it over us for always!!

You know the higher price will be sure to bring back our fair weather friends!

Sometimes I think I would welcome them back for the numbers and the inevitable drama :OD

I'm...really not sure how I feel about that Greek tragedy XD

It's ok, you arent meant ot know how you feel after it, it's Greek...

:OD

!WINE


Congratulations, @meesterboom You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINE With @ryivhnn.
You Earned 0.200 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24809.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.271 HIVE

What a Masterful Post. It was Hella awe inspiring! Fuck Yes. The One legged Horse!

Hehe, one can never underestimate the power of the one legged horse!

!BEER


Hey @natepowers, here is a little bit of BEER from @meesterboom for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Oh, my God! Everyone's posts are getting so much action, I can't get a word in edgewise. Where are all these people coming from? Is there are a room where everyone was hiding?

Oh! You posted a Greek Tragedy!

I did, I posted a veritable traditional Greek tragedy!!

I feel like Plato or something.

There are a few odd uns coming out of the woodwork. But beggars can't be choosers!! :0D

!WINE


Congratulations, @meesterboom You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @dswigle.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24809.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.270 HIVE

I'm happy about the extras! The more, the merrier, right? Get this Hive moving around. I can only be excited to see these numbers growing! Did I happen to mention how cool it was to look at the pittance in my wallet?

Thanks for the wine and I want to thank you always for your generous support.

Wallets are meant to have a pittance in them, it shows that they have been emptied for all the good things. Like wine and all that jazz! :O)

Yeah I can't say I ever heard of that, whatever group thing. But it's an award and it's fucking shiny so who cares!

If its shiny it is all that matters!

It's hard writing these serious posts. I think I will go back to normal after this and leave the real writing to the big hitters! :OD

I really should start writing again. I'm confident I can do both, well. Serious and not-so serious, all at the same time, sometimes. Why did you have to bring this up... LOL!

This post was far from normal. Funny, too. What's really funny though is Asher's comment. "Well blow me." Typo?

You always did ace this kind of post, you have that way where you can impart wise words on goings on whilst segueing into something something about murdering your neighbour and keeping the bits in a bucket. I do like that!

Get writing! Do what I do, not religious every day writing but just when the fancy takes you, Sometimes it doesn't even have to take you at all! Sometimes it can take you two days in a row.

I like to believe there are no typos in life, not really! :OD

Some of the better ones are the result of writing, then walking, then scrambling back to the keys to perfect a line because an idea popped up. Then as I'm proofreading, which I do several times as I'm writing, another new thought pops up. I'll obsess over it for hours. Yet there's a mad rush, especially if it's local satire, since timing means everything.

I had a parody titled Vote for this post to fund @NoNamesLeftToUse. I scrapped it. Feared being misconstrued and downvoted. Was worried the reaction might not only get laughs, but some were kind of pissed about those posts and might have brought those emotions with them. It's interesting how one can read something in an angry tone within their mind, totally miss the point, and blame the writer for their mistake. So I factor that in now. Even my recent post has a hidden disclaimer in bold saying I'm just fucking around. It is to the point though where I'm overthinking, which is a distraction, and makes it even harder to put something new out.

I am enjoying rambling on in random comment sections all over the platform though. It doesn't pay well but, whatever.

I have been in that very circumstance where I think, hang on, have I gone too far. Not in the realms of really going to far because if anything I am more restrained than my true nature but too far in the have I offended the sensibilities of the downvote crew. It still lingers but I try my very best not to give a fuck so much now. Which is relatively easy to do when big downvotes are not coming but harder when they rain down.

But it can be overthought too which is what I think I started doing when I started to worry about them coming in which put me off posting but I enjoy shooting the shit too much and I just thought, ah well, what will be will be.

That mad rush when it is topical of the moment. I enjoyed that. It is a thrillwhich never goes away!

You got this baby girl, I see a return in your future and I don't mean a bad bill! The thing is though and it is something you have often said, this place does need consumers and to have people who read and comment is worth its own weight in gold. I do it too, more so when I am not posting. It makes feel still part of it all

Consumers are vital. That's not catching on for some reason. There's a movie review community and I enjoy that kind of content, but they gave the airdrop to the market mainly focused on crypto content. I would have never guessed in a million years I'd need to hold massive amounts of leo and whatever else in order to be part of helping build an entertainment community. That doesn't encourage me to buy leo 'just in case' at all either.

Still, whatever. Shooting the shit, trying to have fun. Got in a debate too! Engagement encourages more engagement. Even tried my hand at promoting noobs and I'm feeling good about that too.

Hello @meesterboom, yes, yes,Hurrah! , if I still have not a year here but I think great days will come, I did not know about the prize, but if there is a prize, it is for something that I think they are doing well. good that we are here again Hurrah! I gave this copy and paste of you, sorry but Hurrah! :)

If you didnt know and you learned from this then my job is done and I can hang up my hat and go home!

It is a splendid thing. The only way is up from here!

!BEER


Hey @lupega, here is a little bit of BEER from @meesterboom for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 55000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 55500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

Why thank you!

Why did the poor horses have to suffer 😪😭 Why wasn't the hoomans delegged, So sad But YAY for Hive and all who sail in her 🥳🎉

The horses always get it in the neck. You must have seen the National!

It is good news for Hive indeed. I hope I managed to convey the message with the gravity and respect it deserved :OD

Yeah hate that horse race,,,,

You certainly did young man, Well I understood and I am thick as 💩 hhahah

I actually hate it too. The first bet I ever made was on it and my horse died at Beechers Brook and I thought, that's a bit shit. No one said horses died on it!

I used to always back Red Run, I stopped betting on it when I heard about them dying, Beechers brook was the worst jump..

It was, they never really fixed it either. They always said they were but they still died. I was never much of a horses man

my father was (dickhead) hubby likes a bet.
Thought they were going to sort Beechers brook out??

It has been tough going but at least we generally had more legs to tackle the never-ending corner than poor Winne.

Go the Hive, bring us wine and cheese and other treats!

Good old Winnie! Now she has passed the torch to Hive!

Moahr wine!!

hello dear friend @meesterboom good afternoon
We are in the right place at the right time, things are going as they should always be, there are many things to come, happy to be on the boat at this time.
I appreciate with all my heart the great support that you have always given me.
have a beautiful afternoon

Hola jloofah!

The good times are finally coming to the chain of Kings and kingly we will chain!

Have a good day dude!

I am deeply moved by your story.

Nope, never mind, that bowel movement was unrelated to your parable.

Ultimately everything comes down to bowel movements!!

Its all related, man! They don't want you to know!!

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.