My Hive Account Needs Cleaning

in #hive3 years ago (edited)

Hi, people of Hive!

Five days ago, I found some weird things going on with my this account with regards to autovotes. It seemed to be voting people I do not know, I did not follow and I did not have in my curation trail. I checked Hiveblocks and I was surprised that my account was still allowing permissions to 50 DApps all the way from the old platform, DApss that are already no longer in service. I realized I have not done much cleaning since the forks and there are a lot of stuff here that needs to be removed or changed. I guess there are a lot of us that have not done that, so this is a reminder for you to do the same. It does not make sense anymore to allow permissions to services such as the Steembottracker since it is no longer working and it was an old platform thing even.


account.PNG
Too many DApps to revoke.

If you are wondering how to revoke permissions on apps, just go to https://hivesigner.com/revoke/ then add the name of the app after the last /. Here is an example: https://hivesigner.com/revoke/steemauto. You will know what apps you have allowed permissions in Hiveblocks, my case it was here: https://hiveblocks.com/@mermaidvampire.

We need to check our account settings every now and then to avoid security issues. If you have not done recently, please do. It's worth it.

Sort:  

You should also change your recovery account. Yours is still set to steem. I've set mine to esteemapp back in March, during the early days of Hive.

Thanks. Yes, I should. I also have it set to another account as recovery so if something happens, I'd still be able to recover it. Thanks for the reminder.

Good! And tell the other Pinoys to change theirs too. I see many still have theirs set to steemit. :)

Thanks for the concern, yes I will.